12-29 Small Kitty amps 81 +0.5 95 +1 245 pmps 428 +3 391 - Reduced - Still Bouncy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning all,

Yesterday was not ''fun''; We had a kitty that left us (very sad) + mine having the ketone
almost 3 times the typical level. This shows me, might be wrong, that bounces are not
just things to observe and wait to go down, they have some effect on organs. If you see
the yesterday's you'll see why. Small Kitty is going through multiple bounce a day, the
GL goes down then panic bring it back up then insulin push it down again :nailbiting:.

Has I had nothing to loose, I let the family go out in order to have some fun.
It had a good effect, green this morning :D. But it doesn't mean there is no
multiple bounces going on, it's certainly the case. Gave Small Kitty a reduced dose
this morning and mixed his food with a bonus of Francy Fiest with gravy.
He got his shot, will leave food for the +5, some more gravy (little).

What do you think of my conclusion (show yesterday's post), that liver
is being destroyed ? Hope this entire venture is not heading to worsening
health state.

Good day !
Sébastien

Yesterday
 
Beautiful amps Small Kitty but there is no need to jump right back on the trampoline.
 
Small Kitty has very strong legs, he's probably in the red right now.. Should have
relaxed on MC food...
.
 
Sorry about he ketones and I don't have any experience with them. He sure does have extreme cycles :( I might start considering a switch to Levemir to see if that helps. Although you would have a little learning curve because the cycles are different with onset, nadir etc. Just a passing food for thought.
 
I'll study this possibility today, it's quiet at the office. At first glance it seems
that Levemir has less variable and steadier glucose lowering effect as Lantus
precipitate upon injection.

Some reading about DKA points to this direction, heavy urine and most importantly
lost of weight. I can now feel Small Kitty's ribs and weight is lower then it used to be.

:nailbiting:
 
At first glance it seems
that Levemir has less variable and steadier glucose lowering effect as Lantus
precipitate upon injection.
It's not a guarantee but some kitties have benefited from the change. Best to do research and only switch if you can manage late nadirs and be home for a few days. @jayla-n-Drevon recently switched and Dre was also a master diver...he's flattened out a bit better.
 
There is a discussion about it here :
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-3-shakespeare-thinking-of-switching-advice.67872/

And a SS with both indicating less bounces with Levemir compared with Lantus :
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1qSFRW2ljwSFAXYxJcZZPLpsrkJJpNBCfkk_BT3kfpCs/pub?hl=en#

My new vet is a Caninsulin pro, requiring 3 shots a day, no good for me.
Would need a vet that has expertise on both insulin or can sign a prescription
with eyes closed... (insulin is not sold over the counter in Canada).

Cost is very similar :
Lantus is 115$ for 5 3ml pen. Levemir 135$ for the same quantity.

Required U. might makes a difference tough.
.
 
Last edited:
It's nice to see that green this morning. I hope SK doesn't go too high. Good luck with making the decision to swith insulin.
 
It's not a guarantee but some kitties have benefited from the change. Best to do research and only switch if you can manage late nadirs and be home for a few days. @jayla-n-Drevon recently switched and Dre was also a master diver...he's flattened out a bit better.
Guilty as charged ... bean of master diver!
I really like lev and Dre is flatter--I don't know that he will ever be "flat cat" but our drops are much slower and I personally like the late nadir because I am home from work-and because he does not eat "on demand" it is nice that it doesn't take effect right away.
Good luck!
 
Guilty as charged ... bean of master diver!
I really like lev and Dre is flatter--I don't know that he will ever be "flat cat" but our drops are much slower and I personally like the late nadir because I am home from work-and because he does not eat "on demand" it is nice that it doesn't take effect right away.
Good luck!
We see that low numbers are not turning into disasters as they used to be but coming back
down is slower (witch is part of the objective). Pre shot are pretty sweet :), compared to Lantus.

Thanks for sharing !
.
 
Sad I just punctured a Lantus stick, I've never waited anything and it's not now that I'll start.

Made some reading on Levenir today and I liked what I've learned. There is one thing I
don't remember is the ''molecule'' on witch this insulin sticks on and that it's better
to have if on the high side. Seen this on the lab test report but can't target it.
Dosing is the same but curve planning will need to be relearned. Knowing when to
expect nadir on Lantus will be completely different on Levenir.

Took Small Kitties weight on arrival and he has GAINED weight (using human
balance).

Don't really know what to think, just know that results are not what I would like...
Getting a GL going 5 times higher in 12h cannot be good. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top