Champoux
Member Since 2017
Previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-3-9-2-75-3-8-3-4-7-3-25-4-9-3-50-5-8.178169/
This Saturday, Champagne went through his first hypo on a skinny 0.1 u shot. Since then, I was supposed to reduce his dose to a single drop, but he never reached a good enough preshot number for me to do so.
So far he hasn't gotten anything since Saturday morning, meaning the last three cycles were insulin-free, yet he never went above 8.7 mmol/L (157 mg/dl). He was given some dry food to test if it would make his numbers rise but it didn't seem to affect his BG that much; he'd get a slight peak then bring himself back down, never venturing out of the limits of blue.
Now his AMPS is 6.6 (119 mg/dl) and I'm seriously considering skipping this morning's shot as well, seeing how last time, such a small dose sent him crashing early in the cycle. Although he is on the high-end of the lab ranges for a healthy cat, should I give Champagne a chance at a OTJ trial ? I'm afraid to send him into a hypo if I give him a drop.
It should also be noted that Champagne's original diagnosis was made during what should've been a pre-op blood test for a dental. He has some serious tartar buildup and some teeth were going to be removed. I'm wondering if having his teeth fixed would bring down his BG in more natural ranges without the help of insulin.
Thanks in advance for your advice !
This Saturday, Champagne went through his first hypo on a skinny 0.1 u shot. Since then, I was supposed to reduce his dose to a single drop, but he never reached a good enough preshot number for me to do so.
So far he hasn't gotten anything since Saturday morning, meaning the last three cycles were insulin-free, yet he never went above 8.7 mmol/L (157 mg/dl). He was given some dry food to test if it would make his numbers rise but it didn't seem to affect his BG that much; he'd get a slight peak then bring himself back down, never venturing out of the limits of blue.
Now his AMPS is 6.6 (119 mg/dl) and I'm seriously considering skipping this morning's shot as well, seeing how last time, such a small dose sent him crashing early in the cycle. Although he is on the high-end of the lab ranges for a healthy cat, should I give Champagne a chance at a OTJ trial ? I'm afraid to send him into a hypo if I give him a drop.
It should also be noted that Champagne's original diagnosis was made during what should've been a pre-op blood test for a dental. He has some serious tartar buildup and some teeth were going to be removed. I'm wondering if having his teeth fixed would bring down his BG in more natural ranges without the help of insulin.
Thanks in advance for your advice !