10/28 Jenks AMPS 130 +3 102 +5 81 +9 127 PMPS 176 +6 175 +9.5 152

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
10/27

I think we can work with this!

We reduced Jenks to 10U last night. This is for several reasons. First, there's a suspicion that he was suddenly getting too much insulin. Second, we needed to do something to temper some pretty wild swings in his blood sugar readings. Third, his PM nadir has traveled beyond the following day's AMPS, so backing off the dose was necessary to make sure he didn't go too low once the AM dose kicked in while the PM dose was still having action. Finally, we've been bouncing around doses lately, so we needed one that would allow at least a few cycles of monitoring. So far, things have calmed down a bit.

Jenks had to come down from 266 last night. He only managed a 40-point dip in the first seven hours, followed by nearly 100 points in the final hours. That momentum again carried his nadir way beyond AMPS. It's such a moving target, we're having trouble addressing it properly.

But today's numbers have been pretty awesome. It looks like a normal cycle, with him coming down low but not too low. He's shown a tendency to blow up in the final hours of the AM cycle, so I hope he can hold these low 100s instead of going to the 200s for PMPS.
 
I think it was a good choice to settle in on the 10u for now. Hopefully things will stabilize and you'll get a good picture of what it can do.

And sorry, I couldn't get on the board the past 2 days and just tonight am seeing Karen's tag to take a look at Jenks.
 
Honestly, I was expecting a much worse PMPS. So I'm pretty happy with a 176. If the latest patterns hold, he should probably remain about the same for about the first half of the cycle before starting to come down some.
 
It's the back half of the cycle, and he's started to inch down. 152 with 2 1/2 hours left until AMPS. It's going to be educational to see if this is a gentle coast or skidding into home plate. 20 points in the 3 1/2 hours since he ate hopefully indicates the former, but he's really capable of anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top