11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104,+6.

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Danette & Esmeralda (Essi), Nov 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Because of NO DRY FOOD, Essi's numbers have been (for me lol) scary low, and I have panic'd, I have reduced her dose so drastic (for me lol); from 2.0u to 1.0u today. It will be another long day of testing. She is doing so good, taking her bath, sunbathing, rubbing up against the family, which she hasnt done in months. You guys are the best, there are no words to decribe the support Ive gotten here. From the bottom of my heart THANK YOU :smile: :smile: :smile: :D :D :D
     
  2. Anne&Muffin (GA)

    Anne&Muffin (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Morning Danette! That's a great amps for all those lows she had yesterday! I hope this is the extent of the bounce, but don't be surprised if she goes higher today. I read your condo last night, but didn't comment, so I just wanted to say WOW! :eek: What a busy day you had! And you really did a WONDERFUL job! I'm so impressed. Keep up the great work!
     
  3. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Thanks for the update! I was worried bout you last night and this morning after such a long, and emotion filled day!!
    Am happy that Esmeralda is helping to support you, as much as you are her! Quite the team!! Have a great day you two!! and the bean family as well, ;-)
    :thumbup cat_pet_icon
     
  4. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Thank You Guys,
    I was really beside my self yesterday, and Ive had a horrible cold I cant shake, I took some cold med's last night made me sooo sleepy, but come (pacific time) 2am, I jolted right up w/a wicked sinus headache and went searching for Essi. She tested 132, was soooo excited, but it allowed me to get back to bed w/some much needed rest. I have bags under my bags this morning (and i dont do coffee :shock: ) Its a redbull morning. :D
     
  5. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Hi Danette....here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29014
    Did you see Libby's post on the third page yesterday?
    Could you just update this morning's number on your SS for us? That is an amazing AMPS and actually, I am quite surprised that it is such a nice low yellow. After all those low greens yesterday, if this is the bounce, then it isn't too bad at all. We might see higher numbers later....OR...you might see Esmeralda doing her low green trick once again today!
    Will you be able to test her during the day? If you can get a +2, (or even a +1) you will see if she is dropping. If so, some LC would be good to give and post the BG number you get, okay?

    Yo did an amazing job yesterday Danette! I hope you did not exhaust your supply of HC gravy....and that you have some on hand. She seems to really be reacting to the LC foods and the insulin....way to go Esmeralda!!!

    ETA: what time was that 132? Was it at +1? Please update your SS and give her some LC food...and retest in a half an hour, ok? I would be prepared to give her some HC soon if the snack now doesn't keep her surfing the blues, ok?
    That was quite a drop so soon after eating. She is heading down now....and food will soften the drop.
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Esmeralda's Thurs. Condo

    I attached your condo from yesterday.

    I don't know if you saw Libby's note above from yesterday. I'd get a +2 for sure today so you can keep an eye on Essi's numbers.
     
  7. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    I know I did read it, and even discussed w/my husband, but this morning, this mornings "u" was a weak 1.0. I am home all day, nursing this cold and working out of the house, so I planning on testing 30min past the hr.

    "Back in Sept" right after she was dignosed, I had to board her for 4 nights/5days; had to go out of town (I cldnt get out of it; tried) the vet did a glycose curve while they had Essi, when I got back, she had gone from 1.5u 2xs a day, to .5 once a day (AM ONLY), I was so excited. Where did the vet/dr came up w/that number is beyond me. Dr did say while Esmeralda was in her company she did go down to 70, thats why the decrease in the "u'. Now sitting back and looking at it, Im wondering If they (vet/dr) pulled her off of her dry food that 5days I boarded her. Well you can only imagine what happened when I got her home, she went from bad to worse; she was loosing her bladder (cldnt make it to the cat box). The vet/dr put her dose back up to 1.5u 2xs a day. Just wanted to share that fact...
     
  8. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Can you please update your SS and was that 132 +1??
     
  9. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

    Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, Such a big decision this mornin

    Pat, I think that 132 was at 2AM last night, not this today...it looks like it was PMPS +7. ETA: Whoops, I mean a +19!
    Danette, I agree that you will need to keep a close eye again today. She may drop down into those greens again on you....time will tell. Sorry about the cold, I hope you feel better! Very happy to hear that Essi is acting more like herself, that's great! Waiting to see what the number is, and is it a +2?
     
