1/18 Slashy AMPS 154 +3 254 +6 294 +9 268 PMPS 241 +3 217

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Slashy & Rick, Jan 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Slashy & Rick

Slashy & Rick Member

2. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

Re: 1/18 Slashy AMPS 154 +3 254 pain question

Hope you feel better!

A bounce is possible. The problem is you don't have any PM spot checks to know whether Slashy's numbers were low in the evening. Given his PMPS and the tendency for many cats to have lower numbers in the evening, he may have seen green. I know I'm among those here who keep saying this but please do what you can to get those PM spot checks in.

Pain can also drive up BG. I can't remember when you saw your vet and got all of the meds but I don't think it was that long ago. I'd see about getting more bupe. I've had limited experience with pancreatitis but I'm pretty sure Gabby had at least a week's worth of pain meds. One of the other beans here may be able to give you a better idea of how long you may need to treat for pain. Is Slashy looking like he's uncomfortable?

3. Cassandra and Sasha

Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

Re: 1/18 Slashy AMPS 154 +3 254 +6 294 - pain question

I think it could be lack of pain meds or a bounce, but you are also now seeing the last of the 5u shed emptying out, and that will bring higher numbers most likely as that was the correct dose that he worked up to. With a shed that large it does take days to drain completely. He could have gone very low last night too, and we wouldn't know because of the lack of checks.

How many days total did you give pain meds for? Is he back to 100% now?

4. Slashy & Rick

Slashy & Rick Member

Hello..what do yo umean by " last of the 5u shed emptying out"? Not sure I understand.