10/15 China AMPS 85,+2.5 69,+4 56,+6 64,+11 200,PMPS 223,+2.5 175,+4 117,+7 148 Vet visit!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris/China (GA)/Garfield

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

10/14 AMPS 129,+3 188,+6 130,+9 148,PMPS 144,+3 90,+5 52,+7 81

OK Miss China...that's it...I'm changing the password on the computer so you can't be sneaking on and reading your condos!!

Once again, it's vet visit day and unless she comes up some, I'm not really sure about putting her in the car for an hour trip up and back!

I don't want to feed her too much too soon before leaving so she doesn't end up barfing all the way, but with her history of responding to riding in the car by dropping her BG, I'm not real comfortable with her being quite so low either

I went ahead and gave her a little 15% hoping to prop her up without having to feed her a whole lot, so we'll see how it goes. Her appointment isn't until 3pm so there's a lot of time between now and then (it's just coming up on 9am here)

Wish us luck!!
 
China, come on up for Mama so she can concentrate on driving and rest a little easier.

We are thinking "no-barf" thoughts for you.
 
Oh China, come on up! She is SO smart- just wants to get out of that vet visit- Lots of time to come up! Trusting she will and all goes well!
Fingers crossed for you!
 
She should be good to go by 2:00 I would think?? I'm lucky my vet is just a 10 minute trip unless during rush hour when it can take 45-60. Vetty vines.
 
Yo Deputy China,
I've got the lagoon covered. You can go to your vetty appointment without worry. Just get your numbers up a little. The deep end doesn't need you patroling tonight.

Rusty

Good luck today, Chris,
Ella
 
Well we actually made it to the vet this time!!

She said China's lungs don't sound too bad, but wants to run some bloodwork and check the usual things like BUN and creatinine, BG etc...as well as eosinophils before deciding what to do next. She thinks the eosinophils test will tell us where we need to go next...whether x-rays, starting on inhaled steroids or tweeking with her antihistamines

She doesn't want to start her on steroids because of the diabetes (DUH) but said using the inhaled meds might be a good idea..but to wait until she gets the test results back (hopefully tomorrow sometime)

Then I showed her China's spreadsheet and explained it to her (what all the colors mean) and she said "well, you might want to consider dropping her back to 1U since she keeps dropping under 80" (Nod and smile) but then she added "it can depend on what type of meter you're using"...I said yes, we use a human meter so those 50-120 numbers would be more like 70-150 on the AlphaTrak and she seemed OK with it....but I think she still thinks I should drop her back to 1U....Hey Doc!! She hasn't been on 1U since the beginning part of the year and her numbers are good...so WHY would I want to do that?? (Nod and smile and bite my tongue)

She peed all over her carrier on the way (I tried to tell her she needed to go before we got in the car!) and still has an upset tummy (didn't eat half of what she usually eats at PMPS time) but I'm hoping as she settles back down, she'll feel better and will eat a little more

Speaking of eating a little more...Little Miss China is a LOT TOO FLUFFY so she needs to go on a diet (yes...the "D" word)....she tipped the scales at a whopping 17.7lbs!!

Not at all surprised by the 200's tonight....she's had a tough afternoon
 
China you gave Max best in the weight department. It's so hard with trying to control the BG with food. I think I read that insulin can cause weight gain unless I was dreaming.

Sorry about the pee in the carrier. Tiffany used to pee on me when I grabbed her to put her in her carrier so often that I would put on my pants until she was in it. Then I'd wash and finish getting dressed. I think peeing in the car us worse though.
 
So glad you made it to the vet- and that things tentatively looked good! Hope you get some clear answers soon! And poor China with the diet- but great that she has gained weight- I know she was very thin before diagnosis :)

Trouble and Chela have both peed in the carrier too- Its Chela's new favourite thing (he does it right when he gets in)- so now we fermone and rescue remedy him up and put him in the carrier outside.

Have a great evening!
Asrael
 
Yay for making it to the vet. Nice try, China, but Mama is on to your tricks! Bummer about the pee. I always set Cinco in the lb before we leave and tell him to pee. Sometimes he does! I also have a litter box in my car, on the floor in the back seat, when I'm transporting kitties. I set them in it when we get to the car, either coming from the house or the vet. Cinco is allowed the run of the back seat (I know, not the safest way for him to travel, but it keeps him calmer) and he will not only use the lb, but he'll lay in it! :rolleyes: What is it with kitties - when they are in stressful situations, like being boarded, they like to lay in the lb!? Is the smell comforting somehow????

I'm glad she didn't think the lungs were too bad. Sending good vines for all the results.

I just love it when you tell a vet about how you're managing FD, including how long you've been doing it, and they see how good the cat looks, and then they try to tell you to change the dose! :rolleyes: I think they just want to be in charge.
 
Well she's coming down nicely tonight and I'm not stressing out the least little bit about it (which is unusual for me no matter what I say..LOL) But I really mean it tonight!

I'll let her have the run of the car when we go to Branson @Tricia & Cinco but then I'll have DM with me to at least keep her out of trouble....When we go to the vet, it's an hour drive on a horrible little 2 lane road with lots of curves and hills and no shoulder at all, so the last thing I need is a cat trying to crawl under the brake pedal or climbing up my leg! I'll just put her harness on, put a litterbox on the floor of the back, a blanket over the back seat (gotta protect DM's car seats!) and off we'll go!....Oh yeah...and the luggage goes in the trunk...except for all the stuff that has to go with China "just in case". Last year we packed more stuff for the cat than we did for ourselves!

I'll probably get one more test in later on and then just see where we start out at in the morning....and yeah..I'm going to really think about lowering her dose to 1U
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
...NOT
 
We let Snick roam free in the car, too. She is so much more calm. We have the harness, lb on the floor, etc. I've also had many pee covered times with her when we used to put her in the carrier.
I've had to bite my tongue at the vet and just say "sure thing"... Lol.
 
Glad China let you get her appointment out of the way today, even if you did get a payback pee lol. Vyktor is also free in the car and generally sits on the drivers lap - whoever that may be. He's been known to pee in my lap on the return visit from the vet - I guess at least it's better than on the way there so I don't have to go in with wet pants!

Looks like she's recovering nicely from all the excitement too :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top