GA 1/21 Cobb Gone to the Rainbow Bridge

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Suzanne & Cobb(GA), Jan 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Yesterday's Condo

    Cobb held his own overnight. We don't think he likes this new food anymore. Of course, I just bought 24 cans of it on Tuesday! He did throw some of it up on Tuesday night, so maybe he's hesitant to eat because of that. Or, he's just not as hungry now that his numbers are in the normal range.

    We'll see how this 2 units pans out.

    Thanks for the vines for Matty. He is perfectly fine. Fine enough that I wonder if they confused his flu test results with someone else's. That... or Tamiflu is AWESOME!!!

    Hope you all have a great day! Vines for everyone who needs them.

    ~Suzanne
     
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Wild times for your Cobb right now. I know how I would feel in your shoes so you are doing a marvelous job. I hope he levels out soon.
     
  3. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    i think this morning is somewhat bounce/skipped shot influencing his amps. But look back 2 days and his amps was 352 post-low numbers and post-bounce. so 248 doesn't look too bad. I'm not sure about holding this for a full 4 cycles if he doesn't get back into green by then. I totally get the reasoning why that would be good - we need to see where he is post-bounce/skipped shot, but i'm also thinking about what we know about failed reductions, that as soon as you can ascertain that's what's happened because the cat's trended up, you go right back up to the last good dose. and since you decreased the dose by more than 50% i'm a little nervous about holding it for too long if it isn't working. Let's hope he comes down by pmps.

    Again, looking after he last skipped shot+ low numbers, he got back to business fairly quickly. The next day he was back in mid-blues all day, got the one shot and then was too low to shoot in 12 hours.

    hopefully Cobb will make things abundantly clear so you know what to do next.
     
  4. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    We'll evaluate how long to hold the dose after tonight. I think if he's higher than he is now, I think I would consider increasing tonight -- just because I think this morning would be the highest of the bounce, given the skipped shot and reduced dose.

    But...I will, of course defer to the wisdom here.

    Julie, I agree though... hopefully Cobb will steer the ship into calm waters without any fog.
     
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Part of my reason for suggesting holding for 4 cycles (provided he doesn't keep heading up), it that it'd get you past the work week. If I saw blue by tonight, I'd keep holding.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  6. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    For some kitties all it takes is throwing up one time for them to develop an aversion to the food/flavor they ate. Our civie Samantha (GA) was like that.

    As far as the dose goes, both Wendy and Julie make excellent points.
    Considering you work full time and the importance of staying ahead of any rapid downward momentum I'd be inclined to be conservative.

    It's a phase that is like driving down a steep hill at high speed - navigating with one foot on the gas and the other on the brakes and both hands firmly on the wheel.
    This may work for a while however you don't know when you will reach a plateau.
    Under these conditions there is a serious risk that the brakes may fail.

    You are well past the time when the goal was bringing down the highs and required an uphill push - momentum was difficult to gain and easily lost.
    Now the focus is finding a dose that will keep you ahead of the lows until Cobb finds the next plateau - and doing so with neither you or Cobb crashing and burning along the way. :cool:


    I remember scratching my head on many occasions asking 'is this MY cat???'
    You may not feel like it right now but you know Cobb well.
    It seems he had a few surprises up his furry little sleeves . . .
    (you know cats - they like to maintain an aura of mystery. . .)


     
  7. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Matt got home this afternoon and saw Cobb hasn't eaten all day. That's two days of not eatibg. So I made an appointment with a vet in town, old vet faxing records, heading in now to see what's going on. Could use your thoughts and vines. No lie...I'm concerned.
     
  8. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Sending lots of vines, for the vet visit and the appy. Will be watching for updates.

    Eat yer fuds, Cobb!!!!
     
  9. KeikosHuman

    KeikosHuman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Best wishes and vines to you.
     
  10. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Hi Suzanne,
    I hope that the new vet will be able to give you some answers. Sending vetty vines.
    Will Cobb eat his old food? or is he avoiding all food. I've bought full cases of foods Rusty really liked at first only to have him refuse to eat the new food after a can or two. This is an example of :cat:!! Sometimes they will go back after a while and like the food again. Sometimes not.

    Very glad to hear that Matty probably doesn't have the flu. That's a real plus!!!

    Hugs and scritches,

    Ella & Rusty
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Tons of vines going your way. How is the LB action? Any throwing up? I hope it's a simple easy to fix thing.
     
  12. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    At the vet now...they are very impressed with spreadsheet.

    Probably do a urinalysis, maybe blood test. Waiting for the Dr now.

    He's currently avoiding all food and treats. Still drinking. Some pee in the LB, but peeing on our carpet this week.
     
