12/21 OSCAR - Started Lantus AMPS 18.4/+4 5.1/+8 6.1 PMPS 12.7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oscar & Mom Sheila

Member Since 2015
To tell you the truth I've been nervous of switching over only because I want so much to do this right & I know there's potential for tripping up at least in the beginning. Got away from Caninsulin as the dips turned into hypos on occasion. I'd prefer the boy experience something a bit more level, not so severe.

Oscar is using cartridges. I've been watching the video on shooting and the info on both TR and SLGS many times but it won't be until I put it into practice and get your input, that I will absorb it as needed. I find myself confused as to which method to go on. SLGS seems more straight forward (I'm into simple at my age). I also like that the numbers in the information sheet are converted for us Canadian folks. TR has it's benefits but is more complicated (nervous of tripping up more with it).

I'm starting him at 1U (Oscar weighs approximately 9 lbs) and have switched to 3/10cc U-100 syringes.

Oscar continues to eat Boreal (wet) lamb & beef. He went from 18.4 to 5.1 within 4 hours. I didn't want him to go slower so gave him a treat. Looking forward to any and all input on Oscar's first Lantus day.
 
Looking forward to any and all input on Oscar's first Lantus day.

You have two 12/20's on your spreadsheet.....LOL

That's actually been a great cycle today for Oscar's first dose but 1 unit may be a little too much! Lantus is totally different from Caninsulin and it takes several days before you'll see how low the dose will take him and if he dropped into green on his first dose, I think it's too high

Usually if they've been on another insulin, we take that dose into consideration when switching.....I'd suggest dropping him back to .5 for now

Lantus is what we call a "depot" insulin....when you first start it, only a little goes into the bloodstream....the rest goes "in the depot" (think "spare tank")...the depot is kind of like a timed release.....it is first stored in the fat layer and then slowly dissipates into the bloodstream (which is why it's so good at holding cats in nice flat numbers)

BUT....the depot has to be established first and we don't usually see that kind of cycle on the first dose. If you continue with the 1U dose, when his depot is fuller, I'm concerned he'll drop too low

It will be helpful if you'll make a definite line on your spreadsheet for where you started Lantus so it's very clear you've switched

Look at Taffy's spreadsheet.....see how she made a "line" when she switched to a human meter? You should do something like that and put "LANTUS" into it
 
You have two 12/20's on your spreadsheet.....LOL

That's actually been a great cycle today for Oscar's first dose but 1 unit may be a little too much! Lantus is totally different from Caninsulin and it takes several days before you'll see how low the dose will take him and if he dropped into green on his first dose, I think it's too high

Usually if they've been on another insulin, we take that dose into consideration when switching.....I'd suggest dropping him back to .5 for now

Lantus is what we call a "depot" insulin....when you first start it, only a little goes into the bloodstream....the rest goes "in the depot" (think "spare tank")...the depot is kind of like a timed release.....it is first stored in the fat layer and then slowly dissipates into the bloodstream (which is why it's so good at holding cats in nice flat numbers)

BUT....the depot has to be established first and we don't usually see that kind of cycle on the first dose. If you continue with the 1U dose, when his depot is fuller, I'm concerned he'll drop too low

It will be helpful if you'll make a definite line on your spreadsheet for where you started Lantus so it's very clear you've switched

Look at Taffy's spreadsheet.....see how she made a "line" when she switched to a human meter? You should do something like that and put "LANTUS" into it
I appreciate your input so much - will go back to .5U as of tomorrow. As for the 2 12/20s - you can see why I need to keep things simple. will adjust Oscar's spreadsheet pronto :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top