02/20 Ivana AMPS=326, +5=338, +9=331, PMPS=335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

Ok experts, I need your help again. This is Ivana's 4th cycle on 0.50u, up from 0.375u (so a half-dose increase). She's been pink with a couple of yellows/reds for 10 days now. How long do I give the 0.50u to do the trick, do I have to wait the full 6 cycles before increasing again? There's no bounce to clear, so it's just the depot filling, right? And it takes a shorter time to fill on a lower dose?

I'm heartbroken that she's lost her incredible momentum she had, I truly thought she was on the right track and we were about to use the R-word to describe her (regulation, not remission!).
 
Tara - so sorry Ivana is being stubborn.:bighug:

In hind sight (always 20/20), the small increase back up from .25U didn't work for Ivana. You should wait the full 6 cycles before increasing to make sure the depot is full. But this time increase by .25U. The larger increases seem to work better, though you'll have to keep a close eye on her (which you do), because she loves those low dives.
 
Here, Tara. Put these on:
May_16_2011_678.jpg
 
Sorry Tara and the patience thing wears you out. Hopefully you start to see some good numbers soon. We're on the 20th day with zero movement in those ugly high numbers so I sympathize. Come on down Ivana....it's no fun up there sweet girl.
 
Oh Karen, sorry to hear that Doodles in the same boat. Or a worse boat, by the sounds of it. Let's hope they both pull their paws out of the clouds and come down!
 
I just had a thought about Ivana's awful numbers (because I tend to over-think these things, as we all do at times). Do you guys think that our Lantus vial might have finally had it? It's been open for a week or two shy of 6 months, expires October this year, always kept in the fridge. Strange that it would stop working so suddenly though. But if that's the case and we need a fresh supply, is it worth trying a different insulin? Apart from the week or so of great numbers recently, Ivana has been all over the place the entire time. Willing to give anything a go, cost is not an issue.
 
Oh sorry, by different insulin I mean something other than Lantus. We've given Lantus a red-hot shot, but 6 months later she doesn't seem to have got anywhere.
 
I mean something other than Lantus
It's on my mind too actually especially after this. I like the flat numbers but dislike that it doesn't bring the numbers down very well. Thought about Levemir but can't figure out a good shot time with nadirs typically being between +8 & +12 from what I understand. I'm giving it a little while longer or until I "snap" lol...which isn't far off honestly. Hopefully others will chime in but the alternative choice here seems to be Levemir.
 
Some cats go flatter on Levemir, but ECID. And you have to decide if you can live with a later onset and nadir. I found it quite frustrating learning Neko's cycles all over again, but it doesn't take that long to figure it out.

Six months is a while on a Lantus vial. Can you get cartridges there? Less wasted if you have to throw it away and you can usually use it to the last drop. A vial gone off could explain rising numbers. I think I would try fresh juice before switching insulins. She did show you she can get close to regulated on Lantus.
 
Last edited:
Yes we can get the pens here Wendy, not sure if we can get singles though - will definitely try as it's less of a hit to the wallet, even if it works out more expensive per pen. Will chat to the vet and see what we can do.
 
Just got the vet to order it in for me, will be around $50 for a pen. Fingers crossed it gets her back down again.

Karen, what's the reason for keeping the old vial, if it's not really working? Is it just for a back-up emergency?
 
I hope it's the insulin. I'm glad you only got one pen. I think if you don't see some improvement and you can deal with the later onset and nadir with levemir,mid try it. I thought it would be harder to deal with but wish I had switched Gracie sooner. She did much better on it and I really liked the cycles better.

It did seem, at first after the switch, like we had to relearn things but it didn't take long and it was so worth it.

I also agree with Wendy that it's best to hold this dose at least six cycles, unless she earns a reduction, and then consider increasing by 0.25u.
 
I hope you are onto something with the insulin efficacy expiring. Fingers and Paws crossed that Ivana finds her way back to the blues and greens.
 
I'm coming to terms it's not the inuslin but rather the Cat
Ahh, ok. Yeah I think Ivana falls into that category too, there's only been a total of maybe 2 weeks over the 6 months that I'd say she's been following the sugardance rules, the rest of the time she just makes up the steps as she goes. Definitely a Daddy's Girl!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top