1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54 +11=39=12=52+12.5=68

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by tpr, Apr 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Good morning,

    I had a really long night with Ms. Ella. Her lowest number was 55 but I'm wondering if it could have been even lower as that number may have been infuenced by a food spike. Does she earn a dose reduction?

    Here is yesterday's VERY long condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69342&start=50
    Thanks to all who visited and stayed up with me giving me moral support and advice.I truly appreciate the time you shared with me:)
    Seeing as I have hardly slept, I am in no shape or form able to go to work. It's unfortunate but that is how it has to be today.
     
  2. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    I got up in the middle of the night, and was lurking, and following your post and Orange's. You all did great.
    Like Barb said, she didn't quite earn that dose reduction, yet, but I think that's a big yet. If you're going to be home to monitor today, and she's starting off at PM +11 of 129, then maybe it will happen today. Good job, last night.
    You must be exhausted.
     
  3. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    Hi Dyana,

    Thanks for lurking in the middle of the night:) That means a lot to me:)

    I don't recall Barb visiting my condo last night or reading about Ella not earning a dose reduction. I'm very sleepy though...but are you sure it was in my condo?
    I'd also like to move the shot time 15 minutes earlier as I'd rather shoot at 6:15am. Can I do that when she is low or is it too risky?

    edited: Unless Daphne's mom is Barb and I was calling her Daphne the whole night ohmygod_smile
     
  4. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    am going to do the amps in a minute..
     
  5. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    Barb is Daphne's mom :cool:
    It should be safe to shoot only 15 minutes early this morning.
     
  6. carolynandlatte

    carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    Great job last night! :mrgreen:

    Get some rest today.
     
  7. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    Thanks Carolyn! So she is now at 100! Dropped 29 points from +11. Is is still safe to shoot?
     
  8. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    I would shoot, if I was going to be home to monitor all day. It looks like she's trying hard for that reduction.

    You have 3 choices:
    Shoot the full dose now (or if you're not going to be home to monitor you could shoot a BCS dose).
    Stall and wait for a rising number and then shoot the full dose
    Skip the shot (not generally recommended)

    Here are some links to read through, when you have a chance today.
    Dealing with Low Preshots
    Don't Panic, or How To Handle Low Numbers
    STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS
     
  9. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    My vote is for shooting the full dose since you're going to be home. Give her a chance to earn that reduction. I can hang around with you :D
     
  10. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    I shot her the full dose about 10 min late...silly air bubbles were not co-operating! Thanks for volunteering to stick around Serryn:)

    So much for sleep or relaxing. Hope I can get some work done.

    Wishing everyone a happy Tuesday:)
     
  11. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    See you at +1

    You might want to add a little . to her ss - looks like you shot 125 :shock:
     
  12. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    Thanks for posting the notes Dyana! I have read and printed them. They will come in handy if there isn't anyone to confer with today.

    My apologies to Barb for calling you Daphne!
     
  13. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    Silly air bubbles. I had to empty the syringe into the sink 3 times this morning, before I got a dose measured without bubbles.

    Have a good day.

    Thank you Serryn, for helping.
     
  14. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129

    I can stay with you all night if needs be, we won't desert you when we encourage you to shoot low ;-)

    Don't forget to update your subject line with her AMPS and then when you get her +1, I'll be checking.

    I'm glad you could be home with her today and shot the full dose she is on such a good roll :mrgreen:
     
  15. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100

    +1=95 Ella is alert and aleady had a second breakfast of 1/8. I will try not to fill her up too much!
     
  16. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

    Looking at the end of her cycle last night, would the blues be considered just part of the curve? Could they have been food influenced?
    She usually dips down at around +8.
     
  17. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

    Nice on the +1, not dropping like a rock today.

    The blues look like just part of the curve. I'm not seeing a consistent +8 nadir in Ella's ss though, it actually looks like she nadirs earlier than that to me but at any rate not all kitties have a consistent nadir - Vyktor's was all over the place.

