10/9 Asia AMPS 211, +4 364, +7 434 +10 573

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Very Active Member
+9 is 279, not sure what her AMPS is because it's not time yet (soon and will update when it happens). She has been super high the past few days, should I increase to 1 unit today? I know people said she was on a bounce and that takes a few days to work out, and this +9 is one of the lowest numbers she's had for awhile, but it's still pretty high. Thoughts?
 
It's ok to wait this cycle out in case she decides to continue clearing a bounce. It's ok to increase during a bounce but not advised to do so on a bounce breaking cycle as it can give them more momentum. If she doesn't see low blue or green today you can increase her at PMPS.
 
Going for the increase this PM. I really hope these numbers start coming down (I'd be thrilled with high blues right now, frankly). I'm not an impatient person, but I'm getting frightened as to what all these blacks and reds are doing to her already compromised kidneys. I'm also afraid of keytones, none yet, touch wood, but if the numbers stay high, wouldn't it be inevitable?
 
Hopefully the increase will bring her down. It can take 6 cycles for the depot to fill so glad you have some patience.

Not all kitties develop ketones and good that you are checking.
 
Girlie was in blacks and reds for over a month - I think two months; take a look at her SS. I tested for ketones every day, and she never had any. You'd need a more experienced person to give you advice about dose increases, but from what I've seen, almost everyone hits blacks and reds - especially at the beginning. They bounce a lot as their bodies get used to insulin and lower numbers - at least Girlie and others I know did. As they say, "better a day too high than an hour too low." :-)
 
Girlie was in blacks and reds for over a month - I think two months; take a look at her SS. I tested for ketones every day, and she never had any. You'd need a more experienced person to give you advice about dose increases, but from what I've seen, almost everyone hits blacks and reds - especially at the beginning. They bounce a lot as their bodies get used to insulin and lower numbers - at least Girlie and others I know did. As they say, "better a day too high than an hour too low." :)
Thank you, that makes me feel a little better. I've peeped at a few SSs and I haven't seen the seas of black and red so much. Im not glad it's happened for your cat, but I'm glad to know that it does happen, and they can get lower or even out eventually. Hopefully without much lasting damage.
 
Hopefully the increase will bring her down. It can take 6 cycles for the depot to fill so glad you have some patience.

Not all kitties develop ketones and good that you are checking.
I'm reading everything I can and trying to understand it all, some things take awhile to sink in, particularly this depot and overlap stuff. I'm just looking for trends in her numbers and what stands out to me is the days her numbers have often gone up after insulin and continue to go up until right before the next dose, where they either go still higher or dip slightly. Thanks for all of your input and reassurance.
 
This whole thing is such a huge learning curve... I felt absolutely confused and scared at the beginning, even with all of the patient support from everyone here. I never thought we'd get out of blacks or reds or see steady blues, even. But if Girlie could be that high for that long and then finally hit her stride, that's a hopeful thing.

Keep asking questions: we're all here for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top