11/23 Ophie PMPS 96, +1 99, +2.25 74, +3 73, +4 71

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by OphiesMom, Nov 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Good morning LL!

    Is there anyone awake yet who might be able to "talk" me through my impending shot. I didn't wake up in time for my +11, but got a +11.5 instead of 97. I'm assuming, as usual, Ophie is going to dip down at +12.

    So, I am facing my dilemma once again... to shoot low or not?

    I was hoping to start moving her shot time earlier, but that may not happen today.

    Thanks for looking!!

    Joely
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

    I don't normally give dose advice and I can't get Ophie's SS to load. You can stall and not feed and see where Ophie is in 30 minutes to see if she's rising or falling.

    Have you shot a green before? Will you be home to monitor? Do you have lots of testing supplies and HC food?
     
  3. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

    Thanks, Carla, for replying :smile:

    She's been green before. She typically DIPS before her shot. I've been here before, and am thinking I need to shoot. I have plenty of supplies and can be here to test. Am testing again in 5 minutes for her pre-shot.

    Oye, I do not like this at all (the wondering "what will happen"). nailbite_smile

    Hoping your furbaby is well today!
     
  4. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

    You can always shoot a reduced dose if you don't feel comfortable shooting the normal dose. If you will be home to monitor and have the testing supplies and hc food, today might be a good day to see how she does if you shoot low. I know it is nerve wracking, but we all eventually have to see how they do when we shoot green. I was very nervous the first time I chose to shoot a green.
     
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

    I finally got Ophie's SS to open and she's been looking good lately. She may be heading for a reducie. I'm sure some more experience people will be on soon to give you some advice on that. If you choose to shoot today, you will have more data to be able to know what she'll do the next time you get greens before her Pre-Shot number. If you don't feel comfortable shooting her normal dose, don't feel you have to. The most important thing it to keep Ophie safe.
     
  6. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

    I see on her SS that you shot. Good job. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 so you can see if she's going to go up or down today. I need to go get some breakfast. I'll check on Ophie in a little while.
     
  7. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, help shooting

    Thank you again Carla! I did it, I shot low (her full dose) nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

    We will see what the day brings, now that I have shot low for the first time.
     
  8. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

    Thank you (again) Carla! Happy breakfast!
     
  9. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

    Good morning Joely :coffee:
    I was puttering around and didnt' get to the board in time, but YAY to you!! I would have shot that number especially if I'm around because Ophie does like to do a little bow at the end. I see you have your supplies (strips, HC, syrup, vet number handy) and will be around so you should be in good shape. I won't leave you now until someone else comes on board. Definately test at +1 and +2. By then the juice and food will all be starting to do their thing. How you feeling about this? :smile: :smile:
     
  10. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

    Morning Kim!

    I am feeling good about this (so far!). Ophie is purring and cuddling flat as a board on my legs with her paws draping down. I was too stressed last night about her dropping too low that I didn't enjoy her green numbers with her. She was be-bopping around like a kitten last night, racing (!!!!!!) around, playing with her toys, and cuddling like it was her job. She hasn't done that since I first switched her to LC food back in June.

    So, fingers and paws crossed! I will be checking her +1, +2, etc.

    Thank you!! What would I do without this board and its wonderful members :D ?
     
  11. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

    I'm glad Ophie is feeling so good lately. I'm glad you feel good about shooting low, even if you are a bit nervous. I still get nervous when I shoot a low number too. Just remember to breathe today when you are testing her. I hope she gives you a good surf and stays playful today.
     
  12. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93 (I shot low!!)

    I had to laugh that you didn't celebrate her greens with her :lol: That is just TOO familiar! It's funny that the lagoon is where they should be, get a part of us is so scared to let them too close to the water :lol: I have relaxed a bit myself, but Twice still needs to wear his water wings when he's there!
    I'm so impressed with you and how quickly you are taking to all of this Joely! A big Atta Girl headed your way ;-)
     
  13. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85

    I know, right? I should have been overjoyed with her and her greens :lol: ! I told myself I would be happy along with her today if we are lucky enough to reach the greens again, but it's not shaping up that way as I'm too worried again! She just chipped away at her first breakfast a little more... I just wish she would eat more in one sitting and not be so darn "dainty" about it all.
     
