1/31 Eleanor AMPS 240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-283-3-263-6-244-pmps-292-3-212-6-224.172276/

Well, Eleanor had a 212 +3 yesterday PM, which made me happy after the 292 PS!
It has been 5 years today since Eleanor was diagnosed with diabetes. I did a lousy job her first year and especially this past year, but she seems happy and when she isn't having GI issues, she seems fine. She has maintained her weight over the years, beautiful coat, bright eyes.

And I remind myself how much better off she has been, ALL thanks to the folks here at FDMB, than she would have been had I followed the advice of her old vet who diagnosed her..."Give her two units of insulin twice a day, bring her back in two weeks for a test. If her glucose is below 300, we stop the insulin. We cannot give insulin if the glucose is below 300. Some people want to home test, but don't do that, the numbers will make you crazy. Diabetic cats only live about one year anyway".
Yep, I thought I would lose her in a year, and here we are 5 years later.

That being said, Eleanor feels really good today.
I think I should increase her dose next cycle.
 
Last edited:
sounds like a good day when you look back for sure Julie... hope you yourself is feeling better too.. after 5 years you definitely know her better then anyone... Eleanor sounds like a little more juice is coming sweetie work it safely now :bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad Eleanor is feeling good. She is lucky to have you to take care of her and seek out what is best for her instead of listening to that vet. How awful. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

It does look like she needs a dosecrease. I hope you're feeling better. Sending prayers.
 
she seems happy and when she isn't having GI issues, she seems fine. She has maintained her weight over the years, beautiful coat, bright eyes.
All signs you're doing a good job. I have so much respect for you, Julie. You have enough to deal with regarding your own health, and yet you've managed to keep Eleanor not just alive but comfortable for the past five years! That is just wonderful.

I agree that she could use some more juice. Eleanor, the dosecrease threat has been issued! Take heed!
 
What a beauty she is. I'm just in awe of the care you and some others here have been giving your kitties over the years. I've only been at it for 4 months and I am just now coming to terms with impactful this journey is. I'm grateful for the support you've shown us whenever you check in on us.
Hope the days ahead are full of smooth sailing for you two!
 
Wow, Julie, I can't believe it has been 5 years - I love looking at Eleanor's photo - somehow it makes me feel peaceful. You are doing a great job
I'm very shocked at the words of that first vet
Keep the faith, my friend
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top