10/21 Tiny Sole post AMPS +10: 123, +11.5: 102, PMPS: 112, +2: 168, +3: 147

Joanne&TinySole

Very Active Member
Condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...113-ns-2-150-3-128-5-123.205154/#post-2274346

So, obviously I knew Tiny would have a higher day today. I was too scared to shoot last night. I was more afraid of not being able to wake myself up to test than anything; I missed an alarm a couple of times recently.

So, we'll get those numbers down again and this momma will screw her courage to the sticking post and forge forward.

Thank you for understanding.
 
Condo:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...113-ns-2-150-3-128-5-123.205154/#post-2274346

So, obviously I knew Tiny would have a higher day today. I was too scared to shoot last night. I was more afraid of not being able to wake myself up to test than anything; I missed an alarm a couple of times recently.

So, we'll get those numbers down again and this momma will screw her courage to the sticking post and forge forward.

Thank you for understanding.

Try to think of it like this: You're her lifeline. I know it's scary. I was terrified the first time Luci hit a green number:nailbiting::nailbiting: I freaked out and tested her until I was about to drop...:facepalm:

One thing to make sure you do is read the Stickie: Shooting and Handling Low Numbers
Get your hypo kit ready by having a good supply (at all times) of High Carb, Medium Carb foods on hand; have your cans marked with what each percentage of carb is (I write on the bottom of mine with a Sharpie) - for when you panic...easier to see it when you need to know rather than to have to look it up....pretty much everything is covered in that stickie... :)

Remember being in lower numbers is what all this is about - try to relax and think of it as your destination - and once you get there how you're going to handle it...:nailbiting::nailbiting:

You're doing a great job! Keep testing...you're helping her :bighug::bighug:
 
PMPS: 102.
How long do I stall?
If I stall 23-30 min, then her shot will be between 7:45 and 8 PM
Are you able to test tonight?
Do you have your HC/MC foods ready?
Let's see if some of the experts will respond. My vote would be to shoot (the low number) to stay low. Strive for consistency with Lantus. I know it's scary the first time or two.
 
I have honey to put in the the LC food.
I don't know if I have any MC food.
I meant to go to the store today to get some, but didn't make it.

She is on 3 U after earning her second dose reduction.
I've shot when she was 116 or 114 before.

I can test tonight.
 
Shooting low is based on your ability to monitor.

Yes; I took a deep breath and gave her 3 U at 7:40 PM, not too far off from her normal 7:30 PM shot.

I stalled 20 min, she came up from 102 to 112. I fed her and promptly gave her 3 U.

I suspect it'll be an active night, or maybe she'll surf in the blues.
My guess though, she'll be dipping her toes in the lagoon.
I hope for a slow and steady skinny dip for her.
 
I can't remember who told me that back to back dose reductions don't work too well...they can develop an insulin resistance, I think? But, Tiny dipped below 90 (we are doing SLGS) on 10/18 earned a .25 dose reduction from 3.50 TO 3.25, and then dipped below 90 again on 10/20, two days later, so I reduced her dose from 3.25 U to 3 U.

Can someone speak to me about that being correct judgment on my part?
 
Can someone speak to me about that being correct judgment on my part?

I think you did the right thing....usually when we talk about "back to back" reductions, there's only one or two cycles between "events". You had 4 cycles between them.

Better to be safe than sorry, right?

If she fails this reduction, we just go back up....no harm done
 
I think it was me that said that back to back reductions tend to fail. If you keep in mind that it takes up to 4 cycles for a depot to drain, that will help you to decide if another reduction is a good idea. When you would abandon that idea is when you fight really hard with lots of HC food to keep her up then you give a another reduction no matter how soon after the other one was given. Make sense? If ever in doubt just ask.

As far as insulin resistance, that is another issue all together. That is when a kitty stays in higher numbers too long then insulin resistance can occur making it harder to break through to some lower numbers.
 
Thanks. @Bobbie And Bubba
Makes sense.
So much to learn.

Yesterday I was imagining all the repetition of info you experienced members offer us newbies. Such patience...

As you can see, I crossed my thoughts!
No worries, I have been there, done that and, got the T-shirt. :) It is a lot to learn and I still learn something every day. You are doing great!
 
Last edited:
got the T-shirt

Wait, what?!!! There's a T-shirt?!!!! I want one!
Great fund-raiser idea, btw...

OK, 9:30 PM +2: 168.
This kitty cat has me running in circles!
Does this mean I "might" be able to sleep a little tonight?

I can give her a LC snack in 30 min (10 PM), set my alarm for a - what would you suggest? - a +5 or +6, or is that too much sleep for me where she might not be safe and maybe I should get a +3 or +4 too? My ears are open to suggestions.

Best part of tonight...no BCS! I want to get this kid's BGs down and hopefully get her OTJ...oh, please; oh please!
 
My guess though, she'll be dipping her toes in the lagoon.
I hope for a slow and steady skinny dip for her.
You are ok... look at what I shot Nelli at today, AMPS!?!
Just did it- not thinking I should (even?!) get advice. Whoa! Dang- everything turned out, good :).
I know ECID but I truly believe based upon your SS, you’ll see tomorrow; have confidence in your self... much relief :bighug:
 
Thank you, everyone for looking out after us again. I hope one day to be able to pay the support forward!

XOXO and g'night!
 
Back
Top