12/26 Cleo AMPS=210 +7=305 +10=172 PMPS=167 +4=400 +7=429

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Today AMPS is better than yesterday. This is the 6th cycle at this dosage (1,25 IU). I'll stay home from work tomorrow and the day after, so I could monitor Cleo. Do you think I should increase dosage?
 
I didn't increase dose because her pmps were lower than usual. What should I do now? When should I test? Should I feed more times than usual? She eats only across shot time.
 
I just answered your question on the Main Health board, but i think it's a great idea for you to post here on the Lantus/Lev board. What I said there was that i thought if you didn't see green tonight and you were going to be around tomorrow's day cycle, you have room to increase by 0.25u to 1.5u.

I also asked about your goals for Cleo.
 
Thank you Julie and sorry for my double post. I really would like remission for Cleo. I would like to take advantage of these holidays, to regulate as much as possible Cleo, because normally I'm at work the whole day and I can't testing from am shot to pmps.
 
It's fine to have posts both there and here. normally i only post on the Lantus/Lev group, but i happened to be on the main forum looking for someone with a high dose cat and i just saw your question. But I'd encourage you to start posting here as often as you can, daily if possible, so we can help you understand how Lantus works and how you can help Cleo. When I see normal numbers at preshot, I think that's a very good sign and if you've had them once, you'll likely have them again. Learning how to safely shoot low (ie, shooting the full dose into normal numbers 50-120) is the path to becoming tightly regulated, and hopefully providing the chance for the pancreas to heal and for the cat to go off of insulin and become diet-controlled.
 
You're just at the beginning, Delia. Be encouraged - once you know more it will all make more sense. :) Whether or not Cleo can become diet-controlled, no one knows. But you can get her better controlled and that alone will protect her body from the damage of high blood sugar.

All the posts have changed since we're at the new board, but i have had one bookmarked that explains how things typically respond when you shoot low. I'll find it for you to peek at.
 
Well that was remarkably easy to find! Yay! Here's the post - when you have time, make sure you look at some of the spreadsheets that I linked. Notice what happens in the rest of the cycle when the preshot is under 100. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thre...-3-110-4-146-5-147-6-248.121668/#post-1266888

After you've had a chance to read and think about things, ask if you have questions. The main caution is that you want to do this (shoot the full dose into normal numbers) the first few times when you are home to monitor. After you've done it a few times and can predict, based upon past data, that Cleo will be ok afterwards, then you can do it when you go to work.

Do you have a timed feeder? Those can be essential tools for those of us who work and follow TR.
 
Thank you again. I don't have a time feeder, I will buy one as soon as possible. Is there any particular feature that I have to consider?
 
I got the PetSafe 5 Compartment Timed Feeder: http://www.amazon.com/s/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Bought ours at PetCo locally, but they may be cheaper online. When you read the reviews, you'll find people complain about them not necessarily opening all the way. The way it works is that you put a 5 compartment food tray into a base unit, then close the lid. The lid has one compartment exposed with a cut-out in the lid. That means that you can have 4 covered compartments. What we found was that as long as you fully seat the food tray into the base unit, it will always rotate correctly. There is one button that you can press manually to rotate the tray to see if it's fully seated. One huge plus to this feeder is that you can set times you want. Some feeders have pre-selected times that you have to use. Some feeders have fewer compartments.

At the top of this forum is a sticky on "how to follow Tight Reg if you're working full-time" and there are great ideas in there that might help you. I put in there how we used the feeder with Punkin.
 
I realized I have only four test strips for tonight and tomorrow morning so I preferred not to waste them. So at +2.5 I saw Cleo (or I thought to see) a little strange and I gave her some food without testing bg. I give her half of this:

http://www.almonature.us/gatto/legend/#05
Almo Nature 100% Natural Salmon
Recipe: Salmon and water sufficient for cooking.
GA: Proteins 16.5%, Fats 1%, Ashes 2%, Fibers 1%, Moisture 78%. Kcal/kg 660

At +4 I decided to use one strip and with my big surprise Cleo's bg was 400. How is it possible? PS was 167. Possible a bounce? Food peak? Sorry if I am a little agitated, I am prepared to not to sleep through the night, but what worries me are the two remaining strips for the night. I can't retest to see if it was an error, so I have to wait.
I know it's my fault, but I had not realized to have only 4 strips. How much the food works against the risk of hypoglycemia. If I feed her I eliminate the risk? I feel so guilty and stupid.
 
Last edited:
Glucometers may read +/- 20% from what a lab would get.
In general, when you get an unusual number, we recommend another test.
 
Thank you BJM, the problem is that if I test now I cannot test later. So what is the safer thing to do, considering I have only 2 remaining strips for the night?
 
Delia - I think just about everyone has been caught in a situation of needing to test and only a few strips. Doesn't make us stOOpid.... :) You're doing fine, better to err on the side of caution like you did by going ahead and feeding her. HUGS!
 
If your test was correct, I wouldn't worry. It may be that you are, in fact seeing a bounce. The drop from the pinks to the blues could easily trigger a bounce.

Are the ingredients in the Almo only salmon and water? There are no supplements in there? If all it contains is salmon and water, it's not nutritionally complete. It would be fine for a treat, but I wouldn't make it a steady diet. Cat's need things line taurine in their diet.
 
I had remembered something negative about Almo pet food and got lucky and found what I had read a while ago.

Almo Nature
Having asked repeatedly, in November 2011 we finally accepted that we are never going to obtain any data from Almo Nature, they simply do not appear to understand the concept of dry matter analysis and tell us that their foods are basically just the same as their ingredients, so if we look up, say, chicken, that should be sufficient. The mind boggles. Personally I would not feed something made by a manufacturer incapable of providing basic information about its own products.
In addition, a 2013 study, Vitamin D intoxication caused by ingestion of commercial cat food in three kittens (2013) Wehner A, Katzenberger J, Groth A, Dorsch R, Koelle P, Hartmann K, Weber K Journal of Feline Medicine & Surgery 15(8) reported on three kittens in Germany who became ill after eating a commercial food containing too much Vitamin D. One recovered, one was put to sleep, the third has ongoing kidney damage. The commercial food in question was Almo Nature Kitten with Chicken food. It had a declared amount of Vitamin D3 of 6488 IU/kg (dry matter) but analysis showed that the food actually contained 202,155 IU/kg (dry matter).
this is from Tanya's crf website.


I wouldn't worry about it a few times but I would start learning about other food possibilities.
 
Cleo actually eat purina DM and almo nature only as a complementary food. Rhiannon, I'll find out more about what you have mentioned, thanks. I chose almo nature because it seemed to contain only natural ingredients. In fact, as stated contains only meat / fish, rice and water.
 
I imagine everyone has had that happen with the strips. You can go through them really fast sometimes and boom, you've only got a few left. I suspect that 400 was accurate, as Sienne says, in a bouncing reaction from the blues earlier in the evening. If I were you in that situation, I'd save the next strips for tomorrow morning's preshot and a preshot test tomorrow evening, unless you can get strips tomorrow and then I'd get a mid-cycle test in, too.

As far as food, in general the classic pate type foods, ie, the ones that come out of the can in a big chunk, are low-carb and ok for diabetic cats. The liquid with those is clear-ish, jelly-like, rather than thick and like a gravy. Those with gravy are higher carbs, including the ones that have stuff like shreds or chunky things swimming in a pile of gravy. Most people aren't keen on recommending Purina DM, but instead use grocery store pate types. Purina DM has 3% carbs, according to http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf so it's ok carb-wise. If that's the best available then fine, but if you can find commercial regular cat foods that are pate-style, you might want to give those a try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top