  14. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85

    Looks to me like she has a nice surf going :mrgreen: Don't be worried...HA yeah right eh!? But try not to be too worried. She hasn't done a big scary drop here and she's happy. Let her continue to pick at her food, with Twice it makes a difference. Just don't overfeed her, as you don't want them to be full in case you need to get HC in. I just wouldn't free feed a ton of food, just enough to pick away at. +2 will tell us a little more and in the meantime, enjoy the kitten in her! Wheeee :D
     
  15. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    ohmygod_smile at +2 she is 53.

    Thoughts?

    Thank you so much for your support.
     
  16. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Adding: She is not happy, won't purr for me. Tail is twitching. Of course, that could be because I woke her up from her heater and dragged her downstairs for a poke.

    I think I need to give her some hc food?
     
  17. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    She has dropped by almost half, I wouldn't say worry but you should be watchful. The moodiness is probably because you disturbed her and now she is also sensing your stress. Breathe. No matter what, you are there and she is safe. I wouldn't give hc food, but maybe 1 teaspoon of the gravy. We don't want to fill her up. Check in 20 min from last test and post
     
  18. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    I will be hitting my refresh constantly know so I promise you are not alone. :D
     
  19. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Thank you, Kim. Just having you post back so quickly helps me breath! I just gave her a tiny bit of dry hc kibble (because I know 100% she'll eat it). It was .25 of an oz. I will test and post back at +5 actually, I want to give the food 20 minutes to work.
     
  20. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    I would do the original 20 min after the last test anyways to see what rate she is naturally dropping at, if still dropping. Also, just so you know the dry kibble takes a lot longer to work into their system so not a good choice for quickly getting the numbers up. Also because of the fillers, it's too heavy. Don't let that scare you right now, just wanted you to know this so next time no kibble. 53 is not a bad number so don't feel you have to be hair back right now. It's an indicator number and we want to follow it. That probably made no sense :?
     
  21. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Just had another thought. Anytime kitty drops under 50, it earns them a reduction. We like reductions because it means they are headed in the right direction. So as scary as the numbers are, we want to see if they naturally go under 50 so that we know if they get that reduction.
     
  22. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    OK, will test at my original 20 minutes (which is in just 2 minutes). OK, I'm calm... yes, calm, riiiight... calm! If it say it enough?

    Thank you so much.
     
  23. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    She is 49... still dropping? That seems to be steady, no?
     
  24. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Well you earned that reduction. Give some hc gravy please about 1 tsp and test again in 20 minutes. I will not be going anywhere. And as an added HUGE bonus , I see some of the pros are waking up and coming on board. Great job Joely!
     
  25. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Make that 1-2 Tablespoons of HC gravy. She is only at +2 and a bit so may need a bit more
     
  26. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Kim, you are amazing. OK, I will give her a tspn of gravy. Reduction seems right!
     
  27. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    You guys are doing great here...congrats on the reducie!!! Time to come up a bit now, Ophie, you've made your point...work that gravy!
     
  28. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Ophie asked if it was kitty christmas, or something. She was thrilled with her gravy :lol: , and has moved on to a few more bites of her LC food. I do think she wasn't feeling so hot there for a bit. She wouldn't purr. She always purrs (except when she's mad that I'm withholding food, of course).
     
  29. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Thank you for the support Amy!
     
  30. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Great job Joely. Now let's tick her off again and take the lc away for a bit. I just don't want her full so we can keep giving her the kitty christmas gravy :D
     
  31. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Kim, I just saw that you said 1-2 TBSPN of gravy. I just gave her more and picked up her LC food for now. Testing again in 4 minutes.
     
  32. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Purrfect
    ohmygod_smile I should have pointed out my change of mind! I think we cross posted there
     
  33. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Yes, things are moving fast right now! Thank you again, I cannot say it enough!
     
  34. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    We are at 43 now...
     
  35. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    Be back in a few, my human baby is needing his breakfast!
     
  36. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    OK. Let's give another 2 TBLS of gravy and a couple drops of syrup. You can give a little of the hc food as well 1Tbls. Another test in 20 min please. You ok?
    Also, change your subject line on the original post to give only the current 43 and the 911 icon. Don't panic :D Let's just get some eyes on here
     
  37. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    She won't eat the HC food. She ate all the gravy. Should I put the syrup on her muzzlepuffs? How does that work? Am I in crisis here?
     
