12/30 Jack NIGHT- PMPS 103, +2 99, +3 65 - monitoring closely, +4 83, +5 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

JackBlack

Member Since 2014
8:00pm SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD (NB I did give hime little bits of food through the day, forgot to take note)
9:00pm tested 5.2 mmol/L (94 mg/dL) (+1 after his 8:00pm insulin)
10:00pm tested 3.5 mmol/L (63 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:00pm insulin)
then JACK ATE food (his normal meat)
10:30pm tested 3.8 mmol/L (68.4 mg/dL) (+2.5 after his 8:00pm insulin)
11:00pm tested 3.7 mmol/L (66.6 mg/dL) (+3 after his 8:00pm insulin)
then approx 1tsp food
12:00pm tested 4.2 mmol/L (75.6 mg/dL) (+4 after his 8:00pm insulin)
1:00am tested 4.1 mmol/L (73.8 mg/dL) (+5 after his 8:00pm insulin)
3:30am tested 5.8 mmol/L (104 mg/dL) (+7.5 after his 8:00pm insulin)
7:00am tested 8.1 mmol/L (146 mg/dL) (+11 after his 8:00pm insulin)
8:00am tested 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) AMPS
SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD


Here's what last night looked like. Jack did manage to stay in the "green" for 2 cycles yesterday which is good for him. And I think I have finally found a dose to stick with for a spell. 0.25U

I feel I need to give Jack and myself a rest from the constant BG tests at least for today/tonight, or am I missing a prime data collecting day? I am a wreck and he is frazzled (the ears are looking a bit beat too) But I will take advice on this as it's the first time we have a dose to maintain.

Any thoughts on Jack's progress and test result would be appreciated.
 
Morning Merrin

Others will be along with more specific advice, but if it was me, i would grab at least a +2 to check the difference to AMPS, steer with a couple of tsp LC as that seems to be the key to getting him up on that board surfing. At that point if there is a significant drop, then perhaps go +4?

What do you think?

C
 
His progress is really really good! You have found a good dose really quickly which is awesome, and he's spending his time in the normal range of for non diabetic cats. this is good news for his pancreas :)

You're doing really really well! Jack is lucky to have you in his corner.
 
8:00am tested 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) AMPS
8:30 am SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD
10:30am tested 6.6 mmol/L (119 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:30am insulin)

NB I have to go out of the house in an hour or so.
 
Last edited:
Thats a good +2 - slightly lower than your amps, but i think shows signs of another steady day.

Will you test before going out and perhaps give a quick snack to keep him surfing?
 
Yes that sounds like a good plan. I will test at 12 noon (+3.5 - shot 1/2 hr late this morning) and then go out. Thanks :)
 
8:00am tested 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) AMPS
8:30 am SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD
10:30am tested 6.6 mmol/L (119 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:30am insulin)
12:00am tested 5.7 mmol/L (103 mg/dL) (+3.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack

 
morning merrin

Looks like jacks about to jump back into the lagoon :D when you get back can you fix his spreadsheet so his +3 shows that it was actually @ +3.5 - don't forget to do it on the U.S. sheet too :)

I think you can give his little ears and yourself a well earned rest until +6 as he doesn't seem to be in any hurry.
 
I look at the change in bg points from the last test to help me decide when to test next. The number that's significant is 50...

I agree with Serryn that you can probably go til +6. If need to go out or take a break from testing I'd dole out a teaspoon of food about +5 to help him surf.

Has anyone mentioned Neosporin with pain relief yet for Jacks ears? The pain relief is the important part. It might be called Polysporin or triple antibiotic or something like that. It can really take the owe out of the poke and help his ear heal overnight. I put it on Punkin's ear every night and by morning they were healed.

You're doing great, Merrin!
 
8:00am tested 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) AMPS
8:30 am SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD
10:30am tested 6.6 mmol/L (119 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:30am insulin)
12:00am tested 5.7 mmol/L (103 mg/dL) (+3.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack
5:00pm tested 4.4 mmol/L (80 mg/dL) (+8.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack

Thanks everyone. I was unable to come home to test Jack in the middle of the day.

I don't know if it's the pain in his ears, more they are looking a little rough and the blood is harder to draw, and he is struggling now when he wasn't (could be pain or sick of being poked and prodded)
 
I tried the Neosporin with pain relief on my foot where the cats ran across it and scratched it. I thought it was amazing. Most cats have good success with it, although there are a couple of cats that didn't seem to do well. Just depends on the cat. I slathered it on his ears every night. Some people put it on in advance of poking, then wipe off the excess before they poke. It numbs it a bit.