    See you at +2

    ETA: your +1 was earlier than I thought I will be back to check for +2 earlier, I think I know where we are now :smile:
     
  18. Barb & Checkers (GA)

    Barb & Checkers (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

    Wow, Tamara, what a night you had. You did a wonderful job with Miss Ella last night. :D
     
  19. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95

    Thanks Barb!

    +2 77

    She still needs to eat 2/8 of her breakfast. Should I spread it out until +3?
     
  20. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    Sounds like a good plan with the food, it might help her surf along here. She is sliding down nicely so far but that's still quite a drop since AMPS so I think we can expect some action :mrgreen:

    See you at +3
     
  21. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    Good Morning, Tamara,
    Nice job last night. Sorry that it was such an exhausting night for you. I hope Ella will earn that reduction today. Yes, you should certainly give Ella the rest of her food. As long as you feed before nadir, you can work out a schedule. Many people divide up the morning's food and feed at AMPS, +1, +2, +3. Feeding a lot of food after nadir is generally not done because the food will counteract the working of the insulin (unless, in special circumstances, you have to feed to keep your kitty from dropping too far or too fast).

    Here's my technique for avoiding air bubbles:

    1. work the plunger back and forth a few times to loosen it up.
    2. push the plunger all the way in FORCEFULLY and hold it there.
    3. still holding the plunger all the way in, invert the insulin pen or cartridge and insert the needle, ease up on the plunger, and SLOWLY draw out more insulin than you need.
    4. with the tip of the needle over a paper towel, slowly TWIST the end of the plunger until you reach your correct dose. (Twisting is easier and more accurate than pushing).
    5. give the shot.

    The key here is step #2, forcefully holding the plunger all the way in. This expels any air that might be hiding in the syringe and doesn't allow any additional air to get into the syringe.

    Best of luck today. I'll be around off and on, too.

    Ella & Rusty
     
  22. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    Nice greens last night and Ella looks on a mission already today! Glad you are there to test. I bet she earns that reduction today.
     
  23. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    How's she going with all the pokies? You could probably leave her for an hour and a half until the next test if you like.

    That +3 really isn't any different from the +2 given meter variance.
     
  24. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    +3 =81

    Could be going up due to food or meter variance. She's not hungry anymore and I don't want to force her. She's only got an 1/8 left which is fairly typical during the week but I usually make it up to her at the 'forbidden' snack time of +9. I know we aren't supposed to feed past +6 but could Ella's glucose drop due to the lack of calories? If so, and she drops below 50, then am I right in saying that we can't say she earns a reduction solely on insulin dosage.

    I've noticed that when I don't give her snack at +9 and she is low she will generally bounce and I do't want her to do that at this point!
    Thoughts?
     
  25. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    Thank you Ella for the air bubble advice. I will try it tonight!
     
  26. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    Hi guys .. no advice from me, but wow on last nights condo and maybe wow for today's! You are doing really awesome at handling this .. I'm so glad others are here on this board to help walk you through it .. Hope you guys have a great day!
     
  27. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    No need to force her to eat now. Really the only 'forbidden' time for food is after +10 (unless low numbers dictate otherwise) so that you know you are getting a BG number that has not been influenced by food at PS. Many lantus kitties (including Vyktor) are free fed so eat whenever they like throughout the rest of the cycle. If you are feeding meals rather than free feeding many people front load the meals rather than serve them after nadir because this is when the effects of the insulin aren't as strong so the food may cause a greater spike than it otherwise would.

    Ella's not going to drop below 50 solely on the basis of not having eaten for a few hours. There aren't many (if any) reasons that a newly diagnosed kitty on insulin that drops below 50 isn't going to get a decrease.
     
  28. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    Hi again,
    I don't see any reason for avoiding the +9 snack. From your observations, it seems that Ella benefits from it. As Serryn says, it's only after +10 that you should not give food (so as to get a more accurate reading at PS time).
     
  29. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77

    +4.5=73
     
  30. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

    Thanks for the posts regarding food. I fell asleep for less than an hour and then woke up with a terrible feeling of thinking I forgot to give this morning's insulin. I jumped off the couch totally confused! Geez I need more sleep!

    When shall I test next? I just did a 4.5.
     