  38. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 85, +2 53 should I wor

    We just need to get her number up over 50 and not let it drop anymore. The 911 and 43 need to go to the 1st post in the condo or it won't show up ont he board.

    Give a couple drops of the syrup in the gravy. It's not generally enough for them to taste. If she's not eating the hc then her body isn't thinking its starving right now. We are going to need another test in 20 min from last one again and by then we should see some of the gravy effect.
     
  39. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    Ok I see the 911 now :D
     
  40. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    Yes, I put it in the wrong place first! It's all still so new.

    She is at 56 now. That is better, right?

    Thank you, Kim!
     
  41. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    Oh, I forgot to add the updates/details: She is a picky eater and didn't like the drops in there (too many drops)? But she ate more gravy. I'm officially out of gravy, but I can ring my neighbor across the way. OH, she just came back downstairs and is eating more food...
     
  42. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    Woo Hoo we are heading the right way :D You got her numbers up nice and quick Joely! Ok, we want to make sure they continue staying safe, so we are still doing the poke-a polka in 20 minutes You can give 1 2Teaspoons of gravy this time. Still don't wanna fill her up and the gravy and syrup from before will still be working, just not for long. We are going to be hanging out for a while longer yet because we want to know without a doubt that she's safe.
     
  43. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    OK, sounds good. THAnK YOU!!

    I'm like a mad woman over here doing 100 things at once: breakfast for kid, poking kitty, feeding kitty, calling neighbor, posting updates. I need a nap.

    OK, I will est in 10 minutes (that's another 20 minutes for us) and post back. Need to get more gravy first!
     
  44. lovey11

    lovey11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    How is Ophie doing? Did you get another reading?
     
  45. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    She is due for her next poke is 10 minutes. My neighbor has gravy food and I just sent my son to grab it. She is downstairs with us, so that seems like a good thing.

    I will report back in 10 minutes.
     
  46. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    They call it a 'dance'. Today it's more like the Charleston than the Waltz ;-)
     
  47. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    We at 53 now, She is loving the new HC food (I assume it's HC, I haven't had time to check... it FF chicken liver and gravy). She is not a happy girl though and was really ticked about the last poke. Do you think I can give her peace for a little bit?
     
  48. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    :lol: I just saw that... Charleston! :lol: Yes, she is giving me a run for my money today.
     
  49. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    Yup thats a hc according to the food list. Her number went back down a bit, so not steadily rising. Give her an extra 10 minute break (so 30 minutes). I know, woo hoo, not really what you two wanted to hear :lol: I would like you to read the sticky again on handling low numbers. It tells us that we can't become complacent until we know FOR SURE that kitty is on the rise. The reason for this is that the hc is influencing her numbers. Essentially these are not her 'real' numbers, we just have her in a food induced safe zone. Does that make sense? Once the hc wears off, if her numbers are not rising on their own, she will crash again. Soooo we have to get her to a place where we are comfortable that she is on the rise and then monitor for about two hours after her last hc. We will then see 'true' Ophie numbers.
     
  50. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    Yes, that does make sense. I will give her a few extra minutes to regroup before her next poke. She just ate quite a bit of the HC food (I say "quite a bit" by Ophie standards, so maybe 1/8th of the can? I was feeding it to her on teaspoons, so 2 heaping teaspoons). She just retreated upstairs to rest. I realize the HC food is helping her, and that a crash may be on the horizon, but for the next little bit of time, while the HC food keeps her safe, I will breathe just a little, tiny bit.

    Thank you!
     
  51. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    I just got back home and stopped in to check on Ophie. Hang in there. You're doing great. As long as Ophie is acting fine, I wouldn't worry. Furball has been in the 40s before and been fine. I think testing in 30 min. increments is okay at this point. Just pick up the food after you feed her each time so she doesn't get too full to eat more later. I give Furball 1 teaspoon of HC food at a time. Do you know when her nadir usually is?
     
