? 10/20 Tiny Sole: +5: 191, +10: 72, +11.5: 91, PMPS: 113, NS, +2: 150, +3: 128, +5: 123

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Joanne&TinySole, Oct 20, 2018.

  1. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-19-tiny-sole-pmps-161-2-245-4-151-5-148.205098/

    Hey, everyone.
    Midnight Tiny's BG read 148, so I gave her a snack and tucked her in.
    I never heard the 3:30 AM alarm, but she must have fared steadily ok, because at the AMPS she was at 197.
    So, today I get a break, which is ok with me.

    I got up at 7 AM, did all cat duties and went back to sleep, woke, tested, slept, woke, tested and here I am, a little late and still tired, but on duty!

    Tiny Sole is going to have a good and steady day today, and so will the house!

    In appreciation of everyone's eyes on us, as always.

    XOXO, Joanne
     
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Isn't it great to get some BTB time??

    Looks like a nice safe day today for Tiny Sole
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  3. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    And a great day for mommas to catch up on laundry and naps!
    Grateful for the little things...
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  4. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    +10: 72!

    Am I correct to surmise that Tiny Sole just earned another dose reduction?
     
  5. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    I gave her a snack, realized I probably should have stalled to see if she would rise on her own, and she promptly threw up!

    Great...not.

    I will check her again in 20 min.
     
  6. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If you're doing SLGS, yes
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  7. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Thanks for checking in @Chris & China.
    Yes, I'm following SLGS.

    I had a quiet day until that +10.
    I realized after the fact, that I should've waited to give her a snack - which she promptly vomited up - to see if she would've come up on her own, but I blew it.

    I'll do the PMPS at 7:30 instead of 7:15 and shoot by 7:40 PM. If she's low again, I'll do even less than the reduced dose then give her the reduced dose in the AM. Am I making sense?

    I think that's what I've learned to do...
     
  8. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Let's see where she's at at PMPS time

    If she's above 150, I'd go ahead with the new dose....if less than 150, stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  9. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    PMPS: 92
    I will stall and retest
     
  10. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    20 min later: 113
     
  11. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    I fee that she's going to stay low, so I'm either going to give her 1/2 dose (1 U), or no dose.
     
  12. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Don't forget to edit your subject line so you'll get someone's attention

    If she continues to get PS's too low to shoot, we may need to reduce her further, but hopefully the new lower dose will work

    As long as you have supplies (plenty of strips and some high carb food), there's really hardly ever a reason you can't shoot....as long as you can test as long as you might need to.

    Since you're doing SLGS, skipping is probably the best bet, but if you gave a smaller dose, just get a +1 and +2 so you can intervene early if you need to
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2018
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  13. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    @Chris & China I opted to not dose her tonight. I will give her a reduced dose of 3 U once I have her AMPS tomorrow. She's at 150 right now and surely will rise, but I just didn't feel comfortable dosing, even though the shoot low to stay low kept running through my mind.

    Ugh.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2018
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  14. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    1.5 hours later after the PMPS, I thought she'd go up because she did not have a PM Lantus shot, but nope.

    So, NS this PM, and at the +3.5 she's dipped from 150 (at +2 NS) to 128.
    Now, I know this is higher than the PMPS so logic says she should be fine throughout the night, but I don't trust her.

    I'll be up watching her for a while and will get a +4.5 at 11:30 PM tonight before I go to sleep.

    Thank you @Chris & China for checking on us.

    XOXO, J.
     
  15. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Any data is good data, even with a no shot, you may have some of the depot working, I think a quick before bed test is a good idea. Just curious, what is your usual feeding schedule?
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  16. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    The routine for feeding is just after 7:15 am/pm.
    AMPS + PMPS tests come prior to feeding, then, feed, then shoot at 7:30 am/pm.
    It's clockwork and alarms are set to keep us on schedule.

    There is a small bowl of Young Again Zero Mature that is out for grazing, but it is barely grazed on.

    Canned food: Fancy Feast chicken and liver pate, and the grilled pate mostly, with some Wellness Signature Selects canned food for snacks during the day and at bedtime.

    I just read a post about taking away food at the +10 am/pm mark so it won't influence BGs. Makes sense and I will follow that moving forward.

    Was that the info you were looking for @Christie & Maverick ?
     
  17. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    So no mid-cycle feeding other than YA? I'm just thinking that might explain the lower numbers later in cycles. The last few days for Sole have been very good, hope it continues :D
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  18. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Me too. I'm hoping the NS tonight doesn't foul things up too much.

    So, tell me how I might improve feeding to help Sole more?
     
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    That's fine....all data is good data...but if you didn't give insulin, there's no chance of a hypo, so relax, have a drink, eat some chocolate and get some sleep!!
     
  20. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    That's coming! That 72 came from out of the blue (pun intended), so I feel like there's no telling what this kid will do. She's putting me through my paces!
     
  21. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah but she got insulin this morning....since she didn't get any tonight, there's no chance of her dropping dangerously low
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  22. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    What you are doing seems to be working, this is likely an ECID thing :D. I've been thinking about changing my feeding schedule with Mav, so I'm always looking to see what appears to work well with others ;)

    Don't worry about the NS, tomorrow's another day :bighug:
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  23. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Thanks for the reassurance, @Chris & China and @Christie & Maverick

    I gave her a snack have food at the ready for another snack later and will set an alarm for what would be a +8, 9 or 10.

    I hope you have a restful and easy evening.
    XOXO, J.
     

Share This Page