Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Very Active Member
10/11 Recap:
.75 units bid
AMPS: 279
AM+3.25: 226
AM+5: 251
PMPS: 315
PM+3.25: 222
PM+6.75: 208
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-315-3-25-222-6-75-208.145806/#post-1514168
Yesterday, at Tricia's House of Chaos
I know, I know. Another middle of the night condo. Hey, at least I'm posting! Hopefully, this is the last time we'll be this late (at least for a while
).
Today was Cinco's last day of radiation therapy (YAY!). The radiation oncologist said that they were very happy with the way that it had gone. There is a little bit of dry skin at the radiation site, but it will probably be a week or two before we see if there will be any real irritation. That's also when his hair will fall out. Too bad, as it is just growing in nicely after being shaved for surgery.
He will probably be in the cone for a while, since they won't want him pawing at his face. He's pretty much accustomed to it. I just have to make sure he can't reach his face, and also need to watch his hind legs, where they placed the catheter the last two times - I saw him grooming one of them today. He's pretty flexible for an old cat with arthritis and neuropathy.
He goes back to see the medical oncologist in three weeks and we'll discuss whether or not he needs chemo (my wallet and my car are pleading "NO!!!!").
The red blood cell issue concerned Heinz Bodies. Interestingly enough, the three biggest risk factors for this problem are Diabetes (check), Hyperthyroidism (check) and Lymphoma (and check). We hit the trifecta! He has no symptoms, so they will be checking in three weeks to see if his numbers have improved. Not sure what they'll do if they haven't.
I was very happy to see some blue today. It obviously didn't hurt him to get his AM shot an hour early. We have been debating about whether or not to increase his dose to 1.0 now that radiation is over with. Or should we give it a few days and see if the numbers come down on their own now that the trauma is removed? Any thoughts would be welcome.
Minka had another bad appy day. A little cat food, a little baby food in the morning, then same song this evening. I did not syringe anything, but I will tomorrow if she's still like this. (insert "tearing my hair out" emoji here)
Sasha had her follow up with the ophthalmologist today. As usually, she charmed the heck out of everyone. The ulcer in her eye is improved, but still there. The OV said that her dry eyes are the reason it's not healing faster. He gave me a serum to use in place of the lubricating drops. It's made from blood from donor cats! He also said he's 99% sure she has active Herpes, and that he and the faculty vet he reports to are working on a research project regarding the link between Herpes and dry eyes in older cats. Apparently there isn't much info on it, even though it seems to be pretty common, but they are convinced there is a link. Her right eye is only producing about 50% of normal tears and the left is producing none at all. He asked me, very delicately, if I would consider donating her eyes and surrounding tissue after she crosses the bridge, as she is exactly the kind of case they want to look at. I appreciated his consideration and assured him that Sasha would be happy to help other kitties when she no longer needs her eyes. Too bad they couldn't have Cinco's!
Harvey's hoover was on maximum suction today, especially tonight. Makes me very happy.
But I'm tired of refilling his dish! I just wish Minka would take a cue from him. Wednesday is his IM appointment, and I'm nervous about it. I want to find out how his kidney values are, and if there is a way to check the progress of the lymphoma. He is still drinking a lot of water and peeing a lot. I will probably ask for another fructosamine test, too. 
Tomorrow I get to be the one going to the vet - I mean dentist!
Semi-annual check up. Paws crossed there are no surprises!
I hope to be able to catch up on how everyone is doing over the next couple of days. Sorry I haven't been around. But now that I don't have to do the two 90 minute round trips every day, I should be able to visit more.
Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans, especially Marilyn & Polly, Deborah & Shasta, Carla & her civvie Baby, Wendy & civvie Theo, and Marje & Gracie.
Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF and DH, Marje's DM, Chris' DM, Molly's DM, and Elise's DM.
.75 units bid
AMPS: 279
AM+3.25: 226
AM+5: 251
PMPS: 315
PM+3.25: 222
PM+6.75: 208
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-315-3-25-222-6-75-208.145806/#post-1514168
Yesterday, at Tricia's House of Chaos
I know, I know. Another middle of the night condo. Hey, at least I'm posting! Hopefully, this is the last time we'll be this late (at least for a while

Today was Cinco's last day of radiation therapy (YAY!). The radiation oncologist said that they were very happy with the way that it had gone. There is a little bit of dry skin at the radiation site, but it will probably be a week or two before we see if there will be any real irritation. That's also when his hair will fall out. Too bad, as it is just growing in nicely after being shaved for surgery.


The red blood cell issue concerned Heinz Bodies. Interestingly enough, the three biggest risk factors for this problem are Diabetes (check), Hyperthyroidism (check) and Lymphoma (and check). We hit the trifecta! He has no symptoms, so they will be checking in three weeks to see if his numbers have improved. Not sure what they'll do if they haven't.
I was very happy to see some blue today. It obviously didn't hurt him to get his AM shot an hour early. We have been debating about whether or not to increase his dose to 1.0 now that radiation is over with. Or should we give it a few days and see if the numbers come down on their own now that the trauma is removed? Any thoughts would be welcome.
Minka had another bad appy day. A little cat food, a little baby food in the morning, then same song this evening. I did not syringe anything, but I will tomorrow if she's still like this. (insert "tearing my hair out" emoji here)
Sasha had her follow up with the ophthalmologist today. As usually, she charmed the heck out of everyone. The ulcer in her eye is improved, but still there. The OV said that her dry eyes are the reason it's not healing faster. He gave me a serum to use in place of the lubricating drops. It's made from blood from donor cats! He also said he's 99% sure she has active Herpes, and that he and the faculty vet he reports to are working on a research project regarding the link between Herpes and dry eyes in older cats. Apparently there isn't much info on it, even though it seems to be pretty common, but they are convinced there is a link. Her right eye is only producing about 50% of normal tears and the left is producing none at all. He asked me, very delicately, if I would consider donating her eyes and surrounding tissue after she crosses the bridge, as she is exactly the kind of case they want to look at. I appreciated his consideration and assured him that Sasha would be happy to help other kitties when she no longer needs her eyes. Too bad they couldn't have Cinco's!
Harvey's hoover was on maximum suction today, especially tonight. Makes me very happy.


Tomorrow I get to be the one going to the vet - I mean dentist!

I hope to be able to catch up on how everyone is doing over the next couple of days. Sorry I haven't been around. But now that I don't have to do the two 90 minute round trips every day, I should be able to visit more.
Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans, especially Marilyn & Polly, Deborah & Shasta, Carla & her civvie Baby, Wendy & civvie Theo, and Marje & Gracie.