  52. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    A breathing break sounds like a great idea. :D
     
  53. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +2.75 43 dropping

    Hi Joely,
    You are doing fine. The idea, as Carla and Kim say, is not to feed so much HC food that Ophie gets full and will not eat. The use of gravy and/or syrup is a bit tricky. I'm not very "practiced" in giving gravy or syrup, but I seem to remember that often a teaspoon of syrup mixed in to a little regular LC food will keep a cat from zooming up too fast and then dropping whereas a larger amount (tablespoonful) of gravy/syrup given by itself will wear off and leave you about where you were. But ECID. The important thing is to stay on top of it all and not let the kitty bobble about. Syrup and gravy wear off quickly, so you have to keep testing until you are sure that you have passed the nadir.

    I have to go out for a while now, but will check back with you later.

    You are doing great. Just remember to breathe!

    Ella & Rusty

    p.s. Is there a reason why you are using the blue color on your SS for these green numbers this morning?

    p.p.s. Ophie gets a .25 reduction! Congrats!!
     
  54. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    well hello Ophie!

    You've been doing a great job managing Ophie's numbers this morning. As long as she keeps surfing the 50s she is safe. 60s are a little better because that gives you a bit more breathing room, but you're doing an excellent job. How is Ophie acting?
     
  55. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    Thank you Carla, Ella and Libby for coming by!

    In my frenzy, I didn't realize I was coding her numbers blue, they're now green. She will not allow a poke right now, so I will try again in 5.

    I didn't manage to give her the syrup. And, after checking, the gravy I initially had was only medium carb ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile. But she's had 2 tspns of hc, for sure (thanks for checking that Kim!!!!!)

    Ophie was acting off earlier, not purring and seemed a little loafy. Really, it was the purr, she always purrs for me and is alert when I chat with her. NOW, she is quite happy, purry, and all around good.

    Kim has been a life-saver for me today!

    I will report back in a few. Sorry, for replying so late, the board is still new to me and I didn't see the posts had spilled to page 2.
     
  56. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +4 77

    At +4, we are 77. Yay Ophie! We will not rest yet, though. I do not know Ophie's Nadir, as she seems to be inconsistent. Or, I'm just not so good at reading my own spreadsheet :lol:

    I will continue to test. Should I do 30 minute increments now or can I do 1 hour?

    I've taken away the food, but I know she'll eat the HC food again, she loved it so. And, I will stock up on 10 cans of that stuff so I don't run out again. This diabetes thing had a very steep learning curve! I just wish it wasn't by "mistake" that I figure these things out.

    Again, and again, and again... Thank you to all. And most of all Kim! I will take off my 911 icon now, I think, right?
     
  57. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    Don't worry about not replying right away. Going to the 2nd page gets confusing, especially if you've never seen it before. I'm glad Kim was able to help you today.

    You'll need to keep testing until after her nadir to make sure she doesn't drop again. Since you got the 77, I think you can stop feeding for a little while and see if she'll surf and not drop again.
     
  58. MonetsMom

    MonetsMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +3 (and 20m) 53

    Wow Joely ... This wore me out just reading all of it. How scary for you, it sounds like you have the experts on it helping you through it. Come on Ophie your Mama has had enough drama for one day ;-)
     
  59. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Joely, we posted at the same time. All of us have learned as we go along. What you learn today will help you the next time. The first time Furball gave me a lower green, I panicked and fed her a lot of HC food and she skyrocketed. Don't worry if Ophie bounces high tonight from all of this. She will come back down.

    I think the 77 is food influenced. I would get another test in 30 minutes without food to see where she's at. If she's still higher, I think it is safe to test in an hour after that to make sure she's still surfing. It looks to me like her nadir is around +5 or +6.
     
  60. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Yes you can take down the 911. I'm not great at reading the ss either but she has nadired a couple times at +6, so that would be my earliest guess. No food for a bit and let's see if she can carry along on her own. But unfortunately, I would like to see another test in 30 minutes (sorry Ophie), unless someone more experienced comes along to say you could wait longer. I really want to know Ophie is safe and I am just not experienced enough to 'read' her through her ss.
    Hope you have a chocolate bar reward on hand for yourself today. If noone has mentioned it before, every hypo kit should contain chocolate, wine or both! You need to reward yourself at the end of this for a job well done :D
     
  61. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Thanks Carla, sounds like a good plan to me! Will test 30 mins out and hope for a surf.