  10. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    +2/167
     
  11. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    Ok..I see that the SS is updated and the +2=167. Thank you! :mrgreen:
     
  12. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    good morning, danette.
    the +2 is lower than we'd like to see at this point. my suggestion is to feed one teaspoon of high carb food now and retest in 30-45 minutes to see if you've managed to slow the drop.

    feeding hc now is not the norm, but given what essi has been doing over the last 24 hours... we can't count on "the norm". i'd like to see the drop slowed down at this point as there are many hours left in this cycle. in essence, we're erring on the side of caution until we can figure out just how much impact removing dry from her diet has made.. make sense?
     
  13. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    Hi Danette! I am glad that essi is doing OK this morning - I had watched last night until I couldn't keep the eyes open. :D I will put in my 2 cents and say that I agree with the others - watch her carefully today. Her +2 indicates that she may go low again this morning.

    I think you did an amazing job yesterday - congrats on a job well done. good luck today. Essi - have a great AM cycle!
     
  14. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    Jill,
    going to feed her hc gravy, will retest 30min past the hr. Thank You, I toy'd w/the "u". was only going to give her .5, but was watching her increase from 2am this morning. so i leaned twards the 1.0, and feed her high carbs today again.
     
  15. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    Michelle,

    Thank you, yah I cldnt keep my eyes open either, i saw Essi was on the rise, and crashed, woke up at 2am, and retested. It will be a very watchfull eye today. Esmeralda likes hanging out w/me in the office/home, thats were Im at today.
     
  16. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    that's fine. she may not take a nose dive today.
    i'll check back with you shortly...
     
  17. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    yah she wont eat, she ate pretty good this morning. retesting now...
     
  18. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    101, + 3
     
  19. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    i'd let her lick a little hc gravy and retest in 30 minutes, k?
     
  20. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    k, will try, she walked away from the gravy a sec ago, if she wont do the gravy, i will do the maple syrup again, so slow the numbers down
     
  21. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    sounds good.
    let us know what you ended up doing, k?
    see you in 30 minutes...
     
  22. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    just a thought...
    you can mix a little hc gravy with syrup and rub it on her gums if she won't lick hc gravy on her own.
     
  23. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    it was maple syrup, she is annoyd w/me this morning. :-x
     
  24. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    yes, i'm not surprised she's annoyed.
    when alex gets like that i tell her over and over again how i'm helping her and have to do this. lots of petting and chin scritches helps, too.
     
  25. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    138 +3.5, what is a good number to be at +6?
     
  26. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167Such a big decision AM

    that's a nice bump for now. it's influenced by syrup, so you can't let your guard down yet though. i'd give her a break for a little bit. retest in 45 minutes to an hour, k?

    we don't have enough data to *know* what a good +6 numbers is for essi yet. she's had 2 cycles where she's continued to drop til pmps, so i think the best way to handle this is to stay ahead of her. the way to do this is to continue being vigilant about testing. continue posting your numbers. we'll suggest when to test/feed depending on whether she's dropping, maintaining, or rising. sound like a plan?
     
  27. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5(138, maple s

    yah, sounds great to me, im very excited to be outta the red though. will test at noon :cool:
     
  28. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5(138, maple s

    +4.5/104
     
  29. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5(138, maple s

    how about feeding her a teaspoon of hc and retesting in 30 minutes?
    if she won't eat the hc... try drizzling some of the hc gravy on her regular lc food.

    let me know what she ends up eating, please.
     
  30. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Great job Danette.. So sorry you are not feeling well and sending healing vines your way!!! So the 138 was just a syrup bump so good that you are watching her...you are quickly learning the way to manage the curve!!! Good thing you have our fantastic advisors on board to help you with this. GREAT JOB ESSI!!!
     
  31. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Essi is being a bear/stuborn, she wont eat, so we compromised, human albacore tuna in frest water packet (her favorite). will test shortly.
    Didnt give her much, aprox 1-1 1/2 tsp.
     
  32. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Hi there! This is from JILL. She is having trouble signing on to the board so I am posting this for her:


    danette, i wanted to take a minute to explain my reasoning behind what i've been asking you to do today. even though essi's dose has been reduced, we're unsure of what she's going to do next. removing dry from her diet has definitely created an impact. in case she decides to continue dropping as she did in the AM cycles yesterday and the day before, i'd like to see her stay slightly above 100 for the next few hours. this will give us some wiggle room towards the end of the cycle if history repeats itself.

    normally we don't feed hc or give karo to the numbers we've been seeing today. those following esmeralda over the past couple of days should be aware of this. in this particular case, we're trying to manage the curve so that there's room for essi to continue to drop as the cycle goes on... "if" that's what she does. if only my crystal ball were back from the shop! :mrgreen:

    any questions?

