12/30 TAFFY Still not eating well AMPS 303/+2 293/+7.5 161/+11 310/PMPS 361/+2 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-63-pmps-78-2-5-14-5-151.170420/#post-1856392

Overnight he finished a little RadCat chicken. Woke me this morning, so I took it as hunger sign (boy did I sleep well last night! well, about 5 whole hours) But then he did not go for the fresh Rad Cat I offered. The ONLY thing he is interested in and eating willingly and I would say, eagerly, is the i/d dry of civ Baby. He also goes for the PureVita dry. But no interest in any of the grain free lower carb foods at all. I need him to eat, so do I just let him have a little kibble? Do I give his insulin with his appy till so iffy? If so, full dose (he was at 1.25) Blood results should be today soon. Rainy day here after beautiful sunny warm day yesterday...
 
Last edited:
Should I give shot or not?
Full dose or less?
Not confident in his appy. But eating dry i/d, not a full meal, of course
 
Hey Julie this just popped up. Maybe got buried?
Put ? 12/30 Taffy NEED TO SHOOT NOW, DOSE HELP PLEASE
Let's folks know you need help right now
 
Have you tried feeding baby food? Mine only liked Gerbers but if he isn't allergic to cornstarch it's not a bad temporary food. Beechnut doesn't contain corn but mine wouldn't eat it. Syringe feeding is easy with it. He sounds nauseous. Are you giving cerenia or ondansetron? He's high e Pugh to shoot and perhaps it will make him want to eat as his BG lowers. Get a +2 please.
 
Have you tried feeding baby food? Mine only liked Gerbers but if he isn't allergic to cornstarch it's not a bad temporary food. Beechnut doesn't contain corn but mine wouldn't eat it. Syringe feeding is easy with it. He sounds nauseous. Are you giving cerenia or ondansetron? He's high e Pugh to shoot and perhaps it will make him want to eat as his BG lowers. Get a +2 please.
Have not tried Gerber's, but usually he'll eat the Beechnut, but not now.
 
I highly recommend FRiskies ocean whitefish/tuna pate..did the vet give you an appy stimulant at all?
I doubt Taffy would eat that. ECID
I have stims but she did not suggest yesterday. I will ask her if I should use today. I think that they like to see if fluids, Bs , cerenia works first.
Not sure why My post is so buries or whatever. Maybe I did something wrong?
Anyhow, I shot. I'll figure it out.
 
I'd consider giving the appetite stim if he's still not eating and nothing is working:bighug:
Like you said fatty liver is scary.:nailbiting:
Gus wouldn't touch anything like that pre pancreatitis either, but both times something fishy triggered him to eat during this so who knows??
Maybe it's the novelty? Triggers some receptor in the brain not tainted by nausea?
And if the injection is going to wear off make sure there's anti nausea meds onboard so there's no gap? I'm certainly no expert here:blackeye:
Sending hugs Julie:bighug::bighug::bighug:im so sorry Taffy is still not eating...this is a discouraging club this no appy club:(:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
What dose did you give? (Not that I'm an expert, but it will help those who are.)

You'll want a +1 and +2 to see which way Taffy is heading.
 
I'd consider giving the appetite stim if he's still not worrying and nothing is working:bighug:
Like you said fatty liver is scary.:nailbiting:
Gus wouldn't touch anything like that pre pancreatitis either, but both times something fishy triggered him to eat during this so who knows??
Maybe it's the novelty? Triggers some receptor in the brain not tainted by nausea?
And if the injection is going to wear off make sure there's anti nausea meds onboard so there's no gap? I'm certainly no expert here:blackeye:
Sending hugs Julie:bighug::bighug::bighug:im so sorry Taffy is still not eating...this is a discouraging club this no appy club:(:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am going to wait to talk to vet and ask. I want to know results of BW before I start giving him a bunch of stuff. Looking to confirm if Panc enzymes elevated, and liver enzymes.
His pupils are still huge. Not sure if that is the Cerenia or the bupe injection. Also was a less cooperative about testing this morning.
 
