12-04 Small Kitty - amps 259 +3 250 +6 178 +8 88 +9 47 +10 117 +11 265 pmps 310- Lowest drop ever

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
See last post for ''911''


Good morning all,

This morning Small Kitty has taken out another of his hidden card, YELLOW :)
It's still double the yesterday's value but he's going down, that's what counts,
this without waiting 3 days to clear a bounce.

Dr. Roch called me yesterday with some very good news, the liver is now
perfectly normal. The bw from march 2016 had shown a very sick liver and
now, 8 months after, it's in the normal range performing it's task very well.
This means that Small Kitty can be put under anaesthesia without any risk,
we have an appointment for dental in 2 weeks. Can't wait to see if he'll go down after.

Dr. Roch is a very nice person, I think she falled in love with Small Kitty.
She started gathering information on Lantus (she's a Vetsulin pro) and can't
wait to have the SS on hands so she can study what's going on. I proposed
her to get documentation about lantus and she said she found this to be a good
idea as I've (WE) done a good job without any help from a veterinarian.
Think I'll send her the German research on SLGS / TR, just not sure if
it's up to Doctorate level, will need to see.

On this, time for breakfast and testing, Dr. Rosh wanted a full 2 days curve.

Good day folks, keep some time for you, don't spent the
entire day at the church :)

Sébastien
Yesterday
 
Last edited:
What a great report for SK and super news that the liver is working well!!!

Your new vet sounds like a real gem. How wonderful that she is willing to learn and sounds excited about seeing your spreadsheet. Any vet that is open-minded is a real keeper!
113.gif


So SK is cleared for the dental. He is already showing better numbers more often now and (fingers crossed) the dental may give him that extra boost to get into good numbers ALL the time

upload_2016-12-4_8-43-51.png


Hope SK has more good numbers today. :bighug:
 
Great news. I'm glad you'll be able to get the dental done soon. That's great the vet is open to learning about Lantus and TR.
 
Ok, situation is very unusual here. Small Kitty has never gone that low. GL is 47 at
+9, (in or near nadir). I've given him Friskes Chicken Dinner In Gravy. He's not
acting with confusion or anything like that.

What's the level where I should give maple syrup or something like that. In how
long should I test now that he's under HC influence ?
 
Good catch! He's breaking a bounce so came down pretty hard today. Test again in 15 min and if he's still under 68 than give a bit of honey with some more gravy. Starting with gravy is fine but just give the gravy part with a little of the chicken so you don't fill him up. Rinse, Lather & repeat until he's up over 68 on the AT. Once over 50 - ETA : over 68 hold food and test every 30 min for 2 hours.
Shooting & Handling Low Numbers

ETA - up over 68 not 50...
 
Here are the general guidelines. Except with a pet meter you want him over 68.

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
Hi Sébastien.

Test 20 minutes after giving the gravy food. Don't give too much, since you may need to give more later. Did you just give some gravy, or food, too? How much did you give.

This earns a reduction. Congratulations.

Gave the chicken as well, he's trying to eat the aluminium at the bottom of the can :)

I've full of them just in cases like that.
 
Pretty lucky I turned back an invitation from a friend to go do some photography as it's beautiful
sun here. He found it very strange I was scrapping a day just for a curve...
.
 
Was there any real risk ?
YES. If you hadn't caught it and reacted, SK could have kept dropping and had a very serious hypo event. You need to stop feeding now (sorry, SK) and test again in one hour, then an hour after that, because the HC could wear off and he could drop again.

For your vet, here is the link to the actual paper on TR. Might appreciate it, as it is more "official" than our stickie.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf
 
HC could wear off and he could drop again.

You've just made me learn something Tricia (and thanks btw), was sure the climb was there to stay.

So I should go with a NS even if he's rising ? (shot is in 2h). I was ready to give him his reduced shot.

Food he got is just a little more then his usual LC food portion. (feeding was stopped at +9)
.
 
feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food

Think I went a bit too hard on food quantity, will save the data at close range.