  13. Shelly & Jersey (GA)

    Shelly & Jersey (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Lots of vines headed Cobb's way, Suzanne. :bighug:
     
  14. purrdydolly

    purrdydolly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Sending vines for Cobb
     
  15. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    They took him to the back to do some tests, so I'm updating you as they update me.

    He's apparently very dehydrated. Vet tech says that could be a sign of kidney disease. In-house blood work will be another 20-25 minutes. Still running a urine test as well. They were able to get the urine and a small stool sample, which was really hard.

    Should have a full picture in about half an hour.
     
  16. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Mega vines coming for Cobb and you. I'm glad Matty doesn't need them. :bighug:
    Liz
     
  17. suki & crystal (GA)

    suki & crystal (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Sending vines and hugs to you and CoBb, stay safe.
    Suki and Crystal
     
  18. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Thoughts and vines as we wait with you...

    HUGS!
     
  19. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Sending more vine for Cobb. I hope they find out what's going on sonn.
     
  20. Peg and Toby

    Peg and Toby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Sending prayers and healing vines for Cobb. Thinking of you, Peg and Toby
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    More prayers and vines for Cobb from here too.
     
  22. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Vines. And more....

    Marilyn and Polly
     
  23. donaleen and Ozy

    donaleen and Ozy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Do you mean the poop was hard? Maybe he has a blockage.
     
  24. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    adding my best thoughts and well-wishes for our little buddy. we'll be watching for an update.
     
  25. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    My sweet baby is gone.

    The vet said his kidneys were shot and she didn't think even if we rehydrated him at the ER overnight that it would so any good.

    I stayed with him and told him what a sweet boy he was and that he didn't have to be in pain anymore. I told him Ozy, Ole, Zener, and all the kitties that came before him on FDMB were waiting at the bridge for him. He passed away before they even gave him the second injection. I guess the sedative was enough for him to relax and let go.

    My heart is broken right now.
     
  26. donaleen and Ozy

    donaleen and Ozy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Lighting a candle....
     
  27. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    my heart is broken with you. i'm so sorry.
     
  28. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    I am so very sorry Suzanne. Fly free sweet Cobb and land softly
     
  29. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    OH NO NO NO! Not Cobb...Suzanne, I'm SO SO sorry. Tears - fly high on your new Angel wings sweet baby...
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    ((((Suzanne, Matt, Matty)))) My heart is breaking for you. Tears on my keyboard. [​IMG]
     
  31. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OMG!!!...Suzanne I have no words for you

    I can't think of anything to say that will help, so for now, I'll just say how sorry I am for you, Matt and Matty.

    Fly Free Sweet Cobb! cat_wings>o
     
  32. Shelly & Jersey (GA)

    Shelly & Jersey (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    (((Suzanne)))

    I am at a complete loss for words. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Fly free, sweet Cobb.
     
  33. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((((((Suzanne, Matt, Matty))))))
    No words. Shocked and in tears.
    I'm so sorry..............................................

    cat_wings>o Fly free dear Cobb... land softly.
     
  34. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Oh, no, no, no. I don't have any words, just so many tears. And heart hurt. You and Cobb are so special to us. Always such a light for us. Our world has grown dim.

    Tears. I can't stop them.

    All my thoughts, my hugs, my sympathy for you and Matt and Matty.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I'm in shock as you must be. Fly free sweet Cobb. :bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  36. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Oh no!!!!!!! He had come so far! Oh, Suzanne, I am so very, very sorry! I know there is nothing that will really comfort you now, but you are in so many hearts and prayers right now. All of LL mourns with you and Matt and Matty. You did such a wonderful job with him. Many vines, prayers and hugs to you. Lots of tears here, too. [​IMG]


    Fly free, sweet Cobbham, and land softly.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  37. Robyn and Penny

    Robyn and Penny Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    I'm so sorry Suzanne! Fly free and land softly, Cobb! No more pain <3
     
  38. Ann & Tess GA

    Ann & Tess GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Oh no! ((((((((((Suzanne)))))))))))) Cobb was ready to go and you were so brave to let him fly free.

    Lighting a candle for sweet Cobb. All the GAs will be there to greet their dear friend.
    [​IMG]
     
  39. Laura&Chichi (GA)

    Laura&Chichi (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Nooooo... so hard to see this...god has another angel..r.i.p. Cobbcat_wings>o
     
  40. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    I am so very sorry....Cobb is in good company at The Bridge, and his beautiful light is now shining down on you :bighug::bighug::bighug:...
     
  41. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((((Suzanne)))))

    I have no words. There are no words that could ever be enough. Sometimes, our kitties know best and they don't want us to suffer with them. They choose their time. I don't think Cobb wanted you to worry. You gave each other one last gift.

