10/22 Tiny Sole +7: 70, +7.5: 104, +8: 96, +8.5: 82, +9: 95, +9.5: 95, +10: 93, +10.5: 146

Joanne&TinySole

Very Active Member
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...102-pmps-112-2-168-3-147.205213/#post-2274856

10/22 RECAP:

AMPS: 83
3 U lantus given at 7:45 AM
+2: 163
+5: 201
+9: 154
+11: 123
PMPS: 153
+3: 118
+4: 91
+5: 131 (now Tues 10/23, 12 AM)
+6: 94
+7: 70 2 AM; 2 tsp MC food given
+7.5: 104
+8: 96; gave 3 Temptation treats
+8.5: 82; gave tsp of LC mixed with MC
+9: 95; gave 10 Temptation treats mashed in water at 4:15 AM
+9.5: 95 waiting for the previous food to impact the BG
+10: 93 still going down. gave more LC mixed with MC and a little butter mixed with honey
+10.5: 146 FINALLY UP, but I know it's all food related.

-----------------------------------
AT THE START OF THE DAY:
Good morning everyone. Tiny Sole is starting in the lagoon today.

AMPS: 83 and 3 U of insulin given. Fingers and paws are crossed that it is a good day and she'll behave, because work is on my menu and I'll have to come and go to keep an eye on her. Good thing I run the show at work, so I can come and go.

I'm sure I'll be back with that crazed look of panic in my eyes at some point today! o_O
May it be a good one for all beans and kitties.
 
Last edited:
QUESTION: Isn't the "Shoot Low to Stay Low" motto only for those practicing Tight Regulation?

For those of us following the SLGS method, does it apply to us too?
 
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...102-pmps-112-2-168-3-147.205213/#post-2274856

Good morning everyone. Tiny Sole is starting in the lagoon today.

AMPS: 83 and 3 U of insulin given. Fingers and paws are crossed that it is a good day and she'll behave, because work is on my menu and I'll have to come and go to keep an eye on her. Good thing I run the show at work, so I can come and go.

I'm sure I'll be back with that crazed look of panic in my eyes at some point today! o_O
May it be a good one for all beans and kitties.

Be sure to get a 1+.
 
Nice start! It is the same for both, however, the "Low" numbers just aren't as low with SLGS than TR (since the SLGS reduction point is 90).
 
Technically using "90" as your reduction number, you would have reduced the dose this morning to 2.75u however given you just reduced a couple of days ago, some would advice against it because back to back reduction often don't hold. That said, since you are using the AT2 meter rather than a human meter, I'd be inclined to consider taking the reduction tonight, unless Tiny's numbers are up during today's cycle because the "90" reduction point with the AT2 meter is not giving you as much of a "cushion" as it provides with a human meter. I'd definitely get a +1 or at least a +2 to see where she is heading today.
 
get a +1 or at least a +2 to see where she is heading today

I was able to get a +2: 163 and just now a +5: 201.
I anticipate a dip again at the +9 to +11, as that seems to be her pattern.

If she stays on the rise - who knows with this rascal! - as you mentioned, would you continue to recommend I stay at 3 U or go down to the 2.75 U at the PM dose?

Thanks in advance!
 
Well I didn't expect that 201 but then as you say, she may come down later in the cycle. If she remains steady or on the rise, I'd stay the course at 3u. Let's see what she does because she really does have a knack for dropping late.
 
You shot your first green this AM! So, on behalf of the L, B & L forum, I would like to present to you the coveted Balls of Steel ( BOS)


upload_2018-10-22_16-30-9.png
 
Well I didn't expect that 201 but then as you say, she may come down later in the cycle. If she remains steady or on the rise, I'd stay the course at 3u. Let's see what she does because she really does have a knack for dropping late.
I agree with Linda that if she stays the same or higher to shot the 3 U again tonight. And then take the reduction tomorrow morning. It is what we call Shooting through the Bounce. It helps to keep the bounce at a minimum.
 
I accept the BOS with honor and will wear them with steely resolve! :p:p:p I couldn't have done it without any of you!

XOXO, Joanne
I'm jealous! :D It took us about 3 1/2 months to ever get a green start - and I shot thru a 69 - I just figured it was time to 'man up' LOL and take care of business...enough of this pussyfooting around huh?:rolleyes: But I didn't get the BOS :( Must be a new award...jeez I'm starting to feel old...:confused:

And I was just telling @Krystina & Nelli about that award yesterday - I think @Amanda and a Loudogg were the first I knew to receive that award...:D

So congrats to you for being awarded the BOS!:joyful: We're all proud of you! :woot: It does take courage to get that first one done...and of course the proper circumstances to be in a position to monitor, feed, etc. You did real good mama!:woot::bighug::bighug:
 
I would like to request a heart emoji and a love next to the like in a thread! Because I sure do love each and every one of you!!!

I'm not quite sure how I'm going to walk around without those BOS making noise though...I imagine them to be like Zen melody balls...I won't be able to sneak up on anyone again!! ;)
 
Last edited:
PMPS: 153
3 U coming up!

And to be sure, I'm to give 2.75 U in the AM because Tiny earned a dose reduction today!

Go, Tiny; GO!!
 
I'd go with 3u tonight and then see what AMPS brings and make final decision re: reduction then. It's really up to you whether you want to reduce tomorrow or not. It was just a suggestion that might ward of any extra dramatics if pre-shot is low given your use of the AT2 meter. .
 