Was looking for food quantity and how hard to go :

http://www.felinediabetes.com/hypo-emergency.htm

I could not find this specific information so I went full scale.

Could be good to incorporate the information there, it's very pertinent.

To be safe now he is, more then enough.
.
 
LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS

Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a low number (40 – 60mg/dL or 2.2 – 3.3mmol/L) give food or treats until the blood glucose numbers rise to an acceptable level. If the cat refuses to eat even his/her favorite foods, you can syringe feed or administer a small amount of syrup

This is the section that applied to SK. It does not tell you how much food to give, I see. What we recommend is to start with a teaspoon of just the gravy portion of the HC food. Ir that doesn't do it, you give a little more, and/or add a drop of syrup. Each situation is different, as is every cat, so you have to know how your cat reacts to HC food. Some need a lot of it, and some just a little. Make notes about this experience, so next time you know what you did and how well it did or did not work. In this case, I'd have to agree you overdid it, but you aren't the first and won't be the last. In any case, he'd earned his reduction, and 47 is pretty close to "very low" on a pet meter, so it's not that much of an over-reaction.

Remember, the effect of that HC food will probably wear off in another hour (just in time for PMPS), so he could drop again. Or, he could bounce.
 
Think I went a bit too hard on food quantity, will save the data at close range
It's all part of the learning experience on what works for your kitty. Once again that ECID comes to play and those are guidelines. It would be good for you to make a note on your SS of how much and what you fed for future reference. No harm, he already earned the reduction and much better safe than sorry!
 
This is the section that applied to SK. It does not tell you how much food to give, I see. What we recommend is to start with a teaspoon of just the gravy portion of the HC food. Ir that doesn't do it, you give a little more, and/or add a drop of syrup. Each situation is different, as is every cat, so you have to know how your cat reacts to HC food. Some need a lot of it, and some just a little. Make notes about this experience, so next time you know what you did and how well it did or did not work. In this case, I'd have to agree you overdid it, but you aren't the first and won't be the last. In any case, he'd earned his reduction, and 47 is pretty close to "very low" on a pet meter, so it's not that much of an over-reaction.

Remember, the effect of that HC food will probably wear off in another hour (just in time for PMPS), so he could drop again. Or, he could bounce.

Thanks for the information ! (was not criticizing anybody)

Small Kitty has his own set of rules (there isn't :)).

Over reaction might be good in this case as I'll be squeezed a little later on. Will need to
leave for 4h. after shot time, can't avoid it. If he's close to red like he will probably be, guess
I'll be safe ? Or should I set the feeder at +2 with some sort of food ?

.
 
Wow! SK, you are certainly full of surprises and what a good catch Sebastien!

And great news on the BW and the pending dental. :cat:
 
Think Small Kitty is more then safe, nadir will be interesting tonight with reduced shot + HC + Regular feed.

Probably disastrous..
 
WOWSER SK!!!

Looks like Sk had some good surprises for you today Sebastian!!! Good catch and good job working through the hypo. Maybe a titch too much HC, but SK can still surprise you later. WTG on the reduction!! :D
 
Sebastian I can see your smile beaming all the way down to where I am!:)
Hope your second job today goes well...surf safely SK your Captain has to go do the things that keep your fuds coming:cat::cat:
 
If it were me since he pulled a super dive out of his magic hat today I would set the alarm and try to get a test in somewhere in that cycle...
That's if it were me....
Glad transport Gods smiled on you today!:bighug:
 
@Gussie's mom @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey @Doodles & Karen

Thank you very very very much ! You made me learn something I would never tough I would need :

Balance hypo reaction. Think I'll go easy next time, should have waited for
you before opening the valve :)

Next time there is some low numbers we'll go with some e-hormonal transfer for your kitties !

Good night everyone !
It's scary the first time and we all over do it at first. There will be a next time and you can practice balance, LOL :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top