07/13 - Small Kitty amps 554 +1 553 - pmps 409 - could be worst

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Believe Small Kitty gave good numbers just to give me a little break.

Just 4h after what I'm pretty sure was a straight in shot (no fur), I hope, he went
from blue to 481 :(. Now this morning almost the highest number ever, 554 :nailbiting:.
Did a dual test, to make sure this was good number..

Liver must have worked hard last night, the amount of urine in the litter
box was football size.

If we're assisting at a bounce that's quite a good one.

Hope this is no downfall with good numbers behind...

Sébastien

Yesterday :
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...pmps-148-4-481-huge-jump.161151/#post-1723432
 
Last edited:
With not being able to test during the day, you don't know how low SK might have gone today. Considering SK started the AM with a blue number and was blue at PMPS there is a good possibility that he went lower during the cycle. If this is the case then it is very possible that this is a bounce. Hopefully SK will have better numbers for the morning.

Thanks for you yesterday's reply Mary Ann,

If this is the case it means that the current dose of 2.5 would be too high ??

That it would bring a nadir too low for the system not to over react ??

What's strange is that the climb came up pretty early in the cycle..

Still some work to be done, I guess.

Good day All

Sébastien
 
With not being able to test during the day, you don't know how low SK might have gone today. Considering SK started the AM with a blue number and was blue at PMPS there is a good possibility that he went lower during the cycle. If this is the case then it is very possible that this is a bounce. Hopefully SK will have better numbers for the morning.
Good advice to do a second test when there is such a huge difference from the previous number and I always sniff the injection site to see if I smell insulin. He is still making nice progress. It is disappointing when they start to come down and then bounce back up but remember, he has been in higher numbers for even longer than you knew about so, his body is not used to staying there yet. He will get there. :bighug:

Yeah, just a week or so. No drug addict will clear the temptation in a week :cool:
 
Yeah, just a week or so. No drug addict will clear the temptation in a week :cool:


Sounds there is still work ahead..

Could this dose be too high and bring nadir not the level Small Kitty stay around ?

Week-end tests showed it WAS or SEEMED to be a good dose.
 
Could this dose be too high and bring nadir not the level Small Kitty stay around ?
Not necessarily. It is hard to know since you can't get any day time test during the cycle. It could be that he hit a lower green number that he hasn't hit before and really reacted to it with the bounce. Your curve this weekend will help to determine this dose and where to go from here.
 
If this is the case it means that the current dose of 2.5 would be too high ??

That it would bring a nadir too low for the system not to over react ??


If you are following the SLGS approach the AMPS on July 11 of 85US (4.7 mmol) would have called for a 1/4 unit decrease. With SLGS a reading of 90 (5 mmol) or below calls for a decrease. Since you cannot test during the day I am assuming that you are following the SLGS method.

Those high bounces are tough to take. Without knowing how low SK got yesterday it is hard to say exactly what is happening right now. Remeber that SK's body is not accustomed to lower blues or greens..yet. Hope SK has come down by PMPS
 
My comprehension was that slgs recommend holding a dose for 7 days. Each cat are different, I guess.


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/


Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

No matter which protocol you are following you do not want your kitty to go below the suggested reduction levels.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/


Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

No matter which protocol you are following you do not want your kitty to go below the suggested reduction levels.

Thanks Mary Ann, I should have jump on reduction on the 11th, just believed this was to be the exception as it was a new dose.

Now it's a bit too late, next results will probably be falsified by the bounce.. Would be nice if Small Kitty get close to blue
so I could test during the evening to go ahead with reducing the dose.

I'm pretty sure he's on this bouce for a few cycles now. Will see at 6 when I'm back home.

.
 
Thanks Mary Ann, I should have jump on reduction on the 11th, just believed this was to be the exception as it was a new dose.

Now it's a bit too late, next results will probably be falsified by the bounce.. Would be nice if Small Kitty get close to blue
so I could test during the evening to go ahead with reducing the dose.

I'm pretty sure he's on this bouce for a few cycles now. Will see at 6 when I'm back home.

.

A rebound can take up to 6 cycles to clear the system. When numbers drop too fast, too low, or lower than the kitty is used to the body releases counter-regulatory hormones which cause stored glucogen (glucose) to be released to bring the numbers back to what it thinks are "safe" numbers. Some kitties will clear a bounce faster than others, but it just takes a bit of time. Seeing those high numbers again can be depressing, but it is all part of the "sugar dance"

tumblr_inline_n0ylqsdGTm1rbasp5.gif
 
Not so bad this pmps, I was expecting no less then last night but he's pretty good.

''Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.''
Trust me, I'll remember that one !!!!! :D

Nothing to do about it now but wait and expect the extreme meowing when food time arrives :)

*Big Brother is really a gentlemen, he was not finish with his bowl when Small Kitty jumped on
it. He just moved himself out of the way and generously gave a fifth of his portion to SK. :cat:

.
 
At least SK has broken away from those horrible blacks this morning. Hopefully he will clear this bounce quickly and get back to those nice numbers soon. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top