Christin & Mimi
Member Since 2018
Hi everyone. We started our kitty, Mimi, on Lantus 10 days ago using the SLGS protocol. She is newly diagnosed and has never been on insulin before. Prior to starting the Lantus, we had switched her to a diet of exclusively low carb canned food. She is underweight (currently 9 lbs) and always hungry, so she is getting 4 cans of FF Classics per day, broken up into 8+ small meals. The diet change really seemed to help almost immediately. Her numbers dropped about 100 points within a week. I'm concerned, though, because the Lantus seems to be barely effecting her. We home tested regularly before the insulin and her numbers generally ranged from from 315-380, and were occasionally a bit higher or lower. We started with a half unit (.5) every 12 hours for the first week, and now on week 2, we have increased the dose to .75 units every 12 hours. Her nadirs have ranged from 316-368, with one day single day in the 200s and one single day in the 400s. What could be going on here? Do we need to give it more time to see a change, or should we just increase the dose? Is it possible that for some reason she just isn't responding to the Lantus? Any advice would be much appreciated.