10 days on Lantus - no change in BG levels?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christin & Mimi

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone. We started our kitty, Mimi, on Lantus 10 days ago using the SLGS protocol. She is newly diagnosed and has never been on insulin before. Prior to starting the Lantus, we had switched her to a diet of exclusively low carb canned food. She is underweight (currently 9 lbs) and always hungry, so she is getting 4 cans of FF Classics per day, broken up into 8+ small meals. The diet change really seemed to help almost immediately. Her numbers dropped about 100 points within a week. I'm concerned, though, because the Lantus seems to be barely effecting her. We home tested regularly before the insulin and her numbers generally ranged from from 315-380, and were occasionally a bit higher or lower. We started with a half unit (.5) every 12 hours for the first week, and now on week 2, we have increased the dose to .75 units every 12 hours. Her nadirs have ranged from 316-368, with one day single day in the 200s and one single day in the 400s. What could be going on here? Do we need to give it more time to see a change, or should we just increase the dose? Is it possible that for some reason she just isn't responding to the Lantus? Any advice would be much appreciated.
 
I am by no means an expert because Thomas is recently diagnosed. Sometimes it just takes time to find the right dose. If you look at my spreadsheet you'll see that his levels are consistently in the 300's and 400's.

If the protocol indicates it's time for a dose increase, I would follow it.
 
Yes, I recommend the Lantus forum for good advice. Take a look at the numerous yellow info stickies that describe how Lantus works, the two main dosing methods for it, etc. It's a large forum with a lot of very experienced people on it.
 
I think more time is needed. Follow the protocol regarding increases. The people in the Lantus forum will help you. Olive is still on increasing doses after starting 60 days ago. She has other conditions that make it hard. Mimi needs what Mimi needs, there is no one dose fits all.
 
Getting the diabetes under control is a long process that requires a LOT of patience it takes weeks sometimes months to get a cat regulated but the fact that his numbers are slowly going down is very good news you've already seen numbers around 200's that's very nice, is tempting to try and raise the dose fast but that usually doesn't work is better to go step by step, still she may need another increase ( it would help if we could se all her numbers) by the end of the week depending on how she goes
 
It does take some time to find the right dose and once you do hit the right dose it will take a few doses for the depot to build up. Since your just starting your kitty will need to take some time to get used to being on Insulin.

Your doing everything right, just be patient and raise the dose very slowly. My experience was all high numbers and very frustrated and then all of the sudden, regulation!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top