01/23 Ivana PMPS=167, +2=110, +4=36! +4.5=40, +5=41, +5.5=50, +6=54, +7=79, +9=126, +11=328

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

I think blues are as good as we're going to get from the 1.50 skinny, although she did get some nice greens on 18th but nothing since then. As of tonight I will take the skinny off and go with a full 1.50.
 
I think that's a good idea Tara

Generally speaking, it's best to save those "skinny" and "fat" doses until you're really fine-tuning the dose

Good luck with the dosecrease!! Hopefully it'll get Ivana's attention (of course now that you've made the dosecrease threat in public, she'll probably come crashing down!!....LOL)
 
+4.5 and she's risen slightly to 40 / 2.2. Looks like this is hubby's initiation into the Pyjama Party Club, seeing I have a super-early start tomorrow and a full day of work.
 
+5 and a very slight rise to 41 / 2.3. Another 2t HC given. I'm going to bed now but will leave this thread open incase Darryn needs help. He's testing every half hour and this point and is prepared for a long night!
 
There's no one "right" amount of high carb. It depends on how carb sensitive your cat is and whether or not you're seeing a response to feeding HC. Sometimes, a little bit of HC will bump numbers nicely. Other times, you may need to feed a lot of HC to get the same result. It depends on how your kitty is reacting to insulin that particular day. It's one of the reasons we suggest you get often when you see low numbers -- you can steer the numbers with food.

Here's what I saw: I didn't know how much HC you were feeding. Seeing Ivana spending an hour in numbers below 50, I was concerned that she needed a bit more HC to get her into a safer range. What it looks like is that the HC finally kicked in coupled with a bounce.

 
So if I'm understanding you right Sienne, when we got the 36 at +4 we give what we normally give (2t HC), but then when we got the 40 at +4.5 we would have been better to give more HC than usual then, is that right? Roger that! (Amounts of HC we give are in the Remarks section of the ss - I learnt my lesson with that the first time someone asked how much I give when she's low, and I hadn't recorded it.)
 
Shooting through the bounce seemed like a good idea. With the drop into the 30s, it would be safest if you took a full 0.25u reduction although it looks to me like you've been shaving the dose when you reduce.

I'd like to propose you think about two slightly different options regarding managing Ivana's numbers. One option is to hold the dose if she drops into the 40 - 50 range on three separate days. After three drops, you reduce the dose. The other alternative is to use food to prevent her from earning a reduction. You already test a good deal so it is unlikely you would need to do much more than you're already doing. The idea behind preventing a reduction is to try your best to keep Ivana in a lower range of numbers so the curve flattens out. Ideally, you'd want blue pre-shots and as much green in the middle as you can get. Today, for example, I would have gotten a test at PM +3 (because with perfect hindsight, her numbers were dropping fast) since given her pre-shot number and your +2, her numbers were dropping and you would have started giving HC at +3. This might have avoided the dose reduction. Jill had suggested this strategy with Gabby and it was very helpful in getting her numbers in a lower range overall.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top