  31. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

    It looks like Ella is surfing now. You could test again at +6 or +6.5.

    Sometimes I wonder if I have given insulin even when I'm awake!!
     
  32. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

    Based on the events of last night I would get a +5 in half an hour. Good that you got a nap in but still woke up in time - got to take those naps when you can ;-)
     
  33. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

    ok:) that will be in 20 minutes. poor kitty and all the poking:(
     
  34. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

    On further reflection you're probably okay to wait until +5.5 but I wouldn't be waiting any longer than that
     
  35. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73

    + 5.5 =73 She's surfing. I wonder whether she likes this dose.
    Serryn, it must be getting late for you. Please let me know if you have to go. I appreciate your help:)
     
  36. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    That is a very nice surf Ella cat_pet_icon
     
  37. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    thanks Dyana:) Is it the food that helps her to surf or are her carbs long gone?
     
  38. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    She is surfing beautifully but I don't trust her! We don't have a lot of data on what Ella will do in such situations as yet - except for last night when she was surfing beautifully until she decided to duck down into the 50s at +5 (which was also beautiful but something you want to catch). I would get another test in an hour to make sure she is staying on the 70s surfboard.

    She picked a good night to turn green from my perspective, it's a public holiday here tomorrow so I don't have to go to work :D I will feel more comfortable if she's still surfing along in an hour and might go to bed then numbers permitting - tee hee I haven't had to say that for a couple of weeks now
     
  39. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    Serryn,

    Hopefully, you'll get to bed real soon, here. Thank you so much for being here for Ella. Unfortunately, I am work and have to log off again soon.
     
  40. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    I feel poorly keeping you up as Vyktor is OTJ and this is your chance to finally sleep!!! It's super lucky for us that you have a holiday:)

    Thanks for your support Serryn :D
     
  41. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    just stopping in to see the excitement. what a perfect day for ella - not so great for your job, tamara, but this is a fabulous cycle. look at all these hours in great numbers!

    i want to clarify on the +9 feeding - if you find that it HELPS ella, then give her a bit. i think back when we first started talking about this there was some evidence that it was making her ps higher. if a pancreas is sputtering, sometimes their numbers will drop 3 or 4ish hours after eating. maybe you're seeing that.

    in all of these things, you want to take what you are reading and being told and see what fits and doesn't fit ella. so if something works better for her - go for it. you're there, you're seeing her responses - cats are all different and you want to learn and then tweak so she does as well as possible. it's impossible to answer some of your questions - like the last one you asked dyana about the carbs or the insulin making her surf. the question is what makes ella surf and can you repeat it?

    does that make sense?
     
  42. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    btw, serryn, i'm home and able to keep checking in with tamara if you want to go to bed! thanks for staying up with her. it's always nice to have company.

    tamara, what time is your next test?
     
  43. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    That's okay I've had two weeks to sleep while he was having his OTJ trial, I'm all caught up now :smile:
     
  44. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    Hi Julie,

    Thanks for visiting:) I don't recall if I said that feeding her at +9 had an influence on her bg. I haven't seen huge food spikes but I guess I'm not too sure. There are definitely a lot of what if's. How does one decipher what is helping their cat surf?
    All I do know, is that she is very hungry at +9 and when I give her food it doesn't seem to make her ps higher, in fact sometimes she is lower.
    I'm still trying to figure it all out. There seems like so many factors to take into account. For now, I just want to make sure she is safe when I'm not home. Today looks good so far but last night could have gotten tricky if I wasn't on top of things. I'm also concerned about dosing .25 u as I'm just eye balling it. I feel I'm being consistent but perhaps she gets 1 drop more or one drop less which could affect her numbers...right? Maybe I should be more cautious in my morning doses and give her that drop less just to make sure she's ok?

    I'm a bit sleep deprived now...sorry if I don't make sense. I hope I don't have to do this again tonight.
     
  45. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    Thanks Julie and Serryn!
    Next test is is 17 minutes @6.5!
     