    I hope you will find some solace in this fable of why we choose tears.

    Fly free Cobb and land softly. There are many from LL who will be waiting for you at the Bridge to play and keep you safe until you are reunited with the one you love best.

    [​IMG]
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  42. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((((Suzanne))))) I'm so sorry to read this. Fly free, sweet Cobb.
     
  43. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    (((((Suzanne))))) We are so sorry. Big hugs to you. Yes, Zener and the guys are welcoming your sweet Cobb. He had such a good life with you. Every kitty should be so lucky.
    Liz
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  44. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm so sorry. Sending prayers to you. Fly free Cobb. :bighug::bighug:
     
  45. Josie & Ripley (GA)

    Josie & Ripley (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Oh no ((((Suzanne)))).
    Tears are streaming for your loss. I am so very, very sorry.
    I'm sending you much love and light.
    :rb_icon:
    Fly free, Sweet Cobb
     
  46. Deb & Spot

    Deb & Spot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh my goodness Suzanne, I am so sorry!! My heart is breaking for you. Rest Peacefully Cobb (((Suzanne))) 10386289_10152488814600878_5761460914116151303_n.jpg
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  47. Karen & Rudy

    Karen & Rudy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    I am so sorry! Thinking of you Suzanne :(
     
  48. MollynSkooter

    MollynSkooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    I am crying as I type this. I am so very sorry for the loss of your sweet baby Cobb.

    I am at a loss for words as is everyone else. I will be saying an extra prayer for your family tonight.

    Sweet, dear Cobb, may you fly free my friend and join al the wonderful cats that have gone before you, they will take good care of you. But don't forget to give your momma a sign that you made it safely.

    So many hugs and prayers and thoughts are going out to you tonight!
    cat_wings>o:rb_icon:
     
  49. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm so sorry, ((Suzanne)))).
     
  50. Tiger(GA) and Ruth

    Tiger(GA) and Ruth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    ((((Suzanne))))) I am so sorry for your loss-- fly free sweet big orange guy- you were so loved!! heartcandle.jpg
     
  51. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    ((((Suzanne, Matt, Matty)))) As you, I am totally shocked, stunned, and so heartbroken for you all. Tears are pouring for your loss of your beautiful boy. Mike and I send our very deepest condolences but the words pale in comparison to the loss. We can only send you prayers, love, and peace knowing that you did an amazing job taking care of him.

    Fly free, brave Cobb.


    The Ridge by Carol Notermann

    It’s been such a lovely summer, I’ve been napping in the sun.
    This morning, other cats and I enjoyed a long long run.
    We chased butterflies together. I climbed high into a tree.
    And now I think what woke me up was that small bumble bee.


    I’ve yawned and stretched, and still I feel that something has begun.
    He’s standing there in robes of white, and telling me to come.
    I always run to Him you know, when He comes across the bridge
    To see if we’re all having fun and if we’ve checked the ridge.



    He gives tummy rubs to all of us and pets and cuddles too
    I’m glad to see Him every day, when He comes into view.
    Each day He takes a different cat, and chats with them a while
    Then off that kitty starts to run. I swear they seem to smile.


    But now He’s stopped in front of me. He’s said a name I know.
    He said to look out towards the ridge. The sun is setting low.
    I start to walk out toward the ridge, and then what’s that I see.
    IT’S YOU! IT’S YOU! It’s really you. You’ve come to be with me!


    My goodness you are running and I am running too!
    You stop to bend, but I can jump and now I am with you.
    I feel your kisses on my head, as I did in long off days
    You’re holding me and hugging me, and into your eyes I gaze.


    And now He’s walking with us, as you carry me once more
    We’ve crossed Rainbow Bridge together. We’re here at Heaven’s door.
    And He has held it open, and told us to walk through
    That from now on and forever, I can always be with you.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  52. MartinJA527

    MartinJA527 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    I am so sorry for the loss of your dear Cobb.. He and Booger can travel together and play with bodies unbroken and full of life.. We will see them again. cat_wings>o
     
  53. Voula

    Voula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    I send you my deepest condolences on the loss of your precious Cobb and healing prayers for you Suzanne at this most difficult time.
     
  54. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    My deepest condolences on the loss of your beloved Cobb
    . candle.jpg
    Lighting a ring of candles in memory of your extra sweet boy.
     
  55. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Dear ((((Suzanne, Matt, Matty)))),
    Cobb was such a lucky kitty to have shared his life with you. We are so sad that it was his time. Words fail me and tears are clouding my vision, but if you look to the heavens tonight you will see Cobb's brilliant star. He and his friend Booger are gliding on their new golden wings and all of our GAs at the Bridge are waiting in welcome.
    Fly free, sweet, brave Cobb. cat_wings>o. You are much loved. Watch over your family and send them a sign that you have arrived safely.

