07/03 BB AMPS 71, went below 50 last night does she need reduction

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Dawnjanell, Jul 3, 2020.

  1. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Last thread

    Ok so like to start with my guy tested BB on his way to bed and found her at 49. He gave her a half a can of food and waited up to make sure she ate it, but didn't think to wake me and let me know she had been below 50.

    Does she need a reduction since she went below 50? I am about to head to work so for this morning she is getting a little higher carb food and we are going to take turns checking on her all day.
     
  2. Dawnjanell

    Dawnjanell Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    What are your thoughts on using a late night snack that is just a little higher in carb then her normal 4-5% in order to keep her on this dose?
     
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes on the reduction. Your new dose tonight is 1.25 units. As a newly diagnosed diabetic, at this point in time, you should reduce the dose by 0.25 units when she goes under 50.

    If they want a reduction, it is not a good idea to keep them on a higher dose. At some point you could find yourself fighting low numbers with her not wanting to come up.
     
    Dawnjanell likes this.

Share This Page