You might see if you can find something like that to help Jack's ears.
 
Thanks I will look into it - can I ask what country you are in and is Neosporin a cat medicine or human? I will look for something but I am in New Zealand. I do have a great local chemist.
 
Hi Merrin,
I struggled with poking Shasta's ears, at first. Neosporin is a first aid antibiotic/pain relieving ointment...for humans. We can pick it up in local drug stores here in the US. Also, one thing that helped Shasta settle into the ear poking experience was to give her treats when the poke was finished. I know in the US, lots of people give treats like "freeze dried chicken" or even a few bites of boiled chicken, etc. Shasta loves her little bit of organic extra virgin Coconut Oil. Good job with all you're doing for Jack!

Deborah & Shasta
 
Hi there :cool:

I see the black cats are once again hanging out in your condo tonight . . . ;)

Neosporin is a human medicine, a first aid antibiotic ointment available over the counter here in the US.
It comes both with and without pain relief.
 
8:00am tested 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) AMPS
8:30 am SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD
10:30am tested 6.6 mmol/L (119 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:30am insulin)
12:00am tested 5.7 mmol/L (103 mg/dL) (+3.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack
5:00pm tested 4.4 mmol/L (80 mg/dL) (+8.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack
8:15pm tested 5.7 mmol/L (103 mg/dL) PMPS

I will shoot 0.25U + Food, and test at +2, +3 and see how he is (does that seem like a good plan?)

Yes I love seeing all these black cats (along with all the other beautiful pusses) I will talk to my chemist about what might be available in NZ as far as anitibiotic ointments with pain relief.

PS Thanks i'll look into EMLA!
 
What do you think of a +1 and 2, then assessing then? Perhaps follow the same schedule as you did with feeding last night as he had quite a nice surf.
 
Hi Charlene, My thinking behind starting at +2 was that his numbers seem to start going down at +2 / +3 rather than +1 (looking for patterns!) and I am trying to give him a bit of a break today (while still being safe) But I will go with +1 if you think I am off the ball.
 
Go with your gut I say :) as there is nothing wrong with what your thinking at all :)

We all do things slightly differently as each kitty is different :).

You got this!
 
Beautiful. JackBlack is nice and flat. Waiting until +2 to test is fine tonight.
Rule of thumb is if you shoot a number lower than you have ever shot, always get a +1.
Otherwise, if your kitty is not a diver, waiting until +2 is fine.
 
8:00am tested 7 mmol/L (126 mg/dL) AMPS
8:30 am SHOT 0.25 U + FOOD
10:30am tested 6.6 mmol/L (119 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:30am insulin)
12:00am tested 5.7 mmol/L (103 mg/dL) (+3.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack
5:00pm tested 4.4 mmol/L (80 mg/dL) (+8.5 after his 8:30am insulin)
+ snack
8:15pm tested 5.7 mmol/L (103 mg/dL) PMPS
Shot 0.25U + Food
10:15pm tested 5.5 mmol/L (99 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:15pm insulin)

will test in an hour (+3)
Thanks!
 
Shot 0.25U + Food
10:15pm tested 5.5 mmol/L (99 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:15pm insulin)
11:15pm tested 3.6 mmol/L (65 mg/dL) (+3 after his 8:15pm insulin)
+ snack

will test in an 1/2 hour (+3.5) Yes the dip has begun.
 
Shot 0.25U + Food
10:15pm tested 5.5 mmol/L (99 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:15pm insulin)
11:15pm tested 3.6 mmol/L (65 mg/dL) (+3 after his 8:15pm insulin)
+ snack
12:15pm tested 4.6 mmol/L (83 mg/dL) (+4 after his 8:15pm insulin)

Was going to test at +3.5, not sure if I set the alarm wrong or slept through it for 1/2 an hour but here I am at +4.
 
that's ok - I probably would have waited until +4 anyway and his little ears will be glad you had an extra snooze :) see if you can get another hours napping in if you like - see you at +5
 
Shot 0.25U + Food
10:15pm tested 5.5 mmol/L (99 mg/dL) (+2 after his 8:15pm insulin)
11:15pm tested 3.6 mmol/L (65 mg/dL) (+3 after his 8:15pm insulin)
+ snack
12:15pm tested 4.6 mmol/L (83 mg/dL) (+4 after his 8:15pm insulin)
1:15am tested 4.7 mmol/L (85 mg/dL) (+5 after his 8:15pm insulin)

Well I'm pretty happy with that. Maybe i'll leave some food out and get some sleep? How does that sound?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top