? 11/26, Fluffy flat curves, what should I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nat & Fluffy

Active Member
Hey guys :bighug: Making a new post since Fluffy has made his trip from my parent's house and is now in my apartment under my care! I'm so glad I'll be able to monitor him more closely, as you can see, my data spreadsheet can now be filled up~ What a stressful month...

The numbers are not looking good. There's many factors that could be at play and I'm just crossing my fingers Fluffy can get through this. Let me know if I can clarify the spreadsheet. I'm really just wondering I may need to hold <2.75 on Lantus tonight for a few more cycles... because we're not getting into ANY blue numbers :(
 
Bumping you up for dose help!
I am so happy you have him with you and can get his tests and shots and food regulated! That is so critical for this insulin, it really need consistency which you will be able to control now!! Yay!! This protocol has you hold the dose long enough for the depot to adjust, draining if you decrease and building up if you increase, why you wait before changing...its hard to understand but if you just follow the pros advice and stick to it it will start to fall into place and make sense what you are being recommended!
Yay again! I am so happy you did bring him home..Gussie is 18 ( at least) and when he couldn't walk or stand I heard the same noise your family gave you about giving this an honest chance..I'm glad I didn't listen and I'm super glad you didn't either.
There is help here for everything from diet to dose to shots to meds to remedies galore, and most importantly to hold you up when you are tired and frustrated, and we laugh together a lot too!:bighug::bighug:
 
I didn't see you're previous post. We link our daily threads so it's easy to backtrack. Here's your previous post.

My biggest hesitation with raising the dose if you have no PM tests. Also, the data your mom has been collecting is really suboptimal -- but you noted that yesterday. There are no actual pre-shot numbers listed and nothing mid-cycle. There's no way to tell if Fluffy has been bouncing. You've been doing a great job of testing. Can you get in at least a "before bed" test every night? Once you have a few PM tests, it should be safe to raise the dose.

You may want to see if you can "wrap" your text on your spreadsheet. The comments on your SS are running off of the page. Wrapping the text will prevent that.

I'm very glad you have Fluffy home with you. I suspect your kitty will settle in quickly since your scent will be all around him. A few extra treats won't hurt either!

Nat - if you need a way to talk about your caring for Fluffy, click on the link to "Gabby's Legacy" in my signature. A few post down from the video is the section that may be useful. It talks about the bond we form with our sugar kitties.

 
Last edited:
@Gussie's mom - Yes, that should be the icon. However, I use a Mac and I'm assuming it loads a Google SS the same across platforms. I know if you hover your mouse over the icon it will tell you what it does.
Thanks! I'm on a mac too or an iPad and sometimes it's a search party affair!:) I also found it under the cell options once you go to put text in a cell..thank you!
Sorry for the thread hijack of sorts!
 
@Gussie's mom YAY! I had NO idea Gussie was 18!! :bighug: I'm so proud of the longevity of our cats! I used to hear a lot of "yeah my cat was 10 when he passed away, he was getting real old" and I'm like oh gosh then 16 or 18 must be ancient o.o ! Yes I have been so happy now I'll be able to be consistent~ 8:15 am and 8:15 pm he gets his shots on the dot now! Sometimes my mom would be an hour late for his shots... Maybe that was okay with Novolin, but not at all with Lantus... Thinking about that makes me wince :nailbiting: But right now he is next to me, relaxed and well fed in a quiet calm apartment :)

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) Thank you so much!! :bighug: It was difficult. His dosing, his feeding, the times, not that much testing,... I had to bring him with me. Lots of love and treats are a must! He loves his new food and I'm hoping it will do some good numbers :) And thank you, I will be sure to update my spreadsheet ~ It looks so messy and cluttery and not pretty like some on here haha. And oh yes I'll check Gabby's, thank you! The relationship we have with our sugar kitties is really unlike any other. It's difficult but it makes me feel even closer to him and knowing that other people are going through the same thing or have already makes me feel more safe and supported. I am not proud of increasing his doses... I was stupid and panicked and I do dumb things when I am overwhelmed trying to fix my mom's mistakes and family over (holidays are not a favorite for me).

@LizzieInTexas gahh so many :( Fluffy literally is so patient, I'm just hoping within the next few days all these variables get controlled and cleared up and we can start to see some progress! Thank you so much for the support! :bighug:

@Julie and Eleanor :bighug: thank you so much!!!

It has just been a wild ride with him and to see the support he gets... he's never gotten it elsewhere. In tears right now :) we're so grateful!!!
 
Last edited:
Hi Nat and welcome - Am so happy now that Fluffy is with you.. I did note something in one of your posts about dry food in the hypo kit - dry food takes too long to get digested to have a quick effect on blood sugar - you will need wet food for the hypo kit
You are truly Fluffy's angel -
 
Hi Nat,
Here's the link to your yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-do-you-guys-think-of-these-numbers.168679/
To link a post, find it in the list. Right click (IBM) or Control click (Mac) the title. A drop down box appears. Choose, "copy". In your new post, click the paper-clip representation in the bar above where you will write your text. Go up to "Edit" in your browser and click "paste".

Have a good evening. Fluffy will be OK.
 