    FROM JILL/ALEX
     
  33. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    No questions. Im following everything so far. But if her numbers continue to drop Im thinking 0.5 tomorrow, but we will know more as the today goes on. Testing her now
     
  34. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    +6.5/79
     
  35. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

    Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Danette, did you see the post from Jill above? Give her some more HC gravy or syrup, please...try to keep her above 100 if you can. There is some sort of problem with the board, I couldn't get on either.
     
  36. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Just a re-cap
    AMPS 230 1u
    +2 167
    +3 101
    +3.5 138 (maple syrup)
    +4.5 104 (human tuna/albacore fresh water in pouch
    +6.5 79
     
  37. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Yah giving her some maple syrup again. Thank you Laurie, I had trouble getting on also.
     
  38. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

    Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Does she like ice cream? That will boost her up...tuna is LC, yummy but won't boost numbers
     
  39. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    LOL, I do not have any ice cream in this house, this is a first LOL. I just rubbed some syrup on her gums/tongue LOL; whatever I got my finger on to LOL
     
  40. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

    Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Ok, I know she's being picky...just another idea. Keep posting numbers if you can.

    There's another board that you can go to when there are issues with FDMB, the link is in the New to Lantus stickie. You will need to sign up for an account and get approved, so not good for right now...but I strongly suggest you sign up so you have an option to go there for advice when this board is down...ok?
     
  41. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

    Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Other ideas to boost numbers: cake icing, whipped cream, vanilla milkshake, french fries. Even human gravy....but be careful about spices..no onions(toxic).
     
  42. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Thank you, I will sign up
     
  43. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    are there any "human" foods essi likes?
    alex loves cheetos and cheeze-it crackers...
     
  44. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    or there is one person who used to post here who used honey ham.

    this condo is making me hungry!
     
  45. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    She really doesnt like human food at all, I might have a can of cheese in the cupboard I can try, but the syrup seems to keep her above 100

    +7.5/107
     
  46. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    looking good!
    i'm sure essi doesn't want to hear this, but i'd retest in 30 minutes. you want to stay ahead of her...
     
  47. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Ok will do, we just wont tell her, I just gave her a big dose of love
     
  48. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    +8.0/87 syrup time again
     
  49. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    syrup sounds good, see you in 30 minutes.
     
  50. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    ?, Essi's new food came in today - Merrick, which is abit lower on the carbs vs the Purina DM, can I still switch it out with her numbers being so low? I hope that made some kinda mad sense lol
     
  51. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    If she likes it, it might be something good to try if she is being picky. Do you know the carb count of the Merrick you got?
     
  52. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    update?
     
  53. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    +8.5/96 and the Merrick/Cowboy Cookout has 5carbs/I believe the Purina DM has 7carbs
     
  54. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    I just fed her, she walked away from the cowboy cookout, so I mixed up some Purina dm for her, she gobbled it up. Id rather her be on Merrick, so I will have to mix the two and try again.again.again..... ;-)
     
  55. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    How come we are keeping Ess over 100 today? Not that Im doubting here, just curious; why not give her syrup when she gets down to 40's?
     
  56. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    That's a fair question. :smile:

    Letting them get to the 40's is fine when you know your dose isn't too high. Most of us here have worked up to our dose in a methodical manner and have a lot of data, so we know that running our cats low is ok. However, Essi's response since you changed her food makes it look like her dose might still be too high. If the dose is too high, then it is a lot harder to get control over the low numbers. In that case it is better just to not let them get into low numbers. One of our leaders here used to call it "the ball rolling down the hill picking up speed." Once the numbers start to drop fast, then they can just keep gathering speed and get ahead of you. When you're on the proper dose, it's usually not hard to slow them down with a bit of gravy. You've been having to work very hard with food and syrup for 4 cycles now. Because you're having to fight against the insulin so hard, we're afraid her dose might be too high and we don't want you to lose control.