Im hoping for some nice blues and maybe a dip into the greens, but just a dip!
From your lips to God's ear...don't we all wish for such a cycle? :rolleyes: I hope Tiny is more cooperative than Luci - she would waltz off in the opposite direction to teach me not to even think about such things:banghead: I go at every day in total bewilderment because I've found that if I have any expectations whatsoever of Luci:cat: she will make a point of disappointing me...so I just follow her lead...whatever it may be:facepalm: Here's Luci...in charge...
Catster_LetsTalk_hero_21.jpg
 
isn’t it a relief to trust

It's not the forum that I didn't trust, it was myself! This has been a journey in letting go. My knowledge an confidence has always carried me through so many challenges, but having Tiny's life in my hands, and not knowing enough about how best to help her has been so frightening!

I'm grateful for EVERYONE here.
 
It's not the forum that I didn't trust, it was myself! This has been a journey in letting go. My knowledge an confidence has always carried me through so many challenges, but having Tiny's life in my hands, and not knowing enough about how best to help her has been so frightening!

I'm grateful for EVERYONE here.
I didn’t mean to come across as “the forum I didn’t trust”... it was all about ‘self trust’-
Never meant in anyway as a negative... :)!
 
I didn’t mean to come across as “the forum I didn’t trust”... it was all about ‘self trust’-
Never meant in anyway as a negative... :)!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

No, no!!! I didn't take it as a negative! I wanted to share about where I was and the baby steps I've taken from the great encouragement and watchful hearts here that have been so helpful!

XOXOXO
 
I think we'll be ok tonight, and I know I'm not nearly in the pickle that @Krystina & Nelli or @Cindy&Taco have gone through, but of course I'm a little nervous, because Tiny likes to go low at night...like they all do, I'm learning.

So, if I don't have any MC food - I think I only have LC food - what can I do to bump up the LC to a MC? Add a drop of honey to the LC?
 
I think we'll be ok tonight, and I know I'm not nearly in the pickle that @Krystina & Nelli or @Cindy&Taco have gone through, but of course I'm a little nervous, because Tiny likes to go low at night...like they all do, I'm learning.

So, if I don't have any MC food - I think I only have LC food - what can I do to bump up the LC to a MC? Add a drop of honey to the LC?
Do you have a food grinder?
 
OK, if you're up to it, grind your low carb ,1 can,as fine as you can, add about 1/2 can of water and heat up to almost boiling, add 2 tablespoons of flour, you're making gravy, wisk and try to make it as smooth as you can, the flour should bring your carbs up, but, dont ask me how much LOL of course cool it off, a no brainer.;) Pick a flavor Tiny Sole likes. You'll be able to tell if that works with your testing, if not working , then I can only suggest honey,unless someone else has a better recipe.
 
Brilliant!!!! Actually, we just made some gravy tonight with chicken, although it may have a little red wine in it.
Ok, I'm going to do as you say so I can be prepared!

XOXO, Thanks Cindy!
If you already know how to make gravy, like you said above, just pretend your cat food is your base with the added water. That really all the gravy is in the cat food anyways, but, I can't tell you the carbs. NO WINE FOR TINY SOLE :eek: If you do try it and it works to your liking, you can always freeze a little in freezer bags, so you're not scrambling. Other wise get yourself some MC & HC already prepared, that way you know the carbs :)
 
Ingredients
  • 2 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoon of flour
  • 1 tablespoon of fish scraps
Instructions
  • Step 1: Mix chicken broth and flour.
  • Step 2: Pour the mixture into a pan. Turn on the heat and put the mixture in until it boils. Now turn the heat down and continuously stir the boiled mixture to make it thicker. Remember to keep stirring the gravy because it can be burned easily.
Here is another I found online, but, I would use only 1 cup of broth instead of 2, and the fish scraps could actually be canned cat food. I think the fish is to entice .
 
My first mentor helped me put an emergency kit together, here it is, I think they have one here too, someone can chime in, I havent looked for it.
13 carbs-3 cans Friskies Dinner in Gravy (Meaty BITS)
17 carbs-3 cans Friskies Tasty Treasures with cheese,with chicken,tuna&cheese in gravy
25 carbs,3 cans the big guns ;) Friskies INDOOR Flaked Ocean Whitefish Dinner with Garden greens in Sauce
Small bottle of honey & syringe without needle,
Put in container and mark as Soles emergency kit
You can also look on Dr.Peirsons food list and find your own that you know Sole would like.
Always replenish what you use.
Take a marker and mark the bottoms of your cans so you know the carbs, you dont get much gravy out of one can, so you may want to buy more.
 
+4: 91 for Tiny, so I guess we are dipping into the lagoon tonight.
I gave her a tsp of canned kitten food from healthy blue, and a little gravy from FF liver and chicken...I squeezed it out.

Sleep? Who needs it! :woot:

I'll test in 30 min.
 
+8: 96 at 3 AM
Gave 3 Temptation treats.
I will test again at 3:30 AM.

Tiny usually goes lowest between + 10 and +11, so I'm a little concerned.

Also, wondering if her dose reduction should be adjusted to 2.5 U instead of 2.75 U. She was given 3 U AM + PM today.

Thoughts?
 
Back
Top