1/5 Elmo AMPS 111..no shoot..+3 74, +6 95, +11 98, PMPS 104..no shoot

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Beth 73, Jan 5, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Haha!! Yah, ole Zen Kitteh ...he's got the world by the tail on a down hill drag, as my Gma use to say :bighug:....but in all fairness, I know he's been feeling like he's been " drug thru a knot hole backwards"( yes, yet another Gma saying ;)) so all the fussing is totally warranted...so says his momma and godmommas:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Love this!! Ozarks again?
     
  3. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Nah, my big city maternal Gma with a huge sense of dry humor...she was a hoot :)
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  4. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Couple of comments on feeding - definitely you don't want to feed just twice a day on lantus (or no insulin). Free feeding is fine if Elmo isn't a guts who will just everything that's there because it's there with the exception of removing food at least two hours prior to shot time so that you know that your PS number isn't food influenced and you can be sure it's safe to shoot. Otherwise a minimum of four meals a day. The fact that his number came down three hours after eating shows that his pancreas is doing some work :) I think from your earlier posts today that you were planning to feed at least half an hour (maybe it was an hour?) before his shot. That's another thing you don't do with lantus. With lantus the test/feed/shoot are all done at the same time (unless you're stalling like this morning) you don't want to feed too far in advance of the shot.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  5. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank u for feeding insight..it is so different from vetsulin so takes concentration to do it differently...can u explain why u don't want to feed to far in advance of shot? I don't think I fully understand that . We r use to feeding for 30 minutes then shooting so what u r saying is as they r eating u give Lantus,correct??? That might give me a few extra minutes of sleep because there is no lag time between feed and shoot like vetsulin. Thank u in advance for explaining the why behind not feeding in advance. And your Vyktor looks just like our sweet Socks ( original name, huh ??) who lived to be 21... special kitty .
     
  6. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Because food can influence the BG numbers so PS test won't be accurate.

    I got an auto feeder and divide Gizmo's daily food allowance into AMPS, +2.5, +4.5 and +6.5, PMPS, +2.5, +4.5 and +6.5. He gets 8.75-9 oz of food divided up into these times. A bit more @ PS meals. I load the auto feeder up before PS test and forget about it. Gizmo has pancreatitis flares do smaller meals are better for it too along with keeping his bg even (or that is what it is supposed to do).

    Edit - you shouldn't feed 2 hours before shot, then at shot time (a little before) you test for your PS #, feed, then shoot.
     
  7. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :p if you need to shoot:p
     
  8. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Hello all....to shoot or not to shoot...that is the question :rolleyes:..... needing input
     
  9. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  10. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I can't give dosing/shooting advise so I will bump you up.

    How long ago was +11?
     
  11. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Just now...my + 11 is also my PS ....was told to take the +11 and post it so dosing could be suggested...
     
  12. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Stall with no food. Grab another test and post #

    We are trying to see if # is going up/coming down or holding steady.
     
  13. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Got it....that's what we did this morning
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  14. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Your +11 should be your +11.....not your PS

    You should test immediately before it's shot time
     
  15. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    This is totally different than vetsulin and a habit I need to break....
     
  16. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    I am confused about feeding...my schedule is 7 and 7....so I test at 7? Then feed at 7 and shoot at 7?
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  17. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    With Lantus, it's not important that they have a "good feed" before you shoot, so you Test/Feed/Shoot all within about 5-10 minutes....as long as they're at least willing to eat, it's not important that they eat a certain amount first like it is on Vetsulin

    The benefit of getting a +11 (or 11.5) is that it gives you time to get some eyes on your post.....also, when it's actually PS time (at +12) you will know if Elmo's numbers are starting to rise at the end of the cycle
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  18. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Should I take another BG now at +11.5 ??
     
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Basically yes....we're on a 6/6 schedule....at 6 I test, if China's high enough to shoot, I feed and shoot.....all in about 3-5 minutes

    IF you get a test at PS that you're not comfortable shooting, that's when you Stall, don't feed and post for help.....as you get more comfortable, you'll learn to shoot lower and lower Pre-shots....I'll shoot China if she's 50 or above now
     
  20. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    I am stalling now...he usually eats at +11.5...
     
  21. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    No...test at 7 (or just a couple of minutes before)

    I'm thinking you may not be shooting again tonight though :D
     
  22. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    So I would test at +11 and then again at + 12 ?
     
  23. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Tell me what to do , oh Lady of Versailles...take another BG to see where he is ??
     
  24. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you're used to being up at 6am, you might want to consider changing your shot times.....it allows you to be able to get a +6 at night and only have to stay up until midnight

    (That's IF Elmo continues to need insulin at all......he's looking pretty good now!!)

    If you don't shoot tonight, test again at +3.....if the number is lower, it means his pancreas is kicking in to help out
     
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Not all the time......we like to suggest the +11's in cases like Elmo's where he's running low enough to consider that we may want to stall or not shoot at PS time

    It just gives us time to think as well as (IF you had shot this morning) see if he's coming up on his own (which would indicate the last shot was wearing off)
     
  26. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Looking like you might
    Correct, looking good and maybe no shot again tonight! Post your +12 as soon as you get it.
     
  27. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    So I am going to test again at 7 , post it here and decide about shoot....this is crazy that it is hard to wrap my head around after 5 months of vetsulin
     
  28. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    On my thread or SS or both ????
     
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Both would be good. But def here on the thread so we can see it quickly.
     