  46. Pip & Rupert

    Pip & Rupert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    wow! very cool Surfing Ella!!! you go girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  47. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    +6.5=79

    I may take a nap for an hour. I need some sleep and she seems to be holding steady. Do you think it's safe?
     
  48. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +11= 129 amps 100,+1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5

    Yes, and well deserved. For the sake of data gathering I would probably get a +8 and a +10. I'm off to bed now too.

    No on the giving her a drop less in the mornings lantus likes to be consistently dosed and because of the shed effect reducing may not effect the current cycle anyway.

    ETA: I was too paranoid to leave Vyktor when he went all green on me and started heading OTJ. I ended up taking a couple of weeks holiday towards the end there. Luckily his coming OTJ also coincided with Easter so I got some extra non-working days from that too. It is difficult if you're doing it on your own and working, I don't really know what the answer is for you and Ella. Hopefully she falls into a nice regular pattern for you so you know what to expect from her, Vyktor was prone to dropping anywhere in his cycle so I wasn't able to predict his moves :roll:
     
  49. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

    Good night Serryn! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Thank you SO much for hanging around with us today:)

    Will nap until +8:)
     
  50. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

    just remembering the "old days" tamara, when you got nervous when ella hit 200. now you're like an old pro at this!
     
  51. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

    hahaha!!! I still get nervous! Ella is eating my hair which let's me know she is hungry. I'm going to check her bg in a minute...stand by...she might have dropped.
     
  52. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79

    +7 64 she's looking for food. Shall I give it to her or see if she goes lower for a reduction?
     
  53. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

    hehe - surely you know my answer to that by now! ;-)

    i would feed her the normal schedule today. there's nothing in her numbers to say to feed her extra food.
     
  54. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

    It's not extra food...it's the leftovers she didn't eat this morning. If she was isolated with food today she prob would have gobbled it up!
    She's settled a bit now but I know it's only time before she gets anxious again. I don't want her to bounce!
     
  55. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

    she doesn't look to me like she's intending to bounce. when i see more than 24 hours of greens & blues, i'm thinking she *might* be done with bouncing from low numbers. of course, i shouldn't have said that because now she'll bounce. they like to make us (or at least me) look like fools! :lol:

    just go with your gut on the food. you know her best!

    this is awesomely super.

    edited to add - when i say she might be done with bouncing from low numbers - the idea is that the liver reacts to the lower numbers because the body's gotten used to high numbers. when they get accustomed to being back in normal ranges, the liver is supposed to stop reacting. so what i'm saying is that maybe ella's liver has gotten used to this range now. which is a good thing.
     
  56. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +1=95 +2=77+3=81 +4.5=73+5.5=73+6.5=79+7=64

    43!!! Ok should I give her HC now?
     
  57. Julie & Orange

    Julie & Orange Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    I'm new at this, so I don't have the experience to help you out. I can't answer if you should or shouldn't feed but I thought I would paste in the instructions from the stickies on the board incase you don't get another reply soon. Hopefully, someone will be here to help soon! Until then, I'm here for moral support.


     
  58. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    In my opinion, Yes, give the HC now. We don't want her to go any lower.

    MJ
     
  59. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    give her 1 tsp of the gravy from a can of high carb. wait 20 minutes and retest.

    tonight's dose decreases by .25u.

    i'll keep watching for you
     
  60. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    gave her 1 tspn gravy hc mixed in with tbsp of her own food. do i re-test from when she finishes food or from last test?
     
  61. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    sorry for missing your post, btw, i thought you were testing at :10 after the hour.

    but good catch. not a crisis. we're just going to lather, rinse and repeat to keep her above 50.
     
  62. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    Thanks Julie (&Punkin) :cool:. I wasn't sure if anyone else was on top of this.

    Start counting from the last test, but keep in mind it may take 20+ min for the carbs to kick in after eating.
     
  63. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    julie there wasn't much gravy in the ff i had. i had to mix in one tsp of the hc with her wellness. should i just have given her the gravy?
     
  64. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    from giving her the food. it takes 20 minutes or so for it to get into her system.
     
  65. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    10 after the hour was the .5 ark. 40 minutes after the hour is the hour mark!
     
