02/11 Cleo AMPS 413 +1 406 PMPS 417 +2 401

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
02/10 recap
AMPS 444
+2 458
PMPS 353
+2 317
+7.5 460

Cleo this evening was waiting for me behind the door. This is a good sign since it was some days that I found her sleeping when I came home from work.

@julie & punkin (ga), sorry for the late reply to your post. Cleo seems like she feels good, but not at her best. She is playful if I stimulate her, she is purring and preening? She make a lot of pee. Poop seems ok.
She is a little lethargic and sometimes she hides under the sofa. This is a behaviour she has when she is sick or angry.

This evening I tried to feed her during the first part of the cycle (AMPS+1+3+4+5). I've thought that maybe if she eats at +6, this can stop the cycle. I wanted to try and see what happens.

Maybe the insulin isn't good anymore?

Julie, I think that holding this dose until the week end is a good idea. She seems to have better numbers during the week end.

Thank you for having tried to understand what's happening to Cleo's numbers.

Have a good evening!!!
 
Is the insulin old? Have you see-sawed the dose back and forth between the syringe and the vial/pen at all? If not, it's probably ok - I'm thinking she got into the blue numbers just 4 days ago.

I'm asking for some other experienced users to take a look at Cleo's ss and hopefully we can come up with some ideas together. We need to figure out what's up so we can get rid of those red numbers.
 
Hi Delia! My name is Kat and I'm a "newbie oldie" here; my sugarplum, Gobbles, went OTJ in May of 2013 then decided to join back "Team Sugar" just this past week. I see Cleo is on her 7th cycle on the dose increase; I hope it "kicks in" on her next cycle and you begin to see some lower numbers. Believe me, I know how frustrating high numbers are--Gobbles was high on many, many occasions during his first round of diabetes--his old SS will attest to that. I don't know what your feeding schedule is as I didn't read over Cleo's entire SS, but I feed Gobbles every 2 or 3 hours; I've read that small, frequent feedings help better to regulate glucose levels rather than a few large meals per day.
 
Julie, the insulin was opened at October 2014. At the beginning I pushed the insulin back into the vial because they teached me to do in this way. Then I saw your video.
Kat, thank you for your visit. I'm sorry that Goobles is again a sugar kitty, I hope he will go OTJ again soon.
Cleo's feeding schedule is now at shoot time and +3 +4 +6+7, because I was worried that she might go low when I was at work, but this doesn't seem to be a possible option.
 
It might be good to get new insulin to try out. Four months is getting up there for it, although some people get 6 months out of it. When you look through the insulin, is it cloudy or does it have any particles in it?

When I doubted our insulin, I opened a new pen or vial while keeping the current insulin in the fridge. If a couple of shots from the new insulin don't show any change, then I decided the old insulin was fine and I'd go back and use it longer.

However, since you know it may have gotten contaminated in the beginning, I think it's worth trying new insulin. It might be fine, but she sure is high and it's an easy thing to check.

What do you think about it?
 
The insulin doesn't seem to be cloudy, it is clear. However I will buy another vial.
I really hope this is the reason why Cleo's number don't drop.

I'm not sure I can get the new vial today, because I have to book it and don't know if I need a prescription, but I will try .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top