It's tricky. I don't think people know what to suggest to help because you can't do so many of the things that we know to do to figure these things out. It requires some out of the box thinking, that's for sure.
Some things I can think of right now, and if you can't do them, that's fine, but just throwing these out there since you asked:
I would try to get some tests overnight, once a night in different places in the cycle to try to figure out where his pm nadir is (start in the +8 to +10 range since that's the best guess we have) and how low he goes at night. You'd have to figure out the logistics that work for you to do that, perhaps on the weekend when you don't have to be out of the house early the next day? If you need a block of undisturbed sleep, maybe try to go to bed super early and wake up around +8? Or set an alarm for +8 one night and +9 a different night, etc.
Figure out your reduction number on the meter you are testing with, I know you double check the greens with your other meter, and that's fine, but the problem with using a meter you don't regularly test with for dosing decisions is consistency. It's not like a 50 on one will always be a 98 on the other, do you know what I mean? But if given the amount of tests comparing both, you find a comfortable number on the meter you are using and decide that is your reduction point, you have the consistency of it being in line with the other numbers on your SS with the same meter and it's much safer that way.
Once you have that reduction number, as much as it sucks to lose momentum, you have to make some compromises and reduce and/or skip shots when faced with that number so you can keep him safe. Others might shoot lower and leave food out, but you can't so you have to find another way to make sure he stays safe when you can't feed or monitor him.
Another possible option is to find a higher carb food he likes, how high would depend on how carb sensitive he is, you'd have to play around with that, but anyway, find a higher carb food he likes and feed that on the days you have lower shots and are worried about him being safe. Or like Osha's bean does, give him an extra helping of food. Hopefully it will give him a higher number come onset and keep him out of unsafe numbers. Not fun to make him higher on purpose, but again, there are compromises that you will have to make in light of your situation. I've had to make Asia's number high on purpose too when I know I can't monitor her during the lowest parts of her cycle. It's not ideal, but I'd rather have the peace of mind to do what I have to do and not worry like crazy about her the whole time.
That's all I can think of for right now, have you had any thoughts or ideas about what you can do to keep him safe when you start seeing lower numbers consistently? The little stinker sure has given you plenty of time to mull that over, hasn't he?