  66. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    i have trouble squeezing gravy out of the fancy feast too. so i just give punkin the gravy with the food - the thing is that i can ALWAYS count on punkin eating more. for a cat that has a normal appetite, you don't want them to overfill with food so that you can continue this process as long as needed without them refusing to eat.

    another option is to add 1 drop of karo syrup to your regular lowcarb food instead.
     
  67. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    glad you were there MJ!

    i'm on hold on the phone and just thought i'd refresh ella's ss and saw the 43 so clicked over to fdmb!
     
  68. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    yeah, squishing the gravy out of FF is fun...
     
  69. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    20 minutes later and now she is 45....i think it was 20 minutes since i gave her the food....not totally sure. I tested her bg @2:48 and now it's 3:20. Do i give her more food..she's looking
     
  70. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    Yes, keep giving HC and/or squished gravy until she's >50
     
  71. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    yeah. what MJ said! (good thing you were here today!)

    give her the tsp, set a timer and wait 20 minutes. retest. if she's below 50 repeat the process.

    if she's above 50, you can just recheck her in another 30 minutes.
     
  72. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    she won't eat the squished gravy. i'm going to put a drop of maple syrup in her wellness
     
  73. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    ok that will work. honey works also. i don't know if there are any problems giving those two - most people use karo (corn) syrup.
     
  74. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    I recall very well the panicked feeling of seeing a low number you haven't seen before. Donovan preferred to do it after 1 am :roll:. I checked to see who was online and decided I should jump in, since a 43 is definitely not a number to ignore!

    Funny, the gravy part is what my cats love best. Can you get it in her mouth or will that p!ss her off?

    MJ
     
  75. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    I know Julie and MJ gotcha covered but don't overdo the honey/karo. I have found it takes a good 30 mins to see numbers rise and so if you give too much and retest too soon, you could overcarb her and
    have her shoot up. So breathe...she's at a safe number. And I'd give her 30 mins after the last food/syrup to test.
     
  76. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    I put in one drop of maple syrup in her wellness 1 tsp and she gobbled it up. Check in 20- 30 minutes. Is it better to give her the hc than the syrup?
    If she carbs up will it affect her being able to get back in the greens easily?
     
  77. Daphne#5 GA

    Daphne#5 GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    Hi Tamara, its Barb and Daphne here…

    Glad to see you made it through the night. Sorry, I had to go to bed, but I knew Daphne would need me at +3. Looks like you are covered here with the more experienced now. I'll visit later to see how things go.

    Just one thing, I think you were asking about the +9 and a snack,… sometimes the +9 will kind of jump start their pancreas if its at all working. So I see that in Daphne when I do a +9 it does bring her numbers down a bit.

    Good luck, and really great job all day and night, hang in there, and congrats on the reduction! :mrgreen:
     
  78. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    She will come back down but I, personally, have found that HC/karo seems to lead to a little more in the bounce unless the kitty has snapped and decided to quit bouncing altogether. So I try to be really judicious with the HC/syrup and try to use a higher LC to steer.
     
  79. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    I have a good mc with gravy at 12% carbs. I would be so disappointed if she bounced into a high number!
     
  80. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    i see marje's point - i confess i have sometimes overcarbed in my anxiety! :lol: plop down a whole can of HC as insurance, you know - it's not the best tactic but i have been scared by the finest of acrocats stories! ;-) now i'm into the little bit, just to bring them up.
     
  81. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    but she won't eat that HC..it's flaky, shredded and she hates the texture. I can only mix gravy in with her wellness. I have a good 12% gravy I can try next if she is still low.
     
  82. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    The only issue with her staying in the 40s is you don't have as much as a safety net as you do if she's in the 50s. She's not unsafe in the 40s as long as she is going up and not coming back down. I am just more comfortable with them in the 50s for the extra room between 50 and 39. And....seems that being in the 40s can also cause a little bounciness UNLESS, again, her liver has decided to be comfortable in lower numbers.

    I have to go now and didn't mean to hijack Julie's and MJs great job here helping you out. You're doing great Tamara!!!
     