    In deepest sympathy,
    Ella & Edward, Rusty, and Stu(GA)
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  56. ramonaghan

    ramonaghan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    I'm so, so sorry for your sudden loss. Rest well, Cobb.
     
  57. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  58. rhiannon and shadow (GA)

    rhiannon and shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    I'm so so sorry to read this. Prayers for your sadness.

    Fly Free Cobb.

    [​IMG]
     
  59. Paula

    Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Suzanne,
    I am so very sorry. Cobb is happily playing on the rainbow bridge. He will send you a sign that he is o.k.
    Fly free Cobb.cat_wings>o
     
  60. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Suzanne, I am so very sorry. There simply are not words when we lose one of our furkids so suddenly. I so hope that all of your memories will be of comfort to you, and your family. He will alwyas be with you, tucked away in a corner of your heart.

    Fly free Cobb, and land softly as the bridge. Mannie is there, waiting to greet you. :rb_icon:

    candle cat.jpg
     
  61. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Requiem aeternum, Cobb.

    {{hugs}}
     
  62. Rebekah

    Rebekah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Oh, Suzanne, Matt and Matty,

    I am so sorry. You bet your boots that Ole was there to meet Cobb when he crossed. Together, Ole and Cobb and all of our other sweeties are shooting the breeze, catching up on each of their comings and goings, and making frisky risky plans. We are happy that they have been set free, but will miss them every day. That is the absolute truth. Thinking of you, always.

    Rebekah, Alex, Loki, Knute and Make Larry.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  63. Patty & Champ

    Patty & Champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    ((((Suzanne)))) I just don't know what to say. I'm so sorry for your loss. I know how devoted you've been to Cobb, such a terrific mom. Cobb had a great life with you...you gave him such great care. He knows how much you loved him. I'm just shocked. He's with a great group of kitties at the Rainbow Bridge and he'll be watching over you, I'm sure.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  64. Cleo & Jane (GA)

    Cleo & Jane (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    (((Suzanne))) I am so sorry :(
     
  65. Jmeli

    Jmeli Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    I am so sorry for your loss Suzanne. I just wanted to share this story and hope it might offer some comfort.

    YOU HAVE CHOSEN TEARS

    The little girl stopped. Behind her, kittens were playing, chasing each other and wrestling in the warm sunshine. It looked like so much fun, but in front of her, through the clear stillness of the pond water, she could see her mummy. She was crying.

    She pawed at the water, trying to get to her. When that didn't work, she jumped into the shallow water. That just got her wet and Mummy's image danced away in the ripples.

    "Mummy!...come back" she cried. "Something's wrong!"

    The little girl turned around. A lady was standing at the edge of the pond. Her gentle eyes were filled with love and kindness. The little girl sighed, padded out of the water and walked up to her. There's been a mistake," she said. "I'm not supposed to be here." She looked back at the water. It was becoming still again and her mummy's image was coming back.

    "Mummy said it has to be a mistake. She said I wasn't supposed to come here yet."

    The kind lady sighed and sat down in the grass. With some gentle coaxing, the little girl climbed into her lap. It wasn't Mummy's lap, but, it was almost as good.

    When she started to pet her and scratch under her chin, the way she liked, she started to purr softly. She hadn't wanted to, but she couldn't help it. She missed her mummy's touch.

    "I'm afraid, there is no mistake. You are supposed to be here and your mummy knows it...deep down in her heart," the lady said. "She knew this would happen...it always does".

    The little girl sighed and laid her head on the lady's leg.

    "But she's so sad. It hurts me to see her cry and her human children too.”

    “But they knew right from the beginning this would happen.”

    “Why? Because I was so sick?" she whimpered. This surprised the little girl. No one had said anything like that and she had listened when they thought she was sleeping. All she had heard them talk about was how cute she was or how smart she was or how big she was getting.

    "No, not because you were sick," the lady said. "But, you see, they chose Tears."

    "No, they didn't," the little girl argued. "Who would choose to cry?"

    The lady gently brushed the top of her head with a kiss. It made her feel safe and loved and warm - but she still worried about her mummy.

    "Let me tell you a story," the lady said.

    The little girl looked up and saw other animals gathering around. Cats, kittens, hamsters, birds, a lizard, several dogs, puppies and some animals she didn't even recognize, all came to be nearer, so they could hear too. They all lay down near the kind lady and looked up at her, waiting. She smiled at them and began:

    A long, long, time ago, the Loving Ones went to the Angel in Charge.

    They were lonesome and asked the Angel to help them.

    The Angel took them to a wall of windows. They peered out the first window at all sorts of things; dolls, toys, clothes and many other things to hold or use.