I would have shot too, just what I would have one. Since you shot get that +2 it should tell you what might happen today. It's a good wet day to stay in anyway..wish I could be of more help...if my bone broth comes out edible I'm happy to share it with Taffy...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
A reduced appetite goes along with lower numbers like Taffy has been getting, they just aren't needing as much because they are actually using it. Wishing that was what Taffy was doing. It's probably one of the meds. I noticed that it's Gus too, I think it might be the Bupe, makes sense in that it's an opioid.
Please eat your fuds Taffy, your mama is super worried....and lots of us villagers are too:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
For me your post came when I had to feed Doodles which is quite an undertaking since he eats slowly and only out of my hand. Shooting was fine as long as you can monitor. The board is light these days.

I go against most and say if he'll eat dry let him eat it and keep trying to encourage more appropriate foods. It's not food if they don't eat it and if he'll eat it let him IMO. You adjust insulin if/as needed. I'd try to find the lowest carb dry food in the meantime that he'll eat. Doodles still gets some dry or he'll starve himself. He eats the Natures Variety Chicken Meal original formula which is 12%. Some use EVO Chicken which is around 9% carbs but it has been known to give urinary crystals.
 
Elise has been really helpful to Gussie and I and is a fantastic pancreatitis resource...
Nice to see Karen here too! I figured it was right about t/f/s time for many..
 
For me your post came when I had to feed Doodles which is quite an undertaking since he eats slowly and only out of my hand. Shooting was fine as long as you can monitor. The board is light these days.

I go against most and say if he'll eat dry let him eat it and keep trying to encourage more appropriate foods. It's not food if they don't eat it and if he'll eat it let him IMO. You adjust insulin if/as needed. I'd try to find the lowest carb dry food in the meantime that he'll eat. Doodles still gets some dry or he'll starve himself. He eats the Natures Variety Chicken Meal original formula which is 12%. Some use EVO Chicken which is around 9% carbs but it has been known to give urinary crystals.
I know. Just having a little self-pity here and worry. I'm having coffee now and then a hot shower. Then maybe I won't be feeling so down. I pretty much agree about trying to use the dry to get him going again. I do worry a little about urinary crystals...this was his issue when we first got him and I don't want to go back there!
 
It has to be the meds on board, though. Normally, he is very compliant, even when higher. Last night and this morn he is trying to escape me!
Gus had some days where for whatever reason I literally had to chase him around the bed if I was lucky, and thru the house if unlucky to test. Out of the blue, after probably a thousand ear pricks, he'd decide nope, not today! Never could figure out what triggered it..a headlamp became invaluable because I could test ANYWHERE with it!
 
I know. Just having a little self-pity here and worry. I'm having coffee now and then a hot shower. Then maybe I won't be feeling so down. I pretty much agree about trying to use the dry to get him going again. I do worry a little about urinary crystals...this was his issue when we first got him and I don't want to go back there!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Taffy still only excited about the dry i/d or PureVita. PureVita is lower carbs than the i/d, but still is high (25%)(the i/d is in the 30s) Both companies have dry matter detailed info on their websites. Seems if he eats a few kibbles, he then nibbles at his Rad Cat, so I'm going to keep doing that for a bit. Two other wet food out also and ignored/rejected. He is still whacked out. Does not appear uncomfortable or ill, just tripping, but not badly. Wide-eyed. He has had some neuro-ish symptoms with Cerenia injection before, so it could be that, or the bupe injection. Both should be wearing off in next few hours.
 
Yes, I need to get one of those! I hold a tiny flashlight in my mouth!
Haha not effective! I dropped mine on Gus head once and that was not a good scene...the headlamp makes you invincible! I bought mine on Amazon for 12:99 I think. I bought one for a friend for Xmas and they literally drove obpver the package with the delivery truck, black clearly tire marks on the envelope, and the box it was in was flattened to a single sheet. I thought surely the headlamp would be destroyed..nope, lit right up, not a mark on it..it's a tough one! And BRIGHT, don't look at it as you turn it on or you won't see for a good while...helps to have it for micro doses in the syringe too.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PV0K8OM/ref=od_aui_detailpages01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
Oh man, just opened up the computer. So sorry you are going through this. And apologies if I am just piling on one more redundant food suggestion, don't want to further the over-whelmness of things but my cat Pigeon came to me eating NULO freestyle kibble and was INSANE for it. It is grain free, low glycemic index, and low-carb (not exactly by our standards) they say the Turkey & Duck is 84% animal protein.
 
I'm sorry, I was distracted with phone calls and then shopping for my cats at Chewy.com, and all the while had FDMB up not knowing you were desperately looking for help. I think shooting the new reduced dose was okay, as he did eat a little so far today (correct?), and is currently in a bounce from yesterday. I would recommend a little extra testing this morning.
Sending more eating vines to Taffy. I hope he starts to feel less whacked out shortly.
 