  83. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    ok thanks marrjorie! hope julie and mj come back soon:)
     
  84. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    +9=59 SO I guess I wait half an hour from here..correct?

    If she does bounce does that mean will don't get the reduction?
     
  85. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43!!! (HC?)

    reduce anyway. if she is more than 300 you *could* theoretically shoot one more dose of the 1.25 and reduce in the morning, but because this is her first earned reduction and you probably want to sleep tonight, i'd just take the reduction to 1.0 tonight.

    julie is trying to do a couple of things at home but keeps refreshing her browser to see if you've posted. :D

    sure - give it 30 minutes and retest. 59 is awesome. maybe she'll just surf through the rest of teh day.
     
  86. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

    You're awesome Julie :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Go do what ya gotta do!

    THANK YOU!!!
     
  87. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

    Just checking back to make sure Julie still has you covered. Great job!
     
  88. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

    Thanks Marjorie! :YMHUG:

    I'm going to be testing again in 15 minutes. The 5 sec counter on my contour sometimes feels like an eternity cause I just can't wait to see the numbers!
     
  89. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

    sorry, stupid PC keeps freezing up :?
    I agree with what has been said about overcarbing. You want to give enough to get Ella back into the safety zone (>50), but not so much that she soars into crazy high numbers. Unless you know your cat really really well, it's hard to say how s/he will react to [1] the low BGs plus [2] the extra carbs. And even when you do know your cat, they like to surprise you. Right Gracie?!?

    I'm here for a while so will keep checking unless my computer poops again.

    MJ
     
  90. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

    5 minutes til next poke. just checkin in! :lol:
     
  91. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59

    Thanks MJ!!!

    52 +9.5.... do I wait or give her more hc or mc?

    edited to add: i gave her ff grilled turkey in gravy. that's 18% carbs i believe
     
  92. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52

    i'd either give her a teaspoon of low carb or nothing. 52 is very safe. we want to keep her above 50 because of that margin of safety that marje referred to.

    tell ella i'm very sorry, slather her ears with neosporin with pain relief, then in 30 minutes wipe it all off and test her again. hopefully her ears will survive!
     
  93. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52

    I know poor ella:(

    Theoretically speaking....if she is this low by pmps, do I still give her the shot?
    And just being proactive here: what happens if I continue to have to give her hc all the way to shot time. Wouldn't that influence the pre shot number?
     
  94. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

    +10.5 +54

    she was drooling...i think it was b/c of low numbers.

    Am I going to be shooting this 50? I thought I was going to sleep tonight????
     
  95. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

    i didn't think you were giving her any more high carb. don't give her any if she's above 50. we're just hoping she'll surf right along without help. it would be ideal if she doesn't have any more food and will still surf.

    if she's over 50, and you're able to monitor, you can shoot the 1.0 dose.
     
  96. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52

    I don't think you'll have to continue the HC to PMPS... she's gotta reach carb saturation soon.
    As for shooting later, depending on the number, you can either skip or go the BCS route (maybe 0.5U). I see that last month when you skipped, she went through the roof, so I'd hesitate doing that again. She's going to need a little something to maintain the nice momentum she has started over the last few cycles, as well as counteract all the extra carbs she got today. But if you're a zombie and need to sleep, skipping is always an option.

    MJ
     
  97. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

    i would doubt the drooling has anything to do with her numbers. 50's aren't low. non-diabetic cats get into the 40's without trouble. maybe it's something else.
     
  98. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

    I haven't given her any food since the last time i gave the syrup. I was just curious for future reference.
     
  99. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

    ok, well the answer is that if someone's carbing a cat all the way to the next shot time, no we wouldn't have them give a shot like normal!

    having them not eat 2 hrs before each shot lets us see more clearly what's going on with the cat.
     
  100. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 1/24 Ella +8 43 +9=59 +9.5=52+10.5=54

    SO three choices were given regarding dose: bcs,no shot or 1u.
    I don't think I will skip but we'll have to see where her numbers go. If i do the bcs, is there a chance that she will relapse in high numbers?

    am i still testing every 30 minutes?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page