11/24 Jenks AMBG 43 +2 62 +4 114 +7 209 PMPS 347 Happy Thanksgiving!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
11/23

So much for hoping for a safe 60s-70s surf into AMPS. Can anything ever be easy? Nooooooooooo. Jenks decided to tank in the last remaining minutes of the cycle, which is going to screw up the rest of the day.

Protocol on this is to stall, and if necessary feed a tiny amount while stalling. But that's too advanced a technique for OH. I can't stay up any longer, and I'm not going to dump that responsibility on them at the same time they're trying to focus on getting ready for Thanksgiving. Plus, it's impossible to predict how slow Jenks will move. It may be an hour or more before he shows signs of an increase. In fact, it's possible he could continue down in the meantime. Also, the frequent testing necessary for this is ill-suited to paw testing, which is OH's preference. Jenks is hungry because he's got low BG and the rest of the crew is circling and ready for some breakfast eats. It's only going to get uglier if we have to delay food for everyone for an hour or more.

It sucks, but today we're going to have to skip the shot.

In an ideal world, maybe we could do better. But under these circumstances, I couldn't think of a better option. I fed everyone some 12% food. Jenks didn't eat as much as I would've liked before wandering off, so it feels like the right call even though it also feels like I'm letting him down. OH will check him in a bit just to make sure he's not unexpectedly dipping more.
 
Yikes, no turkey treats for Jenks today. Get those numbers up buddy, no need to add more stress to today's adventure.

Nothing wrong with being conservative for a day, better to take a few days to get back on track versus a hypo with no one around. Hope the MC bumps him up into some more comfortable numbers.
 
Way to pull a fast one Jenks :rolleyes: Sometimes they just call the "shots" and all we can do is follow. Get some rest and enjoy Thanksgiving!
 
Whoa Jenks!! A swim with the sharks was not on today's list of activities!!
Yikes! Hope he recovers quickly from his skipped shot!
Hope you enjoy your day off from ear poking today:bighug:
 
I think skipping the shot and feeding the 12% was a good move under your circumstances. We always say to feed the forties. He still has the depot to get him through the day. I'm sure he'll recover from the skip, just fine.
I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving.
 
Oh Jenks....as usual, your timing is impeccable :arghh:

I totally agree on skipping being a good idea....there's more to do today than hover around Jenks poking and prodding him to eat!!

Enjoy your Thanksgiving day and don't worry about Jenks....he's got his own plans (obviously)
 
Best laid plans. And then they have thier own plans. Sorry about your plans. Skipping sounds like the right idea.
 
We're paying for the skipped shot with a stinky pinky.

In retrospect, the only thing I could've done differently would've been to test him between +10 and AM. But the fact that he was flat for the three hours preceding that seemed to indicate that he was just going to surf. Depending on when he decided to drop, I might've been able to catch the 50s and carb him up. But even that wouldn't have been idea because it's during the fasting period. So we'd be exchanging one difficult scenario (stalling) for another (potentially artificially-inflated AM number).

Oh well. Hope he comes down tonight.
 
Even though it's late, happy Thanksgiving wishes go out to everyone. This community, which has banded together to fight diabetes and give all of our sweet sugar kitties the best lives possible, is a blessing that I'm thankful for every day. I don't know where we'd be without this place.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top