01/03 Gizmo PMPS=192, +1=151, +2=60, +2.5=44, +3=87, +3.5=92, +4=82, +5.5=89, +11=190

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by LizzieInTexas, Jan 3, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
  2. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Ok, I now have a few minutes. I did shoot 1.25u this morning. He is bouncing so felt comfortable doing so.

    Thank you so much. While my goal is remission (and I do think we will get there), I have to keep reminding myself that it is a marathon not a sprint. We will get there when we get there.

    Before vacation I was lowering the dose starting Sunday night and then bringing it back up on Friday AM or a PM depending on his Friday AM numbers. The last reduction for work (1.25u, down from 1.5u) stuck and we spent the first part of vacation at that dose (never went back to 1.5u). This seemed to work for us. It gave him (me?) a break during the week and him a boost for a couple of days. I would like to continue to do this if his numbers start to drop where I am uncomfortable shooting and leaving him.

    I am going to see how this goes and take it one shot at a time.

    Got to go finish getting ready for work. :bighug:
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Nice sunny start for Gizmo. I hope he surfs safely today. When Furball was on insulin, I could not come home and check on her. All I could do was leave extra food out and pray she'd stay safe. I would wait for the weekends to raise the dose too.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  4. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Surf safely Gizmo. :cat:

    I hope you have a good day Lizzie. :bighug:
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  5. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    @carfurby I have a couple of questions that I will post later (hopefully, if work allows).

    @Osha hope your day goes good too.

    :bighug:
     
    Osha likes this.
  6. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Surf safely Gizmo...have a good day Lizzie.
     
  7. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Almost blue, hopefully a little later today.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  8. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    PMPS 192

    History:
    AMPS=246, +1.5=217
     
    Doodles & Karen likes this.
  9. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    After tfs he followed me upstairs and made a very smelly poo deposit right beside the LB (that is normal). It was solid but a little slimy/watery on the outside. But, whew did it stink. He did get a dose of SEB yesterday so that could be the slime. Any thing I should be worried about with the smell? He did have different food but that was on 12/31 could it still be that food?

    The other change is the addition of B-12 (Methylcobalamin) which was started on 12/31 pm cycle.
     
  10. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    It has been a while since the different food, and while I suppose it's possible that it could be that, I think it's unlikely. I have no explanation for you, but if everything else in normal, I wouldn't get too concerned about it.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  11. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Not really too concerned and I am sure it not being in the LB magnified it. It isn't the first time he has had stinky poo but WOW:eek:. Lol. I need to be mindful of the SEB in the future too. He has always had very firm/hard so I am ultra aware of possible constipation but don't usually give him SEB two times in a row (am/pm) and did over the weekend.
     
  12. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Looks like someone would like your attention this evening. Surf safely Gizmo.
     
    Osha and LizzieInTexas like this.
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hey there Lizzie, As long as he is eating fine for you I wouldn't worry about the smelly poo but, if he stops eating it could be indicative of P'titis. Hope it's nothing, the other day Bubba gave me an especially smelly one.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  14. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    +2 60

    Rotated his +2.5 LC snack about 20 min early.

    Should I break out the HC (to mix with LC for MC)?

    Edit - I did. I put a scant teaspoon of HC in with his LC. Too early to be this low.
     
  15. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Oh boy. Looks like someone wants a pj party.

    Id grab a test 30 minutes after that snack to see if it helped him stay on the surf board.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  16. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    That's my plan.

    I also had a serious talk with him about doing thus to me on a week night.:banghead::D
     
  17. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Let us know how that works for you. :p
     
  18. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :D
     
  19. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    +2.5 44

    1 teaspoon HC + 1 teaspoon of honey
     
  20. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    :eek: Up Gizmo!
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  21. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    You've got this Lizzie....you gave the HC and honey....test in 30 minutes
     
  22. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    He is really acting hungry. Pacing the kitchen. Are we ok?
     
  23. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    You are ok.. It's normal to be searching for food with a low. You've done the right things.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  24. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Up now Gizmo, you've earned the reduction so time to surf buddy.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  25. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Ok, much better (for now)

    +3 87

    How long do I wait to test again?
     
    Osha likes this.
  26. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Look at Gizmo, go Good catch Lizzie! Come on up Gizmo!
     
  27. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    I'd test in 30 minutes. It's early in the cycle but it's good he came up that much.
     
  28. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    You will want to test every 30 minutes until you have gone 2 hours without any HC food.
     
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I would test again in 30 mins to make sure he is staying up. You want 2 test in a row without food influence to see if he will stay up. Of course if he starts to drop again, and he is above 50 just give some LC food to keep him surfing.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  30. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    He sure gets *****y when he has low numbers.:p

    @Osha Tina, talk a food driven :eek:.
     
