07/13, Lilly, AMPS 596, advice needed

Discussion in 'Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir)' started by catman13, Jul 13, 2018 at 7:16 AM.

1. catman13

catman13 Member

Hi all,

Update this week, Lilly went to a very low carb dry food < 5% and she’s mainly on wet food between 2-8% carbs.

I maintained the 2u shots for about a weeks because of the food change. However I’m still seeing higher numbers and this morning BG was 596 which is devistating :(. I had increased her dose to 2.5u last night, not sure if that’s the reason.

I’m doing to start increasing every 5-6 cycles since I’m not seeing much of a change in BG levels.

Random question: what’s the highest dosage a cat can be on? In other words is there a limit?

2. Catacular

Catacular New Member

I am not an expert, and a few FDMB folks have commented that I'm moving too fast with my dosecreases... However, based on Lilly's numbers (reds and blacks), I don't think 2.5U seems unreasonable. Some cats are quite a bit higher, although some of those have underlying problems.

**Please note protocol numbers below are with human glucometers. Interpret accordingly.**

Roomp & Rand protocol (2008) recommends an initial dosage of "0.25 IU/kg of ideal weight BID." So, let's say you have a 12 lb. cat, the initial dosing recommendation in this protocol is 12 lb. converted to 5.44 kg * .25 = 1.4U (rounding up). A 16 lb. cat would be 7.25kg so 1.8U. However, Roomp & Rand's later 2013 Management of Diabetic Cats with Long-acting Insulin indicates "Begin with 0.5 IU/kg [BID] if the blood glucose is >360 mg/dL (>20 mmol/L)." So, a 16 lb. cat would be at a dose of 3.6U in that case (7.25kg * .5).

NOTE: The 2008 Roomp & Rand protocol also recommends "Cats with a history of developing ketones that remain >300 mg/dL (17 mmol/L) after 24-48 hours . . . Increase by 0.5 IU." That's quite aggressive, and it seems most on the board disagree with this published recommendation.