    "Here are things you can love," the Angel said.
    "They will keep you from being lonesome."

    "Oh, thank you," the Loving Ones said. "These are just what we need."

    "You have chosen Pleasure," the Angel told them.

    But, after a time, the Loving Ones came back to the Angel in Charge.

    "Things are okay to love," they said. "But, they don't care that we love them."

    The Angel in Charge led them over to the second window.

    It looked out at all sorts of wild animals.
    "Here are animals to love," he said. "They will know you love them."

    So, the Loving Ones nodded, hurrying out to care for the wild

    animals. "You have chosen Satisfaction," the Angel said.

    The Loving Ones worked at taming some of the wild animals.

    Many learned to serve the Loving Ones in their daily tasks. Some were just enjoyed and watched, like the birds that came into their yards to be fed. But, after a time, they all came back to the Angel in Charge.

    "They know we love them," they told the Angel. "But they don't love us back. We would like to be loved in return."

    So the Angel took them to the third window and showed them lots of people walking around or hurrying to places.

    "Here are people for you to love," the Angel told them.

    So, the Loving Ones hurried off to find other people to love.
    "You have chosen Commitment," the Angel said.

    But, after a time, many of Loving Ones came back to the Angel in Charge.

    "People are okay to love," they said. "But sometimes they stopped loving us or left us. They broke our hearts."

    The Angel just shook his head. "I cannot help you," he said.
    "You will have to be satisfied with the choices I gave you."

    As the Loving Ones turned to leave one saw the last window far off to the side and slowly walked up to look out of it.
    Through it she could see puppies, kittens and dogs, cats and lizards, hamsters and well, some she didn't recognize.

    The other Loving Ones hurried over to see. "What about these?" they asked.

    But the Angel just tried to shoo them away.

    "Those are Personal Empathy Trainers," he said.
    "But, there's a problem with their system operations."

    "Would they know that we love them?" someone asked.

    "Yes," the Angel said.

    "Would they love us back?" another asked.

    "Yes," the Angel said..

    "Will they ever stop loving us?" someone else asked.

    "No," the Angel admitted. "They will love you forever."

    "Then THESE are what we want," the Loving Ones said.

    But the Angel seemed upset.
    "You don't understand," he told them. "You will have to
    feed these animals."

    "That's all right," the Loving Ones said.

    "You will have to clean up after them and take care of them forever. You will have to love them unconditionally, as you would want them to love you."

    "We don't mind," they protested.

    The Loving Ones did not listen. They went down to where the Pets were and picked them up. They could see the love in their own hearts reflected in the animals' eyes.

    "They were not programmed right," the Angel said. "We can't offer a warranty. We don't know how durable they are. Some of their systems malfunction very quickly while others last a long time."

    But the Loving Ones did not seem to care or want to listen.
    They were holding the warm little bodies and finding their hearts so filled with love that they thought they would burst.
    "We will take our chances," they said.

    "You do not understand." The Angel tried one more time.
    "They are so dependent on you and even the most well-made of them is not designed to out-live you. You are destined to suffer their loss."

    The Loving Ones looked at the sweetness in their arms, and nodded to one another.
    "That is how it should be. It is a fair trade for the love they will offer. We'll worry about the rest later," as they each walked away with a new little pet in their arms.

    The Angel just watched them all go, shaking his head.
    "You have chosen Tears," he whispered.

    "So it is," the kind lady told the little girl. " Each mummy and daddy knows when they take a new pet into their heart... that one day it will leave them and they will cry."

    The little girl sat up. "So why do they take us then!?!" she asked. "Why would they do it...if they know?"

    "Because even a moment of your love is worth years of pain later," she quietly replied.

    "Oh....." the animals all agreed in unison, including the little girl and quietly nodded to each other.

    The little girl got off the lady's lap and went back to the edge of the pond.
    Her mummy was still there... and still crying.

    "Will she ever stop crying?" she asked the kind lady.

    She nodded. "You see, the Angel felt sorry for the Loving Ones, knowing how much they would suffer. He couldn't take their tears away, but he did make them special."

    She dipped her hand into the pond and let the water trickle off her fingers.

    "He made them healing tears, formed by the special water here. Each tear holds a bit of all the happy times of barking, purring, petting, playing...and shared love. All flowing together with the promise to love once again.

    As your mummy cries, she is healing. It may take a long while, but the tears will help her feel better. In time she will be less sad and she will begin to smile when she thinks of you. Then, she may open her heart again, to another little baby."

    "But then she will cry again one day," the little girl said, sadly.

    The lady just smiled at her as she got to her feet.

    "No. She will love again. That is all she will think about. She will worry about the rest later...as so many already have before her."

