02.08 PORTO, AMPS 425, + 4 376, PMPS 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manu & Porto

Member Since 2018
condo


We finally had another vet visit, second opinion today and even tho we didnt get an Xray for the mouth, I am starting to believe there is nothing wrong with his teeth. He does have some inflammation to the gums, red spots, I saw it well, but nothing that would look out of the ordinary as to cause such issues with eating. Also, we did BW and if any infection was there, it would probably should in his BW? Weve done some more investigation, aside from the BW, eco for the tummy and his bladder stone, and some xray for his hips as he is having some mobility issues. They look fine and she said that it can only be caused by the diabetes. Could I upload the BW in case someone can identify something wrong, that would appear in diabetes, and to be able to prevent somehow. His ALPK is a bit elevated and even tho Ive been reading about it, not sure what I could do.
This vet looked at my sheet! (the other one didnt even want to see it) and according to her if Porto answers to such low dose (1,75), having those blues and greens more than a week ago, he may not need insulin or he may produce some insulin and then we should lower the dose a bit more and see how it goes. Also we told her that 10 days ago on the urine strips he appeared negative so she said that may be why. I dont agree but it is so strange to me, I know little about diabetes but this last week his diet has consisted mostly of protein, as weve been giving some meat to entice his appetite, so his BG should have dropped a little.. Anyways, me and the vet, we had a long talk about it and it seems to me she just follows the safe norms she has been taught when treating diabetes. She mentioned about 1 ud increases and decreases which I will not follow. Also said that there will be no increase without a weekly curve and to inform her of the numbers I get meanwhile and if the glucose strips come out negative again.
The vet visit was supposed to have some answers for his lack of appetite and high BG but except the IBD messing up with it, there is no other answer, apparently. Now we are finally home, Porto has a furless tummy that Ive been kissing since then, he is a bit drugged up and because of it he has been eating like crazy. No complains there.
So, after this whole week being worried and having sleepless nights, and after spending 6 hours and a fortune at the vet today, my bf wants to follow her advice. Giving that we just increased the dose! to 1.5 because his last 6 days have been high, I cut to 1 unit starting tonight as advised per vet. Which I dont think it is right, makes no sense looking at his sheet and how he has responded to the insulin so far... If she is right I guess some green or nice blue should appear soon, right? Right now I have to take a step back and try to make some room for my bfs opinion as he is going through this as well and he says we should try. I am tired of fighting him and the vets.
I am looking at that NEW high ALKP and thinking it may have something to do it with? Could it be caused just by the meds? A month nd half ago that number was normal and now is slightly high. Could it be cause for lack of appetite and higher BG?

If someone could input any advice, that would be great! We´ve both been a little absent this past week and a bit depressed about how things were but all in all, his BW is not so bad, no artrosis and the IBD may be acting up but weve been having nice stools, now if only we could do right by his BG and help him! Thank you!
 
Last edited:
His BW
 

Attachments

  • 05CF2226-BBFD-457E-A8EB-D6C922D40596.jpeg
    05CF2226-BBFD-457E-A8EB-D6C922D40596.jpeg
    61.1 KB · Views: 63
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top