06/29 Texas Gizmo PMPS=171, +2=199(?), +3.5=119, +4.5=105, +11=109

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am going to be off work for a week - I am thinking about a dose increase to see if I can get Gizmo's numbers a bit lower. I would do the increase tomorrow (Friday PM cycle). I will be off 06/30 PM cycle through 07/09.

What is the opinion here? Increase? If so, to a full 0.75U?

I won't have another opportunity to do a "planned" increase for 6-8 weeks due to work.
 
His numbers do look like they are creeping up. Since you will be able to monitor, it can't hurt to try the increase and see if it helps.
 
Why not .625u again to build up the depot a little more gradually? Gizmo did hit a 35 on .75u, that is pretty low and good thing you caught it. I guess it all depends on how close you can monitor, these holiday weekends (at least for me) means a little more wining and dining and deeper sleeping...
 
Last edited:
Why not .625u again to build up the depot a little more gradually? Gizmo did hit a 35 on .75u, that is pretty low and good thing you caught it. I guess it all depends on how close you can monitor, these weekends (at least for me) means a little more wining and dining and deeper sleeping...
The weekend also means I have hubby around to help and then I am off next week - all week. I am going to see what he does tonight - he may be bouncing a bit (hard to tell not being able to test). I just don't want to waste the limited time I have to try and get him down. I don't think he will be on 0.75 very long (hopefully the weekend). He did throw me a 78 06/27 PM cycle.

Will see if anyone else chimes in with their opinion.
 
I think you would be OK to take him up to 0.75u though it's true he 35 on that dose before it was a month ago, and insulin needs change over time, his overall range seems to have come up a bit since then

However if you were to catch any numbers below say 65 between now and then I would perhaps hold the dose, or just fatten it.
 
I think you would be OK to take him up to 0.75u though it's true he 35 on that dose before it was a month ago, and insulin needs change over time, his overall range seems to have come up a bit since then

However if you were to catch any numbers below say 65 between now and then I would perhaps hold the dose, or just fatten it.
Thanks Gill. That was my thinking.

What about reduction from the 0.75 - would you come back down to 0.50U or just shave off 1/8U from the 0.75u? I really don't think he will spend much time on the 0.75 once I go up and with the holiday weekend I kinda want to have an action plan in case no one is around.
 
Thanks Gill. That was my thinking.

What about reduction from the 0.75 - would you come back down to 0.50U or just shave off 1/8U from the 0.75u? I really don't think he will spend much time on the 0.75 once I go up and with the holiday weekend I kinda want to have an action plan in case no one is around.
I guess that would depend on what he does with the 0.75u.
ie if he were to drop into the low 30's I would take a full reduction, or if you really had to fight to keep the numbers up.
If he only dipped to a 49 and then came right back up, then maybe you could shave the dose. But remember that dose shaving is a more aggressive approach, so depending on the timing of it all you might want to take the full reduction.
 
Just scheduled vetty visit for BW/urinalysis for Wednesday (07/05) @ 11a. It is only 5 months (vs. 6) but since I am off I want to go ahead and get it done. I hate taking him in the middle of the day due to the heat - so maybe say a small prayer that it is cloudy and rainy :cool:. My car has a good AC but still - it is running in the mid 90's right now.

I still am going back/forth on the increase (full 0.25U or 0.125U). I just don't know yet. I may fatten up the 0.5 tonight/tomorrow AM and see how that goes.
 
I wish I could send you some rain. It has been raining here since the beginning of the summer. Well I can't even call it a summer...

Hope all goes well at the vet for Gizmo!
 
Hopefully the fat 0.5u does the trick
I didn't fatten it up tonight. I got caught at work and was already running late and had bad rain and traffic on the way home so I just didn't have the time to "adjust". Hubby tested the +2 (I had an appointment) and I am not sure if I believe that number. I just did the +3.5 test (when I got home).

I just don't know what to make of these numbers. They seem to be all over the place with no real "normal" cycle numbers. I don't know if there is pain - he doesn't act like it. IDK. The 102 @ +7 on the 26th has me really confused.

I had pretty much made up my mind with the full 0.25U dose increase until this +3.5 #. :banghead:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top