12/26 Jenks AMPS 47 +1 55 +2 52 +3 55 +5 95 +7 197 PMPS 284 +7 343 +11 260

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
12/25

Last night at PM+7.5 he was 226. He somehow managed to fall 179 points in the last 4.5 hours of the cycle to drop a bomb on us by giving an AM reading just under 50. Just awesome. :banghead:

So, what are our choices?

1) Test, feed, shoot as normal - Not an option today. With yesterday's carryover taking him from 70 to 32 despite 9% food and some karo, there's no way we could risk it. Furthermore, OH had a social outing scheduled for +4, so the ability to constantly monitor him during the day wasn't possible.

2) Skip - The safest option, but also the worst one. We've seen that skipping the shot only jettisons his numbers into the pinks.

3) Stall - Not ideal. First, because if there was carryover action, letting him go lower with no food would only make things worse. Second, as we can see from December 7th, it took him nearly 3 hours to come up on his own from a similar number. By that time, we'd have to skip the shot anyway.

4) Load him with carbs & give a full dose - The data shows us that the carryover action doesn't last beyond +4, when he does a u-turn and starts to head up for the remainder of the cycle. The theory is that if we can float his numbers until he reaches that point, it's smooth sailing from there. But we've never done this before, OH wouldn't be around to catch the turnaround, and if he decided to do the opposite, nobody would be around to intervene.

5) Load him with carbs & give a BCS dose - Same theory applies. Float the numbers through the first quarter of the cycle. Then give a reduced, depot-draining dose. This is a middle-ground between a full dose (which we're still figuring out if it's too much) and a skipped shot, so he at least has some insulin in his system.

After much discussion, we chose Option #5. Kids, don't try this at home. This is special for Jenks, and was made after reviewing all of the data and considering all monitoring possibilities between the two humans here at home.

I loaded him with carbs. 9% food with a karo drizzle, of which he at a healthy portion. I then followed that up with 2.5 tablespoons of 18% gravy. Then, OH got hourly tests at +1, +2, and +3 with explicit instructions to wake me up if the numbers started to trend down. Then I set my alarm for +4.5 to check him while OH was gone.

I'm not proud that we had to do this. But I'm at least thankful that it didn't blow up in our faces. Even with all of those carbs, he still didn't even make it out of the 50s for 3-4 hours. I don't know why all of this activity is coming at +15 to +16.

That is part of the reason why I wanted to do a depot-draining shot. I've got to interrupt whatever is going on and try to reset his cycles to something more normal, whatever that means for Jenks. Even though his numbers blew up to 284 tonight, I gave him another reduced shot, though not as much as this morning. Hopefully that draining does something productive.
 
He had a good run on the 9u :) Congrats on the reduction if you took one which I assume you will be. Jenks...try to settle down just a wee bit buddy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top