Oh man, just opened up the computer. So sorry you are going through this. And apologies if I am just piling on one more redundant food suggestion, don't want to further the over-whelmness of things but my cat Pigeon came to me eating NULO freestyle kibble and was INSANE for it. It is grain free, low glycemic index, and low-carb (not exactly by our standards) they say the Turkey & Duck is 84% animal protein.
Any suggestions appreciated. Taffy seems determined to eat mainly kibble right now, so suggestions. are appreciated. I'll get the Friskie's that worked for @Gussie's mom Les and Gus too. I was just being a pessimist when I shot it down. Sorry. I have so many opened cans right now! I do have a can of Nulo I have not opened, too. I think I'll have to drive to the far store (PSW) to get NULO kibbles. It's raining, which I like, but only if I am inside!
 
Any suggestions appreciated. Taffy seems determined to eat mainly kibble right now, so suggestions. are appreciated. I'll get the Friskie's that worked for @Gussie's mom Les and Gus too. I was just being a pessimist when I shot it down. Sorry. I have so many opened cans right now! I do have a can of Nulo I have not opened, too. I think I'll have to drive to the far store (PSW) to get NULO kibbles. It's raining, which I like, but only if I am inside!
NO apologies needed or accepted here. As you know I don't have a lot of experience with FD, but my thoughts are aligned with yours on getting Taffy eating first even if it is kibble and sort the rest out later or as you go along.
Ah, the rain. Especially when you are from SoCal you crave the rain so much, it can be such a calming, cleansing presence.
 
Last edited:
So looking at NULO website and they have two "formulas" - MedalSeries (exclusive to PetSmart) & FreeStyle (at independents). Not sure the differences yet. Tried calling, they are closed thru 1/2. I will have to read, then! First a BG test for Taffy, call to vet, then hot shower, then homework. Go out in the rain if I must.
 
Do you have freeze dried meat?
We got 5 bags of "Pure Bites". Chicken, turkey, lamb, beef, shrimp.
I use them as treats, also Tux would eat when I sprinkle some of them on wet food!
 
Sorry, I was at Walmart getting more supplies. Glad peeps here could help and hope he'll start eating for you. It's funny but when Bubba has had GI upsets and not wanting to eat, dry is all he'll eat too but, fortunately it is Young Again. I agree with Karen and let him eat what he wants while continuing to try lower carb choices. And for what ever it's worth, besides the dry YA, Bubba would eat Salmon FF while on a hunger strike.
 
The one Pigeon loved is Freestyle Chicken & Cod. I just tried to read about the difference between that and the MedalSeries but didn't get anywhere from the info presented on their website.
Sometimes the really good independent stores have people who know what they are talking about.
 
The one Pigeon loved is Freestyle Chicken & Cod. I just tried to read about the difference between that and the MedalSeries but didn't get anywhere from the info presented on their website.
Sometimes the really good independent stores have people who know what they are talking about.
I think they may be the same, more or less, but I still have to read. They may have created the "Medal Series" just to be "exclusive with PetSmart????
 
Do you have freeze dried meat?
We got 5 bags of "Pure Bites". Chicken, turkey, lamb, beef, shrimp.
I use them as treats, also Tux would eat when I sprinkle some of them on wet food!
I have chicken and salmon. Maybe the salmon would smelly enough to interst him. i was using mainly chicken as overnight snacks. But, as he started having less appetite, he regurgitated pieces of these up a few times. I do rehydrate the pieces.
 
Any suggestions appreciated. Taffy seems determined to eat mainly kibble right now, so suggestions. are appreciated. I'll get the Friskie's that worked for @Gussie's mom Les and Gus too. I was just being a pessimist when I shot it down. Sorry. I have so many opened cans right now! I do have a can of Nulo I have not opened, too. I think I'll have to drive to the far store (PSW) to get NULO kibbles. It's raining, which I like, but only if I am inside!
Haha we should all find out who lives near each other and once a week all being our no go cans and do a canned food exchange, kind of like a quilt exchange!
 
I have a bunch of fishy BFF ones that were on an ok list..you are welcome to some of them if you are headed this way. I bought the feline Naturals at PSW but mine refused them.
Eat Tafffy! eat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top