    She bent down and gave the little girl a pat on her head and smiled up at the others who had been listening. They all lowered their heads and nodded silently back.

    "Look," she said. "The butterflies have come. Shall we all go over to play?"

    The other animals all ran ahead, but the little girl wasn't ready to leave the sight of her mummy.

    "Will I ever get to be with her again?" she asked solemnly.

    The kind lady nodded. "You'll be in the eyes of every kitten she looks at. You'll be in the purr of every cat she pets. Late at night, when she's fast asleep, the spirit of your memory will snuggle up close to her and you both will feel at peace.

    One day soon you can even send her a rainbow, to let her know you're safe and waiting here...for when it's time for her to come."

    "I would like that," as the little girl took one last, long look at her mummy.

    She saw her smile slightly through her tears and she knew she had just recalled a happy memory of her.

    "I love you, Mummy," she whispered. "It's okay if you cry, I understand now."

    She glanced over at the other pets, all running, playing and laughing, chasing the butterflies.
    "Mummy? I’ve got to go and play now,...okay? But I'll be around, I promise. Remember me and I'll always be with you.

    Hey!...You all, wait for me!!!....."
    Then she turned and raced happily after the others.

    Author Unknown
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  66. Deanna & Billie

    Deanna & Billie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    (((Suzanne)))
    I am so so sorry. I have been MIA lately but just happened to check in today and saw your post. I am sending lots of love, hugs, and comfort your way. You took such wonderful care of Cobb and kept him healthy and happy. I'll be thinking of you :bighug:
     
  67. Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

    Lisa and Do Lou (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    so sorry for your loss:bighug:

    Fly Free Cobb:rb_icon:cat_wings>o
     
  68. Grayson & Lu

    Grayson & Lu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Suzanne - there's never an easy way to lose one of our babies. Sudden death feels like they've been stolen from us; and a lingering condition means we grieve before they're even gone. As my friend told me recently, "I'd rather go through the pain of loss, than never to have known his love." I'm so sorry you're going through this. I'm wishing you peace as you try to make sense of what has happened. Know that your friends here, and Cobbs friends at that bridge, are holding all of you close in our hearts.
     
  69. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    (((Suzanne))) I am so sorry for your loss. You gave Cobb so much love and devotion and a wonderful home to live in and a wonderful family to be a part of...I am so so sorry.

    cat_wings>o Fly free, sweet Cobb and land safely at the Rainbow Bridge. Don't forget to check in on your beans to make sure they're doing ok. They'll miss you always and furrever.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  70. suki & crystal (GA)

    suki & crystal (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Oh Suzanne, my heart breaks for you, I am so sorry to hear your sad news. You and CoBb have been such an inspiration to us all and you filled his life with so much love. Land softly sweet boy, be at peace.
     
  71. Delia

    Delia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Suzanne, I'm so sorry... :bighug:
     
  72. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    I'm so sorry Suzanne, what a hard day, I'm so glad you were able to be with him to see him off - looked after and loved to the very end :rb_icon: fly free Cobb
     
  73. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
  74. suki & crystal (GA)

    suki & crystal (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Dear Suzanne

    I keep thinking about you and your family and what you must be going through. I found this verse that a friend sent me when I lost my dearly loved mum, but the sentiment is the same and I hope the words bring you some small comfort.

    I can shed tears that you are gone
    Or I can smile because you have lived
    I can close my eyes and pray that you'll come back
    Or I can open my eyes and see all that you have left.
    My heart can be empty because I can't see you
    Or I can be full of love we shared.
    I can turn my back on tomorrow and live yesterday
    Or I can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday.
    I can remember you and only that you've gone
    Or I can cherish your memory and let it live on.
    I can cry and close my mind,
    Be empty and turn my back
    Or I can do what you'd want; smile.
    Open my eyes, love and go on.

    to all those grieving over the loss of a loved one, human or feline.
     
  75. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    I'm so terribly sorry to hear that Cobb has passed. Now, he is no longer in pain, and is happily playing in Heaven's meadows. Please accept my condolences.
     
  76. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Thank you all for such sweet words. It's been a rough 12 hours. I'm a little shellshocked, to be honest.

    On the drive over to the vet I was trying to prepare myself because we all know how much Cobb loved to eat! So completely stopping was very concerning. And he wouldn't eat the freeze dried chicken treats that he begged for after we discovered them. I think he probably would have made an entire diet on those treats, if I had let him.

    When I got to the vet, Matt had him in a room. We gave the vet tech his history because the records the other vet sent over were just a summary. They did everything in a back room -- physical exam, urinalysis, blood work -- which was nice that we didn't have to see him getting poked and prodded. Matt had to leave to get Matty from daycare so it was just me and my boy.

