05/27 Boomer AMPS 113 +3 83 +5 79 PMPS 103 +3 29 +3.5 52 +4 58 +4.5 65 +5.5 58 +6 61

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Judy and Boomer, May 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Yesterday
    Good morning!
    AMPS 113 shooting 1.5u

    Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but left his +6.
    Allen ate reasonably well overnight but I've had to try 3 kinds of ff to get him to eat his breffis. This surprised me because first thing this morning he was licking the floor near Boomer's dish to pick up any leftovers. He's eaten only a wee bit. He's receiving Cerenia every 48 hours but I'm wondering if we should be using Ondansetron with or instead of the Cerenia. I may get some from Dr Larry tomorrow to try.

    I haven't seen Daisy and Duke yet but I know that yesterday they were here early and left before the time that I would normally be up. So they may have already come and gone. Maybe I'll see them this afternoon.

    Bird update: DH bought a big bag of birdseed a couple of days ago and the birds don't seem to like it. sigh. If it isn't the cats and their appy issues it's the birds :rolleyes:. So I'll go out today and buy another kind. On the upside, the squirrels don't like it either :smuggrin::rolleyes:

    Today on the Bean's agenda: DH's granddaughter is coming for a visit this morning. She's 3 and she's a busy little girl and talks non-stop lol. Other than that, I have a baby session tomorrow morning so I'll have to set up the studio later today and get the props ready. And I haven't been for a walk lately so perhaps I'll go for one later this afternoon after Boomer's +6.
     
  2. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Busy busy busy. Have you tried Allen on daily cerenia? Birds who visit my feeder don't like Stokes brand. Of course they have to like the most expensive brand what I refer to as the exotic flavors. You know the ones with metalwork, fruit, nuts. Oddly they don't like thistle either.
     
  3. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
  4. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    We haven't tried daily cerenia although back last year when we were giving it to him it was every 36 hours.
    Darn stuff costs about $8 a pill here (dose is 1/2 pill). :mad:
     
  5. HWright

    HWright Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
  6. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Boomer is doing well. I hope you can get Allen to eat. Sending prayers.
     
  7. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Maybe a 1/4 everyday would work. The acid, nausea won't have 48 hrs to build up before another dose.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  8. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Oh is that an option? Maybe I will try that!
     
  9. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    +5 79
    Fed a bit and DH and I are taking granddaughter out for lunch.
    Oh and Allen actually came out looking for food at +5. YAY
     
  10. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Yes 4 mg daily is maintenance dose for most kitties. I was told the pill takes about 24 hrs to start working. I don't have first hand knowledge if that part is true. Smokey always had it daily and he started at 15 mg.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  11. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Allen's appy does seem a bit improved about 15 hours after the cerenia.
    The cerenia has definitely helped with the vomiting. But there are plenty of times when he eats a wee bit then sits there staring at his dish. He may eat a wee bit then stare some more. And he's been drinking more.
    I may see if Dr Larry has the Ondansetron on hand. I am hopeful that Allen will get used to the increased dose of diazoxide.
     
  12. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Sounds like a plan.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  13. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Happy Sunday to you and the guys, Judy :bighug:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  14. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    PMPS 103 shooting 1.5u
     
  15. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    I have found that the only seed that all the birds love is the black-oil sunflower seed. If you get a seed mix, they will pick out the black-oil sunflower and leave the other kinds of seed. It's more expensive, of course, but it does attract birds (and squirrels). The most expensive seed is Niger (thistle). It is a favorite of finches.

    Boomer is looking good. I hope Allen's appetite will improve with the stimulant.

    Nice that you could enjoy lunch with DH's granddaughter.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  16. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
  17. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :woot::woot::woot::woot::woot: Boomer :woot::woot::woot:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  18. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Yo Deputy Boomer, you need the waterwings?? No need to check the shark nets tonight. I already did them this morning.
    ~ LagoonMeister Rusty
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  19. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    +3.5 52, +4 58
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2018
  20. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Must be getting close to the full moon. :eek::D
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  21. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Boomer, be a good boy and keep heading towards shore. It's much more fun in the shallows than out by the shark net!

    With some of my kitties, I found Ondansetron worked better than Cerenia. With others, I had to give both. Hopefully your vet will have some or give you a prescription so you can get some at a pharmacy. Sending tummy and appy vines.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  22. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    DH mentioned Pepcid AC tonight. Is that an alternative to the Ondansetron?
     
  23. Phoebes (GA)

    Phoebes (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Pepcid is anti acid, ond is anti nausea.
     
  24. Phoebes (GA)

    Phoebes (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    That's some spoiled birds!! :rolleyes::smuggrin:
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  25. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    +3 29
    +3.5 52
    +4 58
    +4.5 65
    No food has been given since +3.5
    +5.5 58
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2018
    Phoebes (GA) likes this.
  26. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Cerenia can be given every 24 hours if that helps. Neko needed both Cerenia and ondansetron when nausea was the worst. You also have to make sure you are giving enough. Often vet's prescribe too low a dose.
     
  27. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    +3 29
    +3.5 52
    +4 58
    +4.5 65
    No food has been given since +3.5
    +5.5 58
    +6 61 hasn't had any food since +3.5. Feeding now
     
  28. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    I would only give Pepcid if kitty is throwing up clear liquid, which indicates an acid tummy. Ondansetron is much better for nausea.

    Boomer, it's a little late to still be swimming. Why don't you head to shore?
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page