    Osha likes this.
  31. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Haha! Well at least he has a 'tell' when he is low. Osha is just perfectly normal when she has been in the 30's.
    Yay for being food driven! It sure makes this dance easier.
     
  32. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    He has calmed down a bit for now but he is laying right in front of his feeder.
     
    Osha likes this.
  33. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Gizmo!!! What are you doing out there playing with the sharks in the deep end of the lagoon??

    Don't you know them sharks has teeth?....and they love kitty cats!!

    Hop up on that surfboard and show us some moves, OK?
     
  34. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    +3.5 92

    Will test again in 30 min.
     
  35. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Givin' mama a heart attack!

    Question - with the reduction in the a.m. - will I need to worry about him dropping too low tomorrow during the day? More than likely he will bounce but he may not until tomorrow PM cycle. Like I have said - he is a little slow:rolleyes:
     
  36. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Looking good! :cat:
     
  37. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    It's difficult to say about tomorrow. The depot will still be in play. If he isn't bouncing and you are nervous, it is completely ok to give a BCS. Without being home to monitor, safety is first! Sometimes getting a +11 can help as well to see if he is rising or going down before AMPS.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  38. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I do get a +11 right when I get up.

    So what would be the BCS? This dose was 1.25u, reduction will be 1u.
     
  39. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    I hope experinced members will chime in, but if I were going to do a bcs with him I would do .5u
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  40. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If is bouncing, like he very well could be tomorrow morning, you might feel comfortable to go ahead and shoot the reduced dose of 1 u. If he is a little lower than you are comfy with, you could shot the reduced dose and give him some higher carb food right off the bat for his AMPS and leave him some snacks through the day. And if none of those options makes your comfortable to leave him, then Amanda's suggestion for the BCS dose of .5 is a good plan.

    If you are unsure in the AM after you get the +11 and or AMPS put a ? mark in the title with dosing advice and I will look for you, I get up at 6 AM EST. And Carla @carfurby is always up too.
     
    Osha likes this.
  41. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Amanda, you are an experienced member now, my dear. ;) Good advice given!
     
  42. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Awe...shucks...Thanks! :kiss: I've learned a lot from you, Bobbie, and many others here.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  43. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    +4 82

    LC snack in 25 min.
     
    Osha and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  44. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Nice surfing. Are you able to see him through nadir around +6 just to makes sure he holds his own and doesn't drop again?
     
  45. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    LOL. Do I have a choice. :p

    Yeah, I will - no problem (maybe miserable tomorrow, but I will make it tonight).

    So, If he has a higher AMPS than +11 go ahead and give 1u? If he has lower AMPS than +11 shoot 0.5U?
     
  46. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    For me it is too difficult to know without seeing the actual numbers. I'd take Bobbie up on her offer and post in the morning with a ? if you are unsure what to do.

    Gizmo could be any color of the rainbow tomorrow morning and I would take that into consideration along with the, is he rising or going down.

    I know....not much help :confused:
     
  47. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good catch and congrats on the reduction. Surf it Gizmo!:D
    I never tested that often if her numbers were up. I would give HC, then test again in 30 to make sure her numbers were coming up. Then if she was over 80, I'd go an hour to the next test. You do want to test again a couple hours after giving HC to make sure the numbers stay up when the HC wears up. If he's still on his way up after the HC has worn off, you don't need to keep up until nadir. Basically you want a couple of rising numbers without carb influence.

    I agree with the others, see what he does in the morning before deciding whether it's 1 unit or less.
     
  48. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    It has been 2 hours since HC with honey.

    He just ate his +4.5 LC snack.

    I will test in 45 min. That will be +5.5.

    He will get another LC @ +6.5.
     
  49. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    +5.5 89

    He will get another LC snack in an hour. I think he is ok. I know he is done with being poked.

    Hope I know what to do in the morning.
     
  50. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    I'm sure you will. :bighug:
     
  51. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Lizzie, I do tend to test a lot, I admit that But, when a cat takes a dive early in the cycle it makes me a bit cautious and that is why I say to test till nadir. I know others feel differently. Here is what happened to Squallie the night before last. Check out how he crashed after the HC and honey wore off and dipped down low again at +8. It can happen and I am sure Lucy is glad she tested through nadir to see that he was on the move again. Just wanted to share why I advised the way I did.


    01/02/17 Squallie AMPS 73,+3/92,+9/68,PMPS 88,+1/60,+2/41,+3/109,+4/275,+7/60,+8/41,+9/197,+10/165
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page