    It took a long time for the vet to come in -- so I started freaking out a little bit. She could tell when she came in that I was already pretty upset. Cobb's blood work did not look good. His BUN and Crea levels were so high that the machine couldn't even read them. There was another test that indicated kidney function (I don't remember the name of it), but the level of it was also so high that the machine didn't read it. The vet said she couldn't give him the care he needed immediately and we'd have to take him to the ER vet down the road for fluids and monitoring overnight. She said his kidneys were shot. There was something in his urine that also indicated kidney failure -- again, I don't remember exactly what that was. She said he was in a lot of pain when she felt his kidneys as well. I asked her if the ER would be beneficial. Her face pretty much told me what I needed to know. She said, she knew what I was asking and she said that letting him go wasn't a bad decision, especially given his medical history and the amount of pain he was currently in. She said she didn't even know if pain medicine would give him any relief. That pretty much answered my question right there. I asked her what she would do, if this were her cat, and a vet was telling her what she was telling me. Apparently she hates getting that question, but said she would let him go -- especially because her gut told her the ER, while it might help overnight, she didn't think it would actually give us that much more time together. So, I called Matt and told him I had made the decision to let Cobb go. It was the right thing to do.

    They brought in a little cat bed and then brought him in, wrapped in a towel. He laid his head down, which he never really did unless he was being petted, and they gave him the sedative. The vet tech left and gave me some time to say goodbye. I just petted him, and told him he was such a good cat, it was okay to let go, how much I loved him, how he had been there for me through the best and worst times of my life and how he was so patient with Matty. I told him that he would always have a place in my heart and I would love him forever, but it was selfish of me to keep him around when he was in pain. That's when he closed his eyes.

    The vet said his heart stopped even before she gave him the final injection. I think the sedative relaxed him enough to go ahead and let go. His little body was just worn out. He put up such a good fight for the past two years.

    The house feels so empty right now. I don't know what I'm going to do with my time...no more daily injections and spot checks. I'm sure it was just a coincidence, but this happened right after we switched his food. Surely that didn't cause this, did it? I mean, even if the food contributed, to have a 180 in the 24-36 hours after the food switch? Logically I know there's nothing I could have done if his kidneys were done, but I see the food switch and the illness as coming on exactly at the same time and can't help but question what I did wrong.

    I know Cobb is okay though. Last night, as I was lying in bed, I heard meowing coming from the hallway -- just as usual. I know it was him telling me to calm down and go to sleep -- he was okay.

    On another note, I wish we had found this vet years ago, which kinda sucks because she is right around the corner from our house. She just went to a vet conference and attended a bunch of diabetes workshops to increase her understanding of the disease. She seems to know about acro, IAA, low-carb canned food, not pushing prescription food -- I was amazed at the knowledge she had. She said once a cat reaches 3 units of insulin, they should start consider being tested for high dose conditions, and that was the advice being given at the conference apparently. It's nice to know vets are finally learning more about this disease. I mentioned I was on FDMB and followed the TR protocol -- she said this was an amazing place and the protocol is invaluable, and she wishes every one of her patients that has a diabetic cat would hop on here and follow TR because it she felt it was the best way to regulate them and prolong their lives. So -- kudos to FDMB. :)

    I do want to thank all of you here in LL. I know my time with my sweet boy would have been much shorter had I not found you when I did.

    Julie, Wendy, Sandy -- I would have been lost without your support and your guidance. You three are an invaluable resource to this forum. I know you three are responsible for Cobb's survival for so long, and I will truly never forget it.

    Rebekah and Donaleen -- We kind of traveled that high dose road together for awhile. It was nice to have the company! Your support and advice kept me going these last few months!

    And to everyone else: Marje, Sienne, Marilyn, Elise, Dyana, Amy, Anne and Liz, Tricia, Shelly, Chris, and everyone else I know I am forgetting, thank you for your support.

    This is such a wonderful place for our extra sweet kitties. It is a wealth of information and support, whether you agree with everyone or not. Please don't let the politics and changes and everything that really doesn't matter get you bogged down. When it comes down to it, the passion of the people on this board is second to none, and there is so much to offer. And there is so much for us all to learn and share.

    Finally, Cobb did have a special announcement that he couldn't wait to share with everyone. BUT...you're going to have to wait a few more weeks to find out! ;) (How's that for a tease?)

    My love and appreciation to all of you!

    ~Suzanne
     
  77. Shelly & Jersey (GA)

    Shelly & Jersey (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    (((Suzanne)))

    My heart continues to break for you. I had hoped the light of day would bring with it some magical words of wisdom that could bring you comfort. Unfortunately, those words didn’t come.

