10/23 Cupcake AMPS 320, +10 99, skip? reduce?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Cupcake, Oct 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cupcake

Cupcake Member

Hello, as You already know, I am an absolute noob here. Having blues today and green at the moment. Will have to shoot after two hours. Shall I be brave and keep the dose? Please, give me Your opinions, don't really know what to do. What do You think about the readings in Cupcake's SS?
    I'll keep 911 icon for a few hours.
    And yes, I know the theoretical part of the issue: I can wait and see if his BG is rising, then give a shot. Alternatively, I can reduce his dose. How much? 0,5U? Or maybe these numbers are not threatening at all? Maybe everything looks ok and it's just me who is not used to low numbers so far?
    I personally think that it would be safer to reduce his dose before sleep. I have a possibility to check him during a day, so could shoot him 3,5U in the morning ant watch. What do You think? The other part of me says that I should not reduce his dose. I'll see if he's rising after two hours, before his PMPS, just need Your opinions before the time I will be holding a syringe.

And I am sorry if it sounds like an annoying newbie's panic :coffee:

2. MommaOfMuse

MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

He's slowing down on how fast he is dropping so hopefully he will turn the corner and start rising in the next couple hours, but ... yes there is always a but :lol: He also has dropped a long ways from when he started so if he was mine I would see where he is at preshot if he is headed back up by then and is fairly close to 200 then I would shoot a slightly reduced dose of 3u or 3.25 on the later you will have to just kind of eyeball between 3 & 3.5 and set an alarm to wake up and test him at about +6...

If he is still headed down skip tonight and start fresh in the morning. With Lantus you never want to shoot a still falling number.