06/19 Texas Gizmo PMPS=155, +2=142, +3.5=85, +4=89, +4.5=77, +11=139

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Very Active Member
06/18 +11=217

AMPS=222

These numbers are all my fault. I am having difficulty (even with the calipers) getting this small dose drawn. I knew last nights was skinny. I knew it. I practiced afterwards for about a half hour and I think I have a technique down. I am using white napkin to place behind syringe. I am hoping that I didn't completely screw up but if this does proves too small I will go back up to 0.5U.

NDW does NOT apply to reductions - correct? I think I read that somewhere.

Another Monday. :arghh:
 
NDW does not apply to reductions. Those tiny doses are really hard to measure. Don't be hard on yourself. You're doing the best you can. Gizmo will come back down. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't understand why nobody makes a precision thinner syringe that goes up to like 3u in 1/16th increments
I have asked before - how are babies (human) dosed? Surely there is something better out there (more accurate) - between the line printing being unreliable even between syringes in the same lot and the need for small doses - how is it done?

My guess is that there is some sort of pump that administers or fills the syringes but I have been unable to find out the answer.

Good vetty thoughts for Bronx this morning. Does he do ok or does he get stressed? Gizmo is a complete basket case - which starts with the carrier coming out (I actually started bringing it out a couple of days before he has to go so he doesn't know when it is coming).
 
When I was searching for info on small dose increases with the calipers. I found a human thread also complaining about how difficult it was to give small doses to their children. Sounds impossible that's there is not a better way!
 
I have asked before - how are babies (human) dosed? Surely there is something better out there (more accurate) - between the line printing being unreliable even between syringes in the same lot and the need for small doses - how is it done?

My guess is that there is some sort of pump that administers or fills the syringes but I have been unable to find out the answer.

Good vetty thoughts for Bronx this morning. Does he do ok or does he get stressed? Gizmo is a complete basket case - which starts with the carrier coming out (I actually started bringing it out a couple of days before he has to go so he doesn't know when it is coming).

He isn't so bad and actually gets right in the crate. My last kitty was the opposite, it was a fight to get her in the crate. But once we're there I am sure the dogs barking makes him very anxious.
 
When I was searching for info on small dose increases with the calipers. I found a human thread also complaining about how difficult it was to give small doses to their children. Sounds impossible that's there is not a better way!
I know, right? I mean, I love Gizmo like a kid, but still, he is just a cat - you would think that there would be something better/safer for human children. :banghead: I imagine the demand just isn't there (i.e., no profit for the manufacturers regardless of the need - hence, no options). :oops:
 
Forgot to give an update on the Organix - Gizmo loves it. He hasn't consistently eaten with this much enthusiasm it a long time. The only time I had to offer any type of encouragement was when he was too busy interacting with us that he either didn't want to stop what he was doing or just didn't hear the feeder turn. Most of the time he was waiting beside the feeder for it to turn. This is continuing today! I am thrilled. I have a couple more foods to try but it looks like the Organix Chicken/Turkey are going to be our new "mixer" go-to with the primary being the Fowl Ball. My only concern is the protein content but I am not sure that is an issue - he isn't a spring chicken running around and needing it. He was actually more active, playful, vocal this weekend.

He did sleep through his +7.5 snack last night but other than that he has eaten every snack/meal (licking the bowls completely clean) since I started feeding it Saturday AM cycle. No litter box issues (pudding poo) from the change either. Switched over with no issues what so ever!

I can get these cans locally at PetCo and Chewy carries them (Amazon does not).
 
Hey Lizzie, glad that the Organix is a hit with Gizmo!

You will get better and better at the small does. The calipers really help. I always rechecked my calipers that they didn't move from the dose on was on because that did happen a few times to me.

I missed a few days on your thread and was looking at your SS. Why did you reduce to this dose. I am not seeing a reduction number for you to take Gizmo down to this dose.

And NDW only applies to increases.
 
If Mouzer has to go back on insulin, his last dose recommendation was 0.25u. I havent looked at the syringe yet, because havent used the dose, but I had a darn hard time with the 1.25u. But I dont think the 155 is too bad. I would be concerned now, if it was Mouzer - thinking he was going up from no shot --- but if he was still doing shots, I would be so fine with 155 haha
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top