Kathy and TiTi
Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/conversations/ss.101206/
I've been advised by an experienced and trustworthy member of this group to reduce TiTi's dose back to 9 units.
During the last 24 hours TTi was urinating less, and drinking less water, so I tested her this morning before her insulin shot. She was at BG 474, which perhaps indicates a downward trend, although I was told that the meter's margin of error is at 20+ or -. She has no ketones this afternoon.
Since TiTi has had so many drastic changes in her insulin, several of which caused to her to get very ill, I am not eager to change her once again, and surely not by 4units.
The most significant error made in the last 2 years was right at the beginning after about 6 weeks. AT 10u/bid insulin, TiTi was asymptomatic, except for BGs that were too low My vet reduced TiTi from 10 units to 1 unit. 10 units was too high, since she was testing at BG50 and BG40 units. But dropping down to 1 unit, was a mistake. TiTi got very ill, and until her dose was raised, she looked pretty bad.
I've been advised by an experienced and trustworthy member of this group to reduce TiTi's dose back to 9 units.
During the last 24 hours TTi was urinating less, and drinking less water, so I tested her this morning before her insulin shot. She was at BG 474, which perhaps indicates a downward trend, although I was told that the meter's margin of error is at 20+ or -. She has no ketones this afternoon.
Since TiTi has had so many drastic changes in her insulin, several of which caused to her to get very ill, I am not eager to change her once again, and surely not by 4units.
The most significant error made in the last 2 years was right at the beginning after about 6 weeks. AT 10u/bid insulin, TiTi was asymptomatic, except for BGs that were too low My vet reduced TiTi from 10 units to 1 unit. 10 units was too high, since she was testing at BG50 and BG40 units. But dropping down to 1 unit, was a mistake. TiTi got very ill, and until her dose was raised, she looked pretty bad.
Last edited: