1-19 Sylvester AMPS 270, wont eat!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by AshleeZ, Jan 19, 2020.

1. AshleeZ

AshleeZ New Member

Hey y’all! New member here for my cat Sylvester. He currently is getting 1 unit of insulin bid. He hasn’t had an appetite lately and this morning wouldn’t eat at all. His pre shot was 270. I am new to this and unsure what to do if he continues to not eat today.

2. AmandaE

AmandaE Well-Known Member

Hi Ashlee! welcome to the Lantus/Basaglar and Levemir forum! Sylvester is so cute! love him!!

HERE is a link from the FAQ page with some tips for stimulating kitties appetite. You may want to call your vet tomorrow if he is still not eating. Lantus is a little more forgiving for when Sylvester eats, however he should have some food in his belly for when the insulin kicks in(also known as the insulin onset) a typical onset is +2 (2 hours after the shot) although every cat is different (ECID). 270 is not too low for a preshot, if you can, try and get a few more tests today to see how low the 1u is taking him. I saw on your main forum post that you're working on your spread sheet, looking forward to seeing how Sylvester is getting along :)

3. AshleeZ

AshleeZ New Member

Hey! Thanks for the help Amanda! I do plan on testing him throughout the day and we are going to visit his help tomorrow.

AmandaE likes this.
  4. AmandaE

AmandaE Well-Known Member

Let us know how the visit goes! sending positive vibes that he's going through a phase :)

5. Briere Fur Mom

Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

Welcome to the L&L forum!!!:bighug: I'm looking forward to reading your post(s) and seeing the progress of Sylvester!!! What a handsome boy he is:kiss:
    Sylvester, be good for your momma bean and eat your foods. :cat:
    Again, welcome and looking forward to seeing that SS up and running:smuggrin::)
    Have a wonderful day Ashlee!

6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

Welcome, Ashlee!