    Don't be worried, it's nothing you did wrong and all of this is a GREAT sign. We're just wanting to be sure Essi is safe while things settle down. She'll be just fine and maybe this dose actually *is* ok, but we like to err on the side of caution when the diet change is making such a big difference to a cat.

    Also, see the 230 this morning? And see how just yesterday when you missed a shot the number was a lot higher? The fact that she didn't very high this time *might* mean her pancreas is trying to work. :mrgreen: The next few cycles will tell us a lot.
     
  57. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    in addition to what libby said...

    you don't have to keep her over 100 any more this cycle. the purpose of keeping her over 100 up til now was to slow the momentum down... and i'm glad we have. my guess is you would have been fighting much, much lower numbers long before now if you hadn't slowed the cycle down. it was too big a chance to take with a kitty who is freshly off dry food and isn't too thrilled about eating hc. it's looking more and more like the reduction to 1u bid is not enough of a reduction for essi...
     
  58. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Hi Danette,
    Libby's and Jill's explanations are awesome, as always. Very clear. Very concise. I'm sure that in following the advice of Jill and Libby you will do just fine with managing the cycle. Merrick makes two slightly higher-carb foods than Cowboy Cookout. Stu liked both of them and I used to use them to steer his numbers: Grammy's Pot Pie (8%), Turducken (9%). When I needed a little more oomph, I fed Merrick Thanksgiving Day Dinner (12%).

    You're doing just fine, and so is Esmeralda. Hang in there!

    Ella
     
  59. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Thank you, made all the sense in the world. My husband's been full of questions, trying to answers his questions, and ask my own in return. He is usually not home, and have never seen anyone give a cat syrup. So I stopped and explained what, why and where ?s.And why are you testing her again, Danette have you seen Essi's ears.... UGH

    whewwww, I feel better now I vented. LOL

    retesting. This number I think will tell me alot Id think???????
     
  60. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    +10/72

    ok we are at our 10hr after the u, Im thinking NO pm u tonight? Then my next ?, what should we reduce it to? .25?
     
  61. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    it really doesn't help us to have others question the amount of poking does it? i mean, aren't we frustrated and worried enough... -----just venting along with you--- you two have had quite the run! hang in there!
     
  62. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    we have 2 hours to go. i know it seems silly, but a lot can happen in that amount of time.
    my guess is you won't be shooting tonight, but let's see how things go over the next 2 hours.

    the 72 is 30 minutes after the 96?
    if so, i'd retest in 30 minutes...
     
  63. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Jill, the 96 was at +8.5, +10, so there was a 1 1/2 hr between test(s), will test at the top of the hr
     
  64. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    oh good. that's even better!
     
  65. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    +10.5/54, time for more syrup. Damn i was hoping this was over
     
  66. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    you're a pro at this already. :smile:

    Lather, rinse, repeat, just keep doing what you're doing. See you in 30...
     
  67. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    danette, if she'll eat... let her eat whatever she wants.
     
  68. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Protocol for Lantus is 12hrs right? or is it unknown>
     
  69. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    not sure what you're asking...
     
  70. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    How long does lantus stay in Ess? its a 12hr cycle?
     
  71. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    we've seen cycles last as long as 16 - 17 hours. it's rare, but it has happened.
     
  72. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    just want to say "wow!"

    nice job...especially with a siamese girl! they got minds of their own...

    celi & binks
     
  73. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    +11/77
     
  74. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    looking good. you are becoming quite the pro at this!
     
  75. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    This will get better right? Eventually I will be able to leave the house for more than 2hrs one day right? LOL
     
  76. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    it's often been noted the trip down the dosing scale is much harder than the trip up.
    it's too soon to tell, but with any luck you won't have to be doing this for too much longer.
     
  77. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Danette...what a day you've had!!! You have done spectacular!!! You sound nice and calm ....I know those 15/30 mins seem like forever!!! You've had the best
    helping you out....isn't it wonderful to have them there? I always think even the best vets couldn't do that. Just wanted to stop in and say hi and tell you you've done
    super. Will be interesting to see what your little girl has in store for tonight!
     
  78. Anne&Muffin (GA)

    Anne&Muffin (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Wow, that Essi sure is keeping you busy! You are doing a wonderful job! And don't worry, some day you WILL be able to leave the house again :lol:
     
  79. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    danette, just want to double check with you...
    you're using U-100 syringes with half units marked on the barrel, right?
     