  30. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    On your thread to start with.....the number you put in the PS cell on the spreadsheet is always the number you actually shoot....so if you get a +12 of 130 and "stall", and at +12.5 you get a 150 and shoot, your PMPS is 150, not 130
     
  31. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Btw, Chris, how was ur trip to Jeff City ?:rolleyes:
     
  32. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Got it ....thanks a billion !!!
     
  33. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Making more and more sense:)
     
  34. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    It does as you do it. :)
     
  35. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    What trip to Jeff City?.....LOL

    We had ice/snow so boob smashing will have to wait
     
  36. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Boob smashing???
     
  37. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Exactly...reading about and studying over only does so much and then the doing of it makes the sense...just so opposite of what we've been doing for 5 months, almost without thinking and routine...
     
  38. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    PS stands for Preshot. So rather than think about it as a number, think about it as a preshot test. Then one hour after shot is +1, two hours is +2, etc.

    Tonight @ 7pm will be your PMPS. I test/feed/shoot, in that order, within about 10-15 minutes of each other.
     
  39. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh yeah and yippee !!! We gave Linda, Kris and Mogs big laughs on yesterday's thread, talking about ur impending boogie :):D
     
  40. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    repeat of my mammogram and ultrasound that wasn't totally normal 6 months ago
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  41. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Again, making more sense...
     
  42. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Hiss and boo...will be praying for good report when u go !!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  43. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    OHHHHHHH. I haven't had one is so long , guess that is why I didn;t get it. I do thermography instead no smashing!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  44. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +12...104
     
  45. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Shoot or skip , oh Lantus Ladies ???
     
  46. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    He is ready to chew my leg off...sharking the kitchen looking for FOOD :woot:
     
  47. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    You could give it another 30 and stall without feeding or you could skip. Your call. He is looking so good!
     
  48. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I think there's a pretty good argument to be made over skipping again tonight......test again at +3 and see if his pancreas is able to bring him down on it's own again
     
    Critter Mom and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  49. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Well, then why don't you skip and feed and get another +3 to see again what happens after eating.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  50. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Great minds think alike.
     
  51. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Amen and Hallelujah :woot:...skip and test at +3.... Elmo says "thank you , thank you !!!"
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  52. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Just think Beth, all you had to do was buy some Lantus and the boy goes OTJ! upload_2017-1-5_20-1-50.png
     
    Critter Mom and Ozzy Pawzbourne like this.
  53. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Adding this too :

    upload_2017-1-5_20-2-32.png
     
    Critter Mom and Ozzy Pawzbourne like this.
  54. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    He is just looking so good :) Maybe your vet was right (anti-jinx) about waiting.
    Can you update your speadsheet? I only see through +3 today. Thanks.
     
  55. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
  56. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Question to you all...it is killing me to withhold some of his food for a snack later... how do u know how much food they need...maybe I'm no feeding enuf ...
     
  57. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Elmo never was a big eater...but then again the last 3 years has been fed that garbage Science Diet yd for thyroid...his appetite improves daily and I'm wondering if I need to feed him more...last vet visit he was 9.4...in all the hub bub here at home I've not weighed him on the baby/pet scale I recently purchased....
     
  58. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I divide up the calories Bubba needs a day into 7 even sized meals through out the day. I am home so it is doable for me. If I need to go out I use my auto feeder and have it set for his snack times.

    The formula I use for determining calories is 13 calories X pounds + 70. So a 10 lb cat would be 130 + 70=200 calories a day. Plus or minus a bit depending on activity level and age.
     
  59. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    And these calories are posted on the can ? Dr Lisa's ?
     
  60. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Most of them are on the food chart
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  61. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Beth,
    Just popping back in to say hi and to see how you went last night after I left.:)
    Looks like Elmo is wanting to skip the shot again tonight! He is doing so well! Great to see!
    Bron
     
  62. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Bron, you mean this morning ???? LOL
     
  63. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    OK I'm confused!, aren't you at PMPS now?
    It is 1.45 pm Friday here so I thought it was Thursday evening there!
    :eek::arghh::blackeye::bookworm::confused::oops::stop: I'm definitely confused!
     
  64. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yes, it is nighttime Thursday night here but you wrote :
    You were having nighttime yesterday when you were posting here early this morning.
     
  65. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Oh I see what I wrote....yes....just one of the problems living in a global village:joyful:
    I should have written 'how you went this morning after I went to sleep last night!';)
     
    Beth 73 and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  66. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Crazy me, Bron ...I totally knew what you were meaning ! A reflection of my day's events perhaps !! Again , I am fascinated that as you spoke with me this morning that I was getting up as you were going to sleep:)....also, thank u for all ur help this AM....reassured me greatly cos I was NOT expecting the day to start with 111 and a no shoot :rolleyes:
     
  67. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Happy to help! I know how confusing it is in the beginning especially when our kitty does something unexpected!
    I think Elmo is looking great! Fantastic!
     
  68. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Beth, read through Elmo's progress today...what an exciting day! He is doing so well! I bet he is feeling so wonderful being in all those healthy greens. Will be watching you guys and thinking of you!!!
     
  69. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    You and Ozzy are next...taking each day one at a time ...:bighug::):cat:
     
  70. Ozzy Pawzbourne

    Ozzy Pawzbourne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Thanks. We really hope so.

    Been researching chicken pox symptoms. I have had a sore throat all day. Everyone in my family was sick last week, too. Sore throat is an early sign of CP. What are the chances it is just a cold coming on and not CP even though I was exposed. Starting to get worried here but also trying not to overact. This is messed up!
     
  71. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Elmo is looking pretty great. He just may be the easiest cat we've ever helped transition to Lantus, lol.
     
    Dyana and Gill & George like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page