? 10/20 Tiny Sole: +5: 191, +10: 72, +11.5: 91, PMPS: 113, NS, +2: 150, +3: 128, +5: 123

Joanne&TinySole

Very Active Member
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-19-tiny-sole-pmps-161-2-245-4-151-5-148.205098/

Hey, everyone.
Midnight Tiny's BG read 148, so I gave her a snack and tucked her in.
I never heard the 3:30 AM alarm, but she must have fared steadily ok, because at the AMPS she was at 197.
So, today I get a break, which is ok with me.

I got up at 7 AM, did all cat duties and went back to sleep, woke, tested, slept, woke, tested and here I am, a little late and still tired, but on duty!

Tiny Sole is going to have a good and steady day today, and so will the house!

In appreciation of everyone's eyes on us, as always.

XOXO, Joanne
 
I gave her a snack, realized I probably should have stalled to see if she would rise on her own, and she promptly threw up!

Great...not.

I will check her again in 20 min.
 
Thanks for checking in @Chris & China.
Yes, I'm following SLGS.

I had a quiet day until that +10.
I realized after the fact, that I should've waited to give her a snack - which she promptly vomited up - to see if she would've come up on her own, but I blew it.

I'll do the PMPS at 7:30 instead of 7:15 and shoot by 7:40 PM. If she's low again, I'll do even less than the reduced dose then give her the reduced dose in the AM. Am I making sense?

I think that's what I've learned to do...
 
Don't forget to edit your subject line so you'll get someone's attention

If she continues to get PS's too low to shoot, we may need to reduce her further, but hopefully the new lower dose will work

As long as you have supplies (plenty of strips and some high carb food), there's really hardly ever a reason you can't shoot....as long as you can test as long as you might need to.

Since you're doing SLGS, skipping is probably the best bet, but if you gave a smaller dose, just get a +1 and +2 so you can intervene early if you need to
 
Last edited:
@Chris & China I opted to not dose her tonight. I will give her a reduced dose of 3 U once I have her AMPS tomorrow. She's at 150 right now and surely will rise, but I just didn't feel comfortable dosing, even though the shoot low to stay low kept running through my mind.

Ugh.
 
Last edited:
1.5 hours later after the PMPS, I thought she'd go up because she did not have a PM Lantus shot, but nope.

So, NS this PM, and at the +3.5 she's dipped from 150 (at +2 NS) to 128.
Now, I know this is higher than the PMPS so logic says she should be fine throughout the night, but I don't trust her.

I'll be up watching her for a while and will get a +4.5 at 11:30 PM tonight before I go to sleep.

Thank you @Chris & China for checking on us.

XOXO, J.
 
The routine for feeding is just after 7:15 am/pm.
AMPS + PMPS tests come prior to feeding, then, feed, then shoot at 7:30 am/pm.
It's clockwork and alarms are set to keep us on schedule.

There is a small bowl of Young Again Zero Mature that is out for grazing, but it is barely grazed on.

Canned food: Fancy Feast chicken and liver pate, and the grilled pate mostly, with some Wellness Signature Selects canned food for snacks during the day and at bedtime.

I just read a post about taking away food at the +10 am/pm mark so it won't influence BGs. Makes sense and I will follow that moving forward.

Was that the info you were looking for @Christie & Maverick ?
 
Me too. I'm hoping the NS tonight doesn't foul things up too much.

So, tell me how I might improve feeding to help Sole more?
What you are doing seems to be working, this is likely an ECID thing :D. I've been thinking about changing my feeding schedule with Mav, so I'm always looking to see what appears to work well with others ;)

Don't worry about the NS, tomorrow's another day :bighug:
 
Back
Top