  80. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    ohmygod_smile UGH this Lantus is being stuborn tonight 11.5/49, yep more syrup, need to find other methods, Im getting syrup every were ohmygod_smile
     
  81. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Another unbelievable day for you. You've done great - very nice work today. And you have the best helping you. Awesome job!
     
  82. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    see if she'll eat some food with that syrup... food has more "staying" power.
     
  83. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Here is a photo of 0.5u of insulin.

    [​IMG]

    and a photo of 0.25u

    [​IMG]
     
  84. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Jill,
    Its BD Ultra Fine capacity 1/2, length 12.7mm, guage 30g

    They are not 1/2marked, didnt know they made such a needle until today. I called the vet, CVS and Rite Aid, they do not carry them. Someone told me to try walmart, I am going there tomorrow. Wasnt sure if I could switch?
     
  85. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    the nurse taught me how to measure 1/2, I use the plunger top as a guide as the mark, this .morning I gave her 1.0, when I mentioned it was weak, i cld see a lil (talking a fraction) of daylight between the top of the plunger and the line. I have every kitchen light on and I even (if its daylight out) walk it outside also.
     
  86. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    I will retest, and if its still low I will see if I can get her to eat w/syrup.
     
  87. CD and BigMac

    CD and BigMac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Hi Danette,
    These are the BD syringes I used. I ordered them from Hocks (see the green button at top of page.)

    [​IMG]
     
  88. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Hey Danette -

    I used to use the Walmart Relion syringes with 1/2 unit markings (I think they all have 1/2 unit markings, but I would check them out before paying for them just to be sure). They were way cheaper than the BDs too and very convenient. Just make sure you're getting the 3/10 cc syringes.
     
  89. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    if you go to walmart, this is what you ask for:

    Reli On Insulin Syringes
    Capacity: 3/10cc (Doses up to 30 units)
    Gauge: 31
    Length: 8mm (5/16")

    #81131-0311-78
     
  90. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    if Walmart doesnt have them tomorrow, I will order them from Hocks. BUT the ones im using or ok for now right?
    +12/95
     
  91. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Jill,

    Are those 1/2 marked?
     
  92. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    i think the ones you're using now will make it very difficult to measure out a dose like 0.25 unit.
     
  93. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    I'll let Jill or others answer your question but I started out with the Relions and moved to the BDs. The plungers on the Relions were not uniform in the syringe. I really like the BDs better but if I were you, I'd definitely get the Relions tomorrow...you may not need to order the BDs at this rate :lol: :lol: Even tho I think they do all come in 1/2 unit markings at WM, be sure to ask....and they won't take them back.
     
  94. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    yep, those are the syringes I use most of the time, and they do have 1/2 unit markings. You won't believe how much easier it is to measure with these smaller syringes.
     
  95. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    Well I have an eye apt tomorrow w/Walmart when the open, I will get them, and also have to restock up on gravy hc, and probley get some whip cream/creamier/ maybe some can cheese, something other than syrup. LOL

    Damn this Lantus is soooo irrating tonight. Its going to be a long night.
     
  96. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    she wont eat, and im giving her syrup (forced), she is just not happy w/me tonight. I wldnt be happy w/me either if I were her.
     
  97. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    umm, well here's the thing..............
    you don't have time to order syringes from hocks. lol!
    if i were in your shoes, i would pick up some of the relion syringes from walmart tomorrow and not shoot until i had them in my hot little hands...
    even if it meant skipping tonight's shot and tomorrow morning's shot.

    i'm concerned about suggesting a dose of 0.5u for morning. i don't think you need a third day like this. neither does essi.
    all in all, i think your best bet is to get U-100 syringes marked with half units and go from there.

    if walmart does not have them, walgreens might. walgreens (or other drug stores) won't have the relion brand, but they may carry U-100 3/10cc syringes marked with half units.

    several of us have been putting our heads together regarding a new dose. everyone agrees with a new dose of 0.25u bid.
     
  98. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    awww, poor baby. she's had it. luckily, she'll get over it.
     
  99. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    ok Jill, yah I am agreeing w/you, I will still continue to test her tonight, I cant go to bed w/her numbers dropping like they still are.
     
  100. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 11/5 Esmeralda AMPS 230, +2/167,+3/101,+3.5/138,+4.5/104

    i know you won't go to bed with her numbers dropping.
    you are doing everything you possibly can for your baby...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page