? 10/18 Biscuit 299 AMPS, +3 185 +4 116 +5.5 74

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Wondering with Biscuits recent reduction, how to watch for a failed reduction. Thank you @carfurby for reminding me that its the Nadir not the higher numbers. I then went back and reread the sticky on TR and dosing, but I'm still not sure on the details. How long does one wait to make sure its not a bounce from low numbers? What does the Nadir have to stay under to be considered a "successful" reduction?

Thanks for all the help on this forum btw. Last time many years ago when Biscuit had his first bought of diabetes we knew nothing. We home tested, but only once or twice a day, did a curve once a month, and had to take poor Biscuit in twice for Hypo, once with seizures because of what we didn't know. I am SOOO grateful for the information this time around and being able to keep my fur baby safe and as healthy as can be.
 
If you're following TR and he doesn't hit the greens you should hold for 6 cycles (3 days)...however if the numbers are way higher than you're used to seeing, like no blues at all...only yellows and possibly some pinks, you can call it a failed reduction before the 6th cycle...since every cat is different and people have different circumstances those are just the guidelines...you can post your numbers to your SS and ask every day if everyone thinks you should increase or not...until you get comfortable making the decision on your own.

Yes, I agree with you..this forum is a wealth of information...so many kitties lives have been saved with the help of the people here. Vets are so cut and dried; go home, give this...come back...and often are the cause of so many kitty hypos! Not enough infomation, no training on home testing...I could go on...but I'll get down off my soap box now. I think you know already what a difference it makes to participate here rather than depending on your vet to do this lifesaving work...

Hope you have a wonderful day Shannon! Keep up the good work :)
 
It's nice to see that green today. It is hard sometimes to tell the difference between bouncing and a failed reduction. You just have to try and see from the SS how quickly he clears bounces. You can always post and ask if it is a failed reduction.
 
Back
Top