    Rise, thank you for the encouragement! I told Ophie what you said re: no more drama today... she said she would consider it and get back to me ;-)
     
  62. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Whoops. I see I cross posted with Carla :D
     
  63. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Thanks Kim. You make great sense and I will plan for the 30, despite what Ophie thinks ;-) . Ophie is in better spirits with me, so she might not mind another poke in 30 (I hope!).

    I hadn't heard about the chocolate in the hypo kit :lol:. Brilliant! I will have to raid my son's halloween candy and stock-up my hypo kit. I do know there will be a glass of wine in my future (like as soon as tonight!) ;-)
     
  64. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Things are moving fast today, for sure! :)
     
  65. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    at +4.5, we are still climbing... 91 now.

    Think I can let her go to +5.5 and really give her a rest? Her poor ear.
     
  66. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    I would think 5.5 is fine now. How long now since the last HC?
     
  67. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91

    She's looking good. I think waiting an hour for another test is safe. Don't feed her any more until you get that test to make sure the number is not food influenced. Now is a good time to get some of your son's Halloween candy and reward yourself.
     
  68. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +11.5 97, AMPS 93, +1 84, +2 53, +3 56, +4 7

    Good morning Joely and congratulations on that reduction. Kim and Carla are doing a great job helping you today. When you get a moment to breathe, you'll want to reread your condo. There's been a lot of useful information provided here.

    A couple of notes for this morning. First is what you shoot tonight. We have a concept called "shooting through the bounce'. If Ophie decides to ride the rocket launcher to the moon for evening PS (over 300) you can choose to shoot your old 1.5U dose for one time only, to help her through the bounce and then go to your new 1.25U dose in the morning. You'll have to make this decision at PS test tonight. If in doubt, test and post for help before shooting.

    I'd like to reiterate the note of tossing the dry food in these situations. There may be times to need to sprinkle crumbles on her food to get her to eat, but it's best to stick to HC and MC wet.

    Keep track of how much food you fed and what type of food and when in today's cycle. You want to get an idea of Ophie's reaction to these foods. Having both MC and HC around are useful tools. The first couple of times you do these low cycles we suggest HC, just to get you over the lows quickly. Once you get more experience, you can experiment with different carb % foods. Some people (like me) have to use HC to bring their cats up. Some people can use something as simple as a higher LC (8-9%).

    When using HC, if you are at all worried about whether she'll eat, strain out the chunks and just feed a tsp or two of gravy - that's where the carbs are. Having several cans around is a good idea. Some cats get digestive upset from the gravy, so they make a gravy from a combo of wet food and a couple drops of karo or syrup. Another thing you want in your hypo kit is a dropper for syringe feeding, just in case. Paws crossed you'll never have to go there but I've seen some people have to do that.
     
  69. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91

    I think her HC food was at 10:30 (I will double-check that), but regardless, no more until her next poke. I will do that an hour out from her last poke and report in then.

    Thank you! While Ophie is resting for the next little while until poke, I have to get my son ready. Hubby is taking him to a special lunch so I can stay with kitty.

    Also, I need that halloween candy... NOW :D

    Be back in a bit...

    THANK YOU!!!
     
  70. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91

    If she's still in the safe zone don't give any more hc. If she seems hungry she can have a little of her lc. I'm guessing she won't be super hungry now unless she's a mega grazer. Enjoy your break and reward! You earned it :D
     
  71. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    At 5.5, we are 96! So, she hasn't had food for 1.5 hours, so I think we're heading in the right direction! She is actually looking for food right now... she is a mega grazer. I will give her back her LC food. She free feeds and never, ever eats a full can in one sitting... more like 3 hours for just 2 oz.

    Thanks Wendy for coming by! Yes, Kim and Carla have been fantastic today, with advice and support. And, everyone else on who came by with their encouraging words and advice. I have been wondering about what I will do tonight. nailbite_smile I will go back and read through the condo today, as it all went by so very fast. Also, I have the stickies on shooting low and hypos still open, so I will reread those now that I"m not in crisis. Also, I will read about dosing. I'm sure (hope?) the info will click better this time, now that I've experienced what is being discussed a little more personally.

    I will post back in a hour with Ophie's next BG.

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!
     
  72. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    That's great. It looks like Ophie is surfing now. You did a great job today. Make lots of notes on what you fed and when so you'll have them to refer back to the for the next time. You might want to print out the stickies so you'll have them handy instead of having to look them up.
     
