1/21 Rupert amps-206,+4-264,+9-248,pmps-454.+3-328

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lynn & Rupert, Jan 22, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lynn & Rupert

    Lynn & Rupert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Work that increase Rupert! We want to see a LOT more blue.

    Once kitties get over 5 units, if they aren't seeing green on a dose, we recommend going up by .5 unit at a time. Percentage wise, a .25U dose is just a small increase at this size of dose and is just like a fattening of the dose which is good for tweaking an already pretty good dose.

    Given Rupert's dose (over 6 units), and reluctance to see green, there's a good chance there is something causing some insuiln resistance in him. At this point, we usually suggest that people think about getting tests done for acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies). The latest research shows that one in four diabetic cats have acromegaly. Neko has both those condition, though the IAA is usually self limiting after about a year and pretty much gone for her now. The tests are blood tests where the blood is drawn by your vet, and sent to MSU (Michigan State University). There are a number of us here with experience with these conditions. Let us know if you have questions. :bighug: I had a lot of them at this point.
     
  3. Lynn & Rupert

    Lynn & Rupert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Thank you Wendy, I do think there is something else going on with Rupert. He is always hungry, even after a whole can of food, cries many hours of the day and night (for food), has a bloated belly and seems very distressed. He is not a happy kitty. :(
     
  4. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Awww Lynn, sorry Rupert is hungry all the time. It is so worrisome to hear them crying for food all the time. Hope this dose makes a difference. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Lynn & Rupert likes this.
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Poor Rupert. I hope the dosecrease helps. It's awful when they're hungry all the time. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Lynn & Rupert likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page