12/26 Doodles AMPS 85 .5 57 +4 57 +5 67 +6.5 63 +9 81 PMPS 70 +5 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Woke up to Doodles and civie Moo chatting. Doodles had a small but formed poop before breakfast. Gave him FF Beef -wouldn't touch it. Gave him the FF Kitten Turkey and he ate .7oz so supplemented with 1 tbsp. YA.
Doodles 12/25

I mentioned this in a few threads ago. In July while he was on Vetsulin and we were not hometesting, we had him eating 2 cans FF a day (it was a huge chore). He had stopped eating completely, hypo'd which is when we ended up at the IM Emergency Vet. Switched to Lantus and she put him on the DM dry.

Going to pick up a few flavors of Wellness & Weurva today and get as much wet as I can into him. Otherwise he is acting fine. As long as he's eating some wet and the YAZC it's better than not eating at all. We'll continue to try.

Hope everyone had nice holiday...personally I'm glad it's over.
 
Good start for Doodles today; sending more appy vines his way!
Boomer doesn't care for the FF beef! And last night he didn't bother to eat either his +6 or +9 which were both cod sole & shrimp (his favourite). He woke me up around +9 and I fork-fed him the meal lol He must know I bought extra cod sole & shrimp when it was on sale last week:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
The FF Beef is the only one that has been consistent since DX. I have 10 cases that will sit while we try a different brand and just keep plucking away. Worse case my local shelter gets another donation. Doodles did like the cod sole & shrimp too for a while...ugh. Hope Boomer eats his fuds better today.
 
Glad that he's eating at least a little bit! I have started buying a variety of different foods. My cats don't have a problem with canned food, but they don't care for the same one several days in a row. So I offer several different things.... but, with multiple cats, I don't think I have ever had anything go to waste.

I have also had good luck with Tiki Cat - it's shredded, rather than pate and if nothing else seems to please the boys, that's usually the one they like. Foster and Smith just had a good sale for their variety packs.
 
Some cats have IBD and pancreatitis triggered by fish or beef more than other proteins. For others never fed those it can occur all of a sudden and a novel protein works. Kangaroo seems to work well. Max gets it in his rotation because it's one of the lower phosphorus foods. Have you tried a switch to a protein he has never had before? Mauri makes several. I can't feed most of them as most are high phosphorus.
 
The food thing--ugh! Nothing like trying to guess what kitty is in the mood for today. I buy flats of 5 flavors of FF, two 9 Lives and one Halo, all of which Rosie likes. I distribute them in a small box in the pantry and rotate through the flavors. She eats about 2.5 cans a day but she would like to eat 3 or more. That, however, is too much for this 19.5 year old inactive cat. I do find that rotating just about every feeding keeps her interest up, so there's always a can or two open in the fridge and fed within a day or two. It kills me that she likes the 9 Lives and turns her nose up at some of the better quality foods. Sigh. Then, she is a cat...
 
Some cats have IBD and pancreatitis triggered by fish or beef more than other proteins. For others never fed those it can occur all of a sudden and a novel protein works. Kangaroo seems to work well. Max gets it in his rotation because it's one of the lower phosphorus foods. Have you tried a switch to a protein he has never had before? Mauri makes several. I can't feed most of them as most are high phosphorus.

I've tried NV Rabbit, Lamb & now introducing the Venison. He wouldn't eat the Rabbit and vomited on the Lamb. I also tried raw Radcat Lamb....vomited. He hardly vomits but does have loose stools when I switch his food around. It's a moving target like play chess around here. Not that it's a trusted source but the ImmuneIQ Allergy test (linked in my signature) shows safe/ good proteins for him are Beef, Venison, Duck, Bison, Turkey. Problem with canned food is there is always something else that is supposedly not safe for him i.e fish meal, dairy, chicken eggs - all are in the canned food in some combo. I'll check out Mauri as I haven't heard of it before so thanks for the link! In the meantime my goal is keeping him safe, eating enough calories and continue with the food game.
 
Glad Doodles found his appy even if it was just for a minute. I've had good luck with a spoonful of Tiki mixed in to entice a bit. The Tiki chicken flavors smell so good I'm tempted to try them myselfo_O
 
Unfortunately I live in the back of the woods an haven't been able to find anywhere that carries Tiki that isn't 2 hours away. I will order some eventually!
 
Mauri has a ton of gum in it and it really set Gracie's IBD off. So did Wild Calling. She loved those foods but they didn't love her so just a heads up...they both have lots of gum...Mauri more than WC. She did fantastic with Ziwipeak and also the homecooked food recipe with alnutrin on the IBDkitties.net.

Sending more good appy vines.
 
Mauri has a ton of gum in it and it really set Gracie's IBD off. So did Wild Calling. She loved those foods but they didn't love her so just a heads up...they both have lots of gum...Mauri more than WC. She did fantastic with Ziwipeak and also the homecooked food recipe with alnutrin on the IBDkitties.net.

Sending more good appy vines.

I saw that in the Mauri ingredients. Instead of Tiki, Ziwipeak is the next one I'll order. Checking @ +5 and hopefully he'll eat again. I'm considering a reduction to 1 unit tonight but what are your thoughts? Otherwise I will just stay on needles until he says it's time.
 
He's acting like a freak...runny through the house like a lunatic. DH is managing the Shop on his own since Doodles is demanding I stay in with him.
 
If he continues to eat, I’d hold the dose. If he was eating normally and had the numbers he’s had the last cycle or so, I’d think he was toying with a reduction. But with him not eating consistently, the numbers might be due to that.

Keep up your monitoring as you’ve been doing and let’s see how he does, but, of course....you are with him and if his numbers and sporadic eating are making you :nailbiting::nailbiting:, if he were mine, I’d definitely consider decreasing the dose to 1u.
 