  73. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    good job everybody!

    Everybody finds their first dose reduction cycle stressful, but now you know what to do and it will be a lot easier next time.

    Ophie may bounce from these numbers, so don't be alarmed if you see some much higher numbers soon. She will come back down.
     
  74. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    Thanks Carla! Great advice on printing this stuff out :) I end up with so many screens open, I can't figure out which is which :roll:

    I will be back at Ophie's next poke time in an hour. Need to focus on the human child and other human child (read: DH) who have felt neglected all morning. They opted to stay home with me.

    Ophie is eating (just grazing) her LC food. She was hungry again!
     
  75. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    Sounds good, Libby, I will be looking out for a bounce later. Thank you!
     
  76. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    Yes, I get that 'neglected' look a lot lately :lol: Hopefully she won't bounce too high for you, but yes, don't be shocked if she does. I'm stepping out for an appt. but will bring my phone so I can check in. Looks like you have a lot of homework to do now :D
     
  77. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    She is still holding steady. I was a late getting her BG, so I'm back to readings on the half hour. We are at 100 now, which is an hour and a half since her last bg.

    I will continue to check her every hour.

    Kim, thank you!
     
  78. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 11/23 Ophie AMPS-93 +1-84 +2-53 +3-56 +4-77 +4.5-91 +5.5

    Good job, Joely and Ophie! Good work Kim and Carla. You guys did great!

    Ella
     
  79. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    At +9, we are 101. Surfing along, I'd say... :mrgreen:

    It hasn't happened yet, and a lot can change in three hours time, but I'm already thinking that a .25 reduction is terrifying (meaning, not enough of a reduction). I've been reading about SLGS, and that might be more our speed with a .5 reduction tonight, and using higher BG numbers to set her dose (instead of waiting for her BG to drop below 50 for a reduction, dropping below 90 and earning a reduction seems easier to handle and more safe for us).

    Thoughts? I think I'm understanding the SLGS approach right?

    Many thanks to everyone today for your continuous support. I could not have made it through the day otherwise!!
     
  80. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    There is nothing wrong with using SLGS if that works better for you and Ophie. I use SLGS for Furball, but post here because there are more people on this board. I have modified the number I use to give Furball reductions, as I found if I used 90, the reductions didn't work. Also, I raise or lower the dose by .25. If you switch to SLGS, you may want to use .25 if you have to increase the dose. An increase of .5 is a lot.

    You'd be surprised how much decreasing the dose by .25 does make a difference even though it sounds scary right now. It does get easier as you go along and learn to deal with lower numbers like today. I've had numbers like that using SLGS. Switching doesn't mean you won't have low numbers. If you do decide to switch, we'll still support you and I hope you'll post here with your questions and updates.

    Ophie is looking good this afternoon, but you are right, she could still jump up. Are you planning to get a +11 test? That should give an indication of what her PMPS will be. If you can post that and put dose ? in the subject line, people can give you advice on what to shoot tonight.
     
  81. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    Thank you Carla. I will get at +11 for sure!
     
  82. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    Great surf. You got an ETA on that +11 ;-)
     
  83. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    My +11 will be at 5:30 EST! :smile: (23 minutes and counting...)
     
  84. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    I look forward to seeing that +11. Ophie might not be one of those cats that bounces. Some food for thought for tonight. If she doesn't bounce, I would definitely take the reduction. However, and this is the good and bad part of the depot, what you see in tonight's cycle will be somewhat influenced by the 1.5U dose you shot this morning. The good part is that often cats will get beautiful flat healing cycles with Lantus, like Ophie today. If you choose to shoot a .5 U reduction (33% less insulin) tonight, there may be more of an impact in a later cycle. Yet another option is to take a .5U reduction tonight and go back up to 1.25U tomorrow if you need the rest.

    Take some time to think about what your goals are with Ophie and how that fits into the rest of your life. Because life is important too! We'll support you with whatever choice you make. The TR protocol is a bit more aggressive and harder on beans, but according to research has a higher chance of remission. However, remission is also possible on SLGS. Yet other members have a goal of keeping their cats under renal threshold (mostly blues and greens). That's OK too.
     