    A couple of years ago, we had to help our Maxi cat pass; her kidneys had finally failed her. It was so difficult to make that decision, and, afterwards, I was filled with self-doubt and guilt. The “if only’s” broke my heart over and over again. In the end, I realized that, no matter what we had done (that day or in the days and weeks leading up to it), she still would have left us. Although we made the decision to ease her pain, God made the decision that it was time for her to come home.

    Although my words bring little comfort, please know that we are all here for you. Perhaps Grace Noll Crowell said it best:

    To One in Sorrow

    Let me come in where you are weeping, friend,
    And let me take your hand.
    I, who have known a sorrow such as yours,
    Can understand.
    Let me come in - I would be very still
    Beside you in your grief.
    I would not bid you cease your weeping, friend,
    Tears bring relief.
    Let me come in - I would only breathe a prayer,
    And hold your hand,
    For I have known a sorrow such as yours,
    And understand.

    Thoughts and prayers continue to go out to you, Matt, and Matty. :bighug:
     
  78. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
  79. anna and bailey.uk england

    anna and bailey.uk england Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Suzanne I just wanted to say im so terribly sorry for ur loss. my heart breaks. you did above and beyond to make ur little cobbs life comfortable and happy. he'll be playing at rainbow bridge free of pain and suffering as I type. big hugs.xxxx
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  80. terri1962

    terri1962 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Suzanne,

    It took me all day to just write and say how sad and how sorry I am. Every time I start writing I start to cry again. I read Cobb`s condo most every time you posted. So sorry for you Matt, and Matty.

    Terri
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  81. Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Anna and Terri, thank you so much! I really appreciate it!

    No more tears!! Let's all remember Cobb the way he was. A PITA that we all loved SO dearly. He was rambunchous as a kitten -- loved to jump on the bedside tables at night and knock everything off and paw at closed door knobs until you got up to play with him. He was a fantastic older brother to Matty -- patient when Matty went to sit on him or grabbed his tail or a handful of fur. Hissed a bit, but never tried to bite or turn on him. In fact, when Matty was a baby and he was crying, Cobb would come over to see what was going on and look at me like, "uhh, Mom, the baby is crying, quiet him down so I can get some sleep!" LOL. He had tons of nicknames -- Francis Ford Cobbola (Matt is a "Godfather" fan), Mr. Cat, Cobby, Sir Sheds-a-Lot.

    I'm sad for me because I don't have my little buddy any more. I'm happy for him because he's not in any pain and doesn't have to deal with the consequences of his disease anymore. So, no more tears! Let's smile -- because while I got to love and hug him every day, all of you also had a little piece of him. What a great community of support and love for my little buddy.
     
  82. Tonya and Tiki

    Tonya and Tiki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Oh Suzanne, no words. Just another thousand tears running down my face. Let's hope Cobb, Booger and Tiki all found each other en route and are now romping happily together in their healthy new bodies at the Bridge.

    Until we meet again...
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  83. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    you are an amazing woman, Suzanne. I admire you.
     
  84. Rachel & Chyna (GA)

    Rachel & Chyna (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Cobb was lucky to have such a great family to love and that loved him back so much. I'm so sorry for your loss, Suzanne.
     
  85. KeikosHuman

    KeikosHuman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    You loved your buddy and did everything possible for him. Suzanne, I wish I could hug you in person, but I send :bighug:
     
  86. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ((((Suzanne))))

    Cobb will be missed by many. I hope we can celebrate his life despite the loss. Please consider sticking around. Your help to so many of the others traveling this road has been invaluable.
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  87. Mel&Kay

    Mel&Kay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    ((Suzanne)) I'm crying for you, but yes! Remember him at his best and smile knowing he will never know pain again. <3 May your heart heal soon.

    Play hard at the bridge, Cobb!
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
  88. SabrinaFaire

    SabrinaFaire Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Suzanne, I'm not around much here any more, but I wanted to send hugs. I don't know much about Cobb but he sounds like he was a wonderful cat and I'm glad that he had a home where he was loved and that you took such joy of him. And now I'm going to try to dry my eyes and hug my own sugarkitty.
     
  89. KleineMue

    KleineMue Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    I just saw this, Suzanne, I am so so sorry to hear this. :( Sitting here crying. Sending you lots of love and many (((hugs))). Thinking about you!
    Wibke & Pedro x
     
  90. Jen&Eddie

    Jen&Eddie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    (((Suzanne))) There just aren't words that are adequate....you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. We didn't always post in Cobb's condo, but I followed his journey since we arrived in LL, and Cobb in my mind, has always been this larger-than-life one-of-a-kind kitty. I imagine him taking on greeting duties at the Bridge patiently comforting and guiding new kitties that have arrived. :rb_icon:
     
    Suzanne & Cobb(GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page