If he continues to eat, I’d hold the dose. If he was eating normally and had the numbers he’s had the last cycle or so, I’d think he was toying with a reduction. But with him not eating consistently, the numbers might be due to that.

Keep up your monitoring as you’ve been doing and let’s see how he does, but, of course....you are with him and if his numbers and sporadic eating are making you :nailbiting::nailbiting:, if he were mine, I’d definitely consider decreasing the dose to 1u.

He does have the nice consistent feeding schedule out of wack for the past 2 days! We'll just keep chugging along for another cycle or two at this rate or until I've totally lost it:)
 
Mauri has a ton of gum in it and it really set Gracie's IBD off. So did Wild Calling. She loved those foods but they didn't love her so just a heads up...they both have lots of gum...Mauri more than WC. She did fantastic with Ziwipeak and also the homecooked food recipe with alnutrin on the IBDkitties.net.

Sending more good appy vines.
I hope you don't mind if I ask a question - Murphy has never been able to tolerate wet food of any brand/flavor without vomiting and a day or two of not eating. How do you know if it is the gum in the foods or the protein? Tiki Cat doesn't have any gum but he got presumed pancreatitis after eating the chicken flavor- I don't know if it was by chance or if it was due to the food
 
I hope you don't mind if I ask a question - Murphy has never been able to tolerate wet food of any brand/flavor without vomiting and a day or two of not eating. How do you know if it is the gum in the foods or the protein? Tiki Cat doesn't have any gum but he got presumed pancreatitis after eating the chicken flavor- I don't know if it was by chance or if it was due to the food

I have seen people say this and I equate it to the people that say they don’t feel well if they try and eat healthy. If a human’s or cat’s system becomes accustomed to “junk food” (and sorry, I personally consider any dry food to be junk food), then it takes time for the system to adjust....just as it takes time for diabetic cats to feel better once they start seeing normal numbers (because they are used to high ones). It has to be done very slowly and carefully to be sure the cat continues to eat. There are going to be some ups and downs and some tummy upsets. You might want to read Dr. Lisa’s website regarding this. Knowing what I know about pancreatitis, I am not sure I believe the chicken food brought it on...I’d be more likely to think it was coincidental but I never say never.

Insofar as knowing whether it is the gums or protein....excellent question! It is, unfortunately, trial and error or trying the allergy test that Karen did to perhaps at least have a starting point. With Gracie, I knew it was the gums because the foods I switched her to used the same proteins as the ones heavy on the gum. The difference in her poo was like night and day.

Have you thought about trying to switch him slowly to a homecooked (not raw) diet? You would then control the ingredients and maybe, eventually, you could transition him to raw. Or maybe not. I had transitioned Gracie to homecooked using the recipes for raw and Alnutrin. My civvie has been on raw for two years and I started using Alnutrin with him when I started homecooking Gracie’s food. The owner of the company is an FDMB member with a diabetic cat and she is always willing to help with food formulations.
 
I have seen people say this and I equate it to the people that say they don’t feel well if they try and eat healthy. If a human’s or cat’s system becomes accustomed to “junk food” (and sorry, I personally consider any dry food to be junk food), then it takes time for the system to adjust....just as it takes time for diabetic cats to feel better once they start seeing normal numbers (because they are used to high ones). It has to be done very slowly and carefully to be sure the cat continues to eat. There are going to be some ups and downs and some tummy upsets. You might want to read Dr. Lisa’s website regarding this. Knowing what I know about pancreatitis, I am not sure I believe the chicken food brought it on...I’d be more likely to think it was coincidental but I never say never.

Insofar as knowing whether it is the gums or protein....excellent question! It is, unfortunately, trial and error or trying the allergy test that Karen did to perhaps at least have a starting point. With Gracie, I knew it was the gums because the foods I switched her to used the same proteins as the ones heavy on the gum. The difference in her poo was like night and day.

Have you thought about trying to switch him slowly to a homecooked (not raw) diet? You would then control the ingredients and maybe, eventually, you could transition him to raw. Or maybe not. I had transitioned Gracie to homecooked using the recipes for raw and Alnutrin. My civvie has been on raw for two years and I started using Alnutrin with him when I started homecooking Gracie’s food. The owner of the company is an FDMB member with a diabetic cat and she is always willing to help with food formulations.
I am so sorry as I don't want to highjack this thread -so I'll just post this last time on Doodles's thread- sorry again Murphy truly seems to be intolerant of wet food . I adopted him 5 1/2 years ago, and immediately tried to switch him to canned - in 5 years, I've tried just about every flavor and brand sold at Petsmart - always the same story - Murphy in fact loves canned food and prefers it to dry - I introduced each can slowly (with dry food) & after a few days of eating just ~ 1.5 oz, he will vomit and then be nauseous for up to two days - off his food -develops a food aversion to whatever food he was eating when he got sick - then will go back to dry but not wet for a few weeks, when the whole scenario gets repeated with a different brand/flavor. It wasn't so urgent until he got diabetes in August - I very very slowly successfully got him eating Royal Canin Venison - he was eating that solely for a few weeks, when he developed what had to have been pancreatitis (including the white foul smelling stools). I'd really rather not have to make his food - I'm going to do the allergy test noted above and keep slowly trying tiki cat, ziwipeak, and anything else anyone can suggest. His penchant for food aversions make this exceptionally difficult - if I can't find a commercial food, I will try home cooking - I just wish I knew what the issue is. Thanks again
 
Last edited:
Ate a little over 1.5oz FF Beef & Liver and 1/2 tbsp. YA....he did better so hopefully we're getting back on track. Thanks everyone for watching out for Doodles!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top