  85. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 (Q about reduction tonight and SLGS)

    At +11, we are 109. We will see if she dips for her +12.

    Thanks for the food for thought Wendy. I would love to get Ophie to remission, but it feels so risky to do what I did this morning.

    I will report back at +12!

    Thank you all!
     
  86. Cleo & Jane (GA)

    Cleo & Jane (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 +11 109; DOSE?

    Wow Joely, What a morning you and Ophie had!! :eek: I am sending no drama vines for you tonight :D

    You did a great job! What great support from Kim and Carla, and the whole board! Isn't it wonderful :D :D
     
  87. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 +11 109 +12 96

    Thanks Jane :)

    ohmygod_smile She dipped and is 96 at +12. Dear goodness, Ophie! What do I do?
     
  88. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 +11 109 +12 96

    I'm going to give her 1 unit.
     
  89. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101 +11 109 +12 96

    OK, a few options:

    1) delay 20 minutes and see if she is coming up.
    2) shoot her new reduced dose of 1.25 units (if you have strips, high carb and the time tonight). She could still bounce in the PM cycle.
    3) shoot a much reduced or BCS (big chicken s#*$) dose, maybe half dose. It could still mean some testing for the first part of the night but keeps something in the depot.
    4) skip and get back on track tomorrow morning

    What appeals to you?
     
  90. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    I'm a slow typer. :oops: Ophie does a second dip at the end of the cycle, so she's been likely surfing for a while now.
     
  91. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Thank you Wendy. I reduced her dose. Finger crossed. I cannot keep poking her ear like this (so testing in 20 minutes is out of the question for her), she is just done with me today. I will test at +1 and report back.

    Thanks!
     
  92. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    I'm a slow typer too :D
     
  93. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Good luck with the reduced dose. I hope Ophie will surf safely for you tonight.
     
  94. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Thank you, Carla. I keep telling Ophie, "no more drama!"

    And, thank you again or all your support today :smile:.
     
  95. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Paws crossed for a non eventful evening. You should give some thought to tomorrow morning's dose, but your best guide will be tomorrow's PS. You could try the .5 reduction for a while and see how it goes. If it doesn't work, you can always take her back up.
     
  96. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Thanks Wendy. I will see what the morning PS brings for sure. In my current frame of mind, the .5 reduction is very appealing. Especially if she doesn't bounce tonight. But, who knows!
     
  97. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Hi Joely,
    I don't do dosing advise but I cheer really good :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
    Hope she surfs safe and easy for you tonight so you can get some much needed rest ;-) :D
     
  98. OphiesMom

    OphiesMom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    Thank you Kim!! :smile: You are a good cheerer :lol:
     
  99. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    what a day! kudos to Kim and Carla & everyone else for helping you through.

    the only comment i would add, Joely, is in response to your comment that it felt dangerous to you. as long as you have supplies and are home to monitor, you've increased carefully and take decreases when you should, this is a safe protocol. you did everything exactly right. i think it feels dangerous the first couple of times because you don't have experience or confidence to know how Ophie is going to respond. but now you do. this is part of the routine, and it is the path to healing her pancreas and hopefully, going off of insulin. i have tested non-diabetic cats and they were in the 40's, so that part is not dangerous. what is dangerous is a diabetic cat unattended or untested so they are at risk of going into dangerously low numbers.

    i always kept 3 cans of gravy cat food, one bottle of karo and an unopened box of strips in one cupboard so i was always ready. that helps you feel more confident too.

    so kudos to you for doing this. you are helping Ophie, not hurting her. be confident that the next time you are confronted with this situation you will know what to do and you can anticipate Ophie responding in a similar way.

    it's good & smart to be careful, but don't be afraid. you've got lots of people help, you've got written help, you've got the tools and now you know how to use them. ya did good!!! :YMHUG:
     
  100. Kim & Twice

    Kim & Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Re: 11/23 Ophie +9 101, +11 109, PMPS 96

    What Julie said really hits home. I was bloody terrified after my first go round, still pretty scared during the next, and through the others I started gaining confidence. Now I pretty much just handle it on my own because I know how Twice will respond to different things and I KNOW someone will be here if needed :D
    It is 100% your choice in how you proceed, but as for being scared, don't be. Just be alert and prepared. You really did do amazing today Joely. :D You are a great mamabean!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page