10/30 Jenn'sCrew ? on Tigger reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

Cassius AMPS 105
Abby AMPS 267
Rose AMPS 78
Shadow AMBG 87 DAY 2
Mikey AMPS 92
Oreo AMPS -forgot to test him
Tigger AMPS 127- he went to 42 as +4 today but I'm not re thinking if that earned a reduction because of how long he's been on insulin? He came to me 3/28/16 and was on Novolin before that but I don't know for how long. Maybe a month or so.

I think at this point Cassius needs to go under 50 three times or under 40 once to get a reduction because November 22 is one year I've had him.
 
Jenn, looking at Tigger's ss, I'm wondering about some of the dosing. Are you reducing the dose when the preshot is less than some number? I'm seeing a lot of 0.75u shots in the midst of a sea of 1.0u doses. I can't tell what's triggering those reductions - just something that made me wonder.

As far as the reduction - people typically switch to making it harder to earn a dose reduction if they either have a history of failed reductions with that cat, or the cat has been diagnosed for more than one year. Sounds like Tigger might be 8 months or so. I see you've made the decision to reduce it, so I would just watch and see if he trends up and if so, go back to 1.0u as soon as you decide he's failed the reduction, if he does.

For Cassius - did he go below 50? I'm not seeing it, but am I just missing it? Overall he's looking pretty good.
 
Jenn, looking at Tigger's ss, I'm wondering about some of the dosing. Are you reducing the dose when the preshot is less than some number? I'm seeing a lot of 0.75u shots in the midst of a sea of 1.0u doses. I can't tell what's triggering those reductions - just something that made me wonder.

As far as the reduction - people typically switch to making it harder to earn a dose reduction if they either have a history of failed reductions with that cat, or the cat has been diagnosed for more than one year. Sounds like Tigger might be 8 months or so. I see you've made the decision to reduce it, so I would just watch and see if he trends up and if so, go back to 1.0u as soon as you decide he's failed the reduction, if he does.

For Cassius - did he go below 50? I'm not seeing it, but am I just missing it? Overall he's looking pretty good.
The history for me with Tigger is when he goes under 50 (just about every time besides this latest) he stops eating and throws up. So when the pre shots were low (I think under 100 or close to 100) I was cautious and gave a reduced dose. Especially if I wasn't going to be home to retest or if it was at night and I didn't want to stay up and also deal with the not eating and throwing up.

No, Cassius has not gone under 50 I was just wondering since 11/22/16 will be one year he is with us. I think cats on insulin for a year need to get under 50 three times or under 40 once to earn a reduction???
 
I think cats on insulin for a year need to get under 50 three times or under 40 once to earn a reduction???
The Tight Reg protocol says:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

The 3 times under 50 is another option that people have found works well with some kitties who have demonstrated that they don't hold reductions. The idea with both of these is to make it a little harder for a long-term diabetic (over 1 year) to earn reductions in dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top