1/8 Gordy, AMPS 231/247; PMPS 379

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by CassAndGordy(GA), Jan 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Yesterday's Condo

    Gordy had a weird day yesterday... furshot in AM and early shot in PM (friend had to do it due to storm...)

    Now he is at 247! (Which is good!)

    ETA I gave him the normal 1.5U. Has anyone ever experienced skipping a shot giving lower BG? This is the second time I have directly noticed it with him..
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2017
  2. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I am home all day for monitoring. I was actually going to do the curve today.
     
  3. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Shooting early by an hour can act as a slight dosecrease, some cats are more sensitive to this than others, perhaps that's responsible for the lower PS.

    Have you shot at your regular time today?
     
  4. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Interesting... I did, I gave him the normal dose at 6:15am (est).

    I am going back to sleep for a bit while the insulin starts it thing. I'll check on him in an hour or so.
     
  5. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    In the same way that shooting early can act as a dosecrease, shooting late, like this morning (it's 13hrs since his last shot) can be like a slight reduction on the following cycle.

    Good luck with curve day.
     
  6. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    His +2 was 280.

    I think he will have a good cycle.

    (More sleep for me... this poor bean has like, 4 hours.)
     
  7. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    +4 374

    Odd. He hadnt eaten anything since the +2, but I guess I should expect odd.
     
  8. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    Gordy had a pretty straight line today, that is after the +4. I cannot say I am happy with it.

    I asked my friend when she administered the shot and she said his back thigh, like I had originally shown her. I used to have longer needles and the thigh and the scruff were the only places I could shoot without Gord freaking out. Since getting the shorter ones, I have been doing them in his abodomen (as I saw on a diagram here). I wonder if there is a correlation? Maybe he isnt absorbing it well where I was shooting?

    Either way, i still think he is due for the dose increase tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2017
  9. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    It does look like he is due for a dosecrease.

    Are you still using the insulin from the compounding pharmacy??
    Or have you switched to the one you were going to purchase from Canada?
     
  10. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I am still using the compounding one, but I sent my prescription to Marks yesterday. They are 3 hours behind me, so I hope I hear from them today.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  11. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    When you eventually make the switch, just do it when you are able to watch him closely.
    It's probably me just being over cautious, but as far as I understand there have been issues in the past with compounded lantus, so you may see a significant difference when you come to make the switch.

    At the moment though I think you would be right to take the dose up by 0.25

    And just one other reminder keep checking for ketones whilst his numbers are running high.
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  12. CassAndGordy(GA)

    CassAndGordy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    I didn't think of that when switching.... I'm hoping there is no difference when I switch (otherwise I paid a lot for crap!) but I'll definitely monitor him closer when I do. :)

    I've been trying to get the ketones, but he has been peeing less frequently (since pees a lot at once, but less times... so that's improvement I guess) and is playing cloy with me. I'll see if I can get him tonight.

    I did the 1.75 this morning, so I'm definitely curious how it'll effect him.
     
  13. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Hopefully they're will be no difference, but just thought you should have the heads up.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page