Hi Nat and welcome - Am so happy now that Fluffy is with you.. I did note something in one of your posts about dry food in the hypo kit - dry food takes too long to get digested to have a quick effect on blood sugar - you will need wet food for the hypo kit
You are truly Fluffy's angel -

Thank you so much @Carol & Murphy !! <3 You are too kind! Excellent, that works great!! I have stored Fancy Feast Chicken Classics, they have about 10% carbs so I've heard. I also have maple syrup. Is that good or do you have any other recommendations?
I am always watching over him though! I tried to fall asleep an hour ago, but he ended up jumping on my bed and walking over my face :facepalm:

Hi Nat,
Here's the link to your yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-do-you-guys-think-of-these-numbers.168679/
To link a post, find it in the list. Right click (IBM) or Control click (Mac) the title. A drop down box appears. Choose, "copy". In your new post, click the paper-clip representation in the bar above where you will write your text. Go up to "Edit" in your browser and click "paste".

Have a good evening. Fluffy will be OK.

Thank you @Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) !!! I'm still learning the quirks of this forum, any info on how to work it is greatly appreciated :)

Hopefully Fluffy can get some shuteye so I can! We'll be sleeping in the same room together and I'm a light sleeper so we'll have to see how well it all goes :confused:
 
I have stored Fancy Feast Chicken Classics, they have about 10% carbs so I've heard.

The "Classics" are generally less than 10%

What you want to have around for "emergencies" is something like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers....they're in the 20% carb range. What most of us do is pop the top, put it back down and "squeeze" the gravy part into another bowl. Give a teaspoon or two of just the gravy and then retest in 20-30 minutes

Karo, honey and syrup are all fine too...especially if Fluffy has problems with the gravy foods (some cats get sick from them)....a few drops of any of them with a little food usually is enough to bring them back up to safety...but the simple sugars wear off quickly too
 
The Fancy Feast Classics (the pate style food) are less than 10% carb -- generally in the 4% range. These are the go to low carb food for many people here. If no one has linked this for you, Lisa Pierson, DVM is a vet who occasionally posts on the Health board. She has a wonderful website on feline nutrition. She has also compiled a listing of many of the foods available along with their protein, fat, and carb content. This is the link to the food chart. The chart is a little dated and there have been some members who have been trying to pull together more recent data. If you're interested in reading more about feline nutrition, this is the link to Dr. Lisa's website.

Chris is correct -- most of us use a food that has "gravy" that you can skim off to steer low numbers. The liquid/gravy is more quickly digested than dry food. It is a bit of a trade off -- the gravy is metabolized quickly so it brings numbers up pretty fast but it also wears off. Dry takes much, much longer to raise numbers and it can take quite some time for the effects to wear off. If Fluffy is a dry food addict, using dry can cause come cats to refuse canned food if they get the dry. The only other issue to be aware of with gravy-based foods is that if your cat is sensitive to gluten, it can cause an upset stomach or diarrhea. Gabby was gluten sensitive and I used either Karo (corn syrup) or honey to steer her numbers.

 
@Chris & China and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) that's great, thank you!!! :cat: I'll be sure to buy some! Fluffy has been on Fancy Feast Classics for about a year now, unfortunately I heard they upped the carbs on the Chicken Feast, I don't know if that's true or not, but his remission of 8 months ended about more than a month ago as you can see, so I don't know if that may have had some factor is his diabetes returning. Fluffy was a dry food addict for about 14 years of his life, but he had no problem switching over to Fancy Feast, which put him OTJ. Now we made a full transition to the 5.5 oz can of Purina Pro Grain Free Turkey and Chicken, with 1 can per meal, which I let him free feed (he will eat about half the can within the first hour, and then the other half between +2 and +3, and then nibble a little of the leftovers around +10. I don't know if I should prevent him from eating past +10)?

I made the transition very fast, but he was already on a low carb diet with Turkey & Giblets, this one is supposedly a little lower, like around 2% from what I found.

Last night was a little rough, Fluffy for the most part let me sleep for about four hours. I let him roam around my room, but I think I might have to put him in the closet during the night with his bed, food, water, and litter because I'm seriously sleep deprived! I was able to test 271 +2 at the night, and then 259 at +9. He was nibbling a little around +10.

AMPS is 254! He's acting really cranky, but I thought I'd see him in the mid 300s!
 
Last edited:
Hi Nat. I'd give Fluffy some time to settle in to his new home before adjusting the dose. Hopefully, you'll see some blues today.
I think I might be cranky if I was put into a closet for the night. When I took J.D. on 10 day vacations to California every year, he was most active at night when I finally went to bed. He would crawl all over me, back and forth, and get up constantly in the night to get some lovings and eat and drink and use the litter box. It was like while I was out all day, he would sleep, and when I went to bed, he was so happy I was there, and just wanted to head butt me and purr and play and eat. Maybe a little exercise with a toy and then some food before bed will help him to settle in. From Jackson Galaxy's show My Cat From Hell, I've learned that cats naturally do the chase, catch, eat, and then sleep. Cats are creatures of habit, so I would try to start this tonight. Does he get the run of the whole apartment during the day? If so, I would make sure he is micro-chipped if he isn't already, just in case someone leaves a door open.

Have you started a new thread for today? I'm sorry if I only caught yesterday's thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top