? 07/01 - Small Kitty amps 117 PMPS 92- full day with no shot required ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Hello everybody,

Small Kitty is not over with surprises but wondering if this one should be celebrated or not.

Last night the vet technician / care taker send me an sms with the GL results : 436.

Quite normal so far things kept on rolling even if I wasn't there.

This morning was WAY DIFFERENT then usual, Small Kitty went from his usual level
to 117 PRESHOT. Lucky me it was not the unreasonable kids that were taking care of injection. The vet technician realized he had to skip the shot. Started breathing again when he told
me he did.

How to that be ??? I'm sure the shot was given at the good dose (2.75) as I had printed
a nice little sheet with lines indicated the level of each doses and draw a big circle around
2.75.

This just go against logic, with stress should have raised GL, not lower it. My buddy told
me food was gone from the feeder so Small Kitty did eat.

The only thing I can see is that the care taker might have been little late at shooting (1h)
as I had trouble getting his feed back, it's only 1h after shot time that he send me the sms.

Does such a low level at AMPS mean he went way lower during the night ?
Curious to know what the results will be at PMPS.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-340-liver-back-to-sleep.160359/#post-1712963




* As for my ''Airshow'', it was kind of groundy... Typical airshows are starting on Friday,
ending on Sunday. But these guys decided it was to be Thursday ONLY o_O

In 15 years assisting airshows that the first time ever I ear of that. This was not
time lost, the Snow Bird, the RCAF aerobatic display team took off and I was allowed
to be very close, right at the spot where taxing was happening, got nice shots.
Also, this is a museum so there is something like 10-15 planes that were in the hangar
including 2 extremely rare restoration projects. It's always amazing to see an airplane
''undressed'' and see what's under the skin.

Proof it was interesting I came here with 600 shots, all more exciting the the others.
Snowbird.jpg
 
Last edited:
Things are making even less sens now. Small Kitty is in the green and the guy is not there
anymore so impossible to ask to change food to HC.

Could something have ''unjammed'' itself all of a sudden ?

The guy said he's less afraid of him and less urination as well. On the other and he told me
that Big brother is nowhere to be found. Hopefully Small Kitty is not digesting his brother :)

My care taker will use the Meter from the clinic tomorrow, will know for sure if there is something
wrong with test results...
 
Last edited:
This is going to be the first time ever (since dx) that Small Kitty has passed a full
day without insulin. GL will jump skyward.
 
Last edited:
WOW!!

Are you sure aliens didn't come down from Mars and take the real SK away and leave you this "Pod-SK"?
beam-me-up.gif

Don't know but what's coming next is alien too. Maybe this veterinarian clinic is what triggered
everything and ''releasing'' on the author made Small Kitty feeling better. :)
 
Can a full day without insulin be without any consequences ? Guess the worst can be expected,
liver and pancreas cannot let this go without major reaction ?
 
Not all kitties spike with stress, some respond with lower blood glucose. Given that it looks like SK stayed in normal numbers all day :cat::D there is no problem that there's no insulin given, the only problem may occur when the numbers go back up and the depot needs to refill before having a good effect but there's nothing you can do about that.

If the clinic meter and your meter are within a reasonable range of each other you might want to consider lowering SK's dose (when he's shootable) for while you are away. We have another kitty (Jenks) that has a habit of needing to drop doses when one of his carers is away. I'm not comfortable suggesting holiday doses myself and there is the DKA to consider so maybe someone else can give you advice on that.

When you mentioned shooting warbirds the other day I thought you meant you were going hunting to shoot with a gun some poor species of bird :mad: I feel much better to see you are shooting with your camera the planes :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:
 
Some kitties don't eat as well when their people are gone, either. Isn't it possible BK is eating the food and SK is eating less than normal?

I wouldn't worry about skipping, unless there are any indications of him being ill. In this case, with you being gone, I'd be more conservative in dose so he doesn't go too low while he is alone.

Way to throw the bean a curve while he's trying to get a little vacation, SK. Always keep them on their toes - that's the first rule of being a cat!
 
Not all kitties spike with stress, some respond with lower blood glucose. Given that it looks like SK stayed in normal numbers all day :cat::D there is no problem that there's no insulin given, the only problem may occur when the numbers go back up and the depot needs to refill before having a good effect but there's nothing you can do about that.

If the clinic meter and your meter are within a reasonable range of each other you might want to consider lowering SK's dose (when he's shootable) for while you are away. We have another kitty (Jenks) that has a habit of needing to drop doses when one of his carers is away. I'm not comfortable suggesting holiday doses myself and there is the DKA to consider so maybe someone else can give you advice on that.

When you mentioned shooting warbirds the other day I thought you meant you were going hunting to shoot with a gun some poor species of bird :mad: I feel much better to see you are shooting with your camera the planes :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:

Warbirds are World War II era airplanes. We call them that way because they fly like birds (can turn on a dime) :)
And they are as nice and colorful as birds, just a bit noisier ;)
 
Isn't it possible BK is eating the food and SK is eating less than normal?
I'm more concerned the other way around, BB staying hidden while SK is eating more then he would need :)
Big Brother is a gentlemen, he's always sacrificing himself so his little brother get it all. Just hope he's not
stuck somewhere he cannot get out from. If he can, he has what's in the feeder, the care taker said it's
always empty the next cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top