? 12/29 TiTi. Dose Increase. ?? If necessary, how long until the next increase??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't remember when and why another increase is supposed to occur.

Hi Kathy, here are the guidelines from the sticky on TR on when to increase:
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
 
Hi Kathy, here are the guidelines from the sticky on TR on when to increase:
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

THANKS!!!:cat:
 
TiTi was only getting to 90's on that dose, and only one day. I would've held the dose for 6-8 cycles at that point, not more, and then increased it. You want to look at how low she's getting on the dose, compare the nadirs to that chart above, and then decide when to increase.

Of course because she's on a larger dose, you're working in 0.5u increments at this point, rather than the 0.25u increments mentioned.
 
TiTi was only getting to 90's on that dose, and only one day. I would've held the dose for 6-8 cycles at that point, not more, and then increased it. You want to look at how low she's getting on the dose, compare the nadirs to that chart above, and then decide when to increase.

Of course because she's on a larger dose, you're working in 0.5u increments at this point, rather than the 0.25u increments mentioned.

Ok. Thank you. I just did increase, although a bit too late, and it's difficult to evaluate it. The numbers look exactly the same. Is that because I am waiting for the depot to stabilize the higher dose, or is it just because she's gonna stay high?
 
Yes, when you increase the dose, the depot has to "grow" to fit the new larger dose. Then you'll be able to see what the new 8.5u dose can do. It can take 4-6 cycles at the larger dose for that to fully happen. That's the reason for waiting 6 cycles to re-evaluate the dose. Unless she goes low, of course.
 
Ok. Thank you. I just did increase, although a bit too late, and it's difficult to evaluate it. The numbers look exactly the same. Is that because I am waiting for the depot to stabilize the higher dose, or is it just because she's gonna stay high?
And I do know that I missed the nadir. Well, I still have this evening.
Certainly is discouraging. It isn't even about patience anymore, I just feel numb and defeated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top