12/6 Jenks AMPS 69 +3 104 +8 251 PMPS 227 +7 43 +9 64 +10.5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
12/5

Jenks had a pajama party of his own last night, in solidarity with Neko. He went from 155 at PMPS to 44 around midcycle. It was a stealth number too because he wasn't up searching for food or exhibiting any signs that we've learned to typically associate with that sort of number.

We got him up into the 60s in time for the morning shot. We went with a full dose but backed down to 10.5U. That looks to have been the right call because he bounced into the yellows, as he is prone to do when starting out the day with nice two-digit numbers.
 
Jenks, you're just full of surprises!!!

How about you change things up again and start surfing in nice blue and green numbers....Your beans aren't expecting that!!!
 
We're pajama partying for the second night in a row with yet another low 40s reading. This time I caught him meowing in the kitchen and trying to scavenge crumbs and stuff off of the floor, so he was feeling it unlike last night.

It's feast or famine with this cat. 200 or swimming with the sharks. Is there really no way to mellow him out?

He gobbled up some 12% food with a little karo for good measure. I'm sure the BG will fight us until the morning, like it did last night.

We're obviously getting way too much activity in the night cycle, so I think we're going to have to interrupt it during the next cycle. Either a half dose, or skipped entirely, to let him work off the shed. It's not ideal at all because his numbers will get wrecked. But even with 10.5U on board this morning, he still went up to 250. It seems that we're darned if we do and darned if we don't at this point.
 
We're pajama partying for the second night in a row with yet another low 40s reading. This time I caught him meowing in the kitchen and trying to scavenge crumbs and stuff off of the floor, so he was feeling it unlike last night.

It's feast or famine with this cat. 200 or swimming with the sharks. Is there really no way to mellow him out?

He gobbled up some 12% food with a little karo for good measure. I'm sure the BG will fight us until the morning, like it did last night.

We're obviously getting way too much activity in the night cycle, so I think we're going to have to interrupt it during the next cycle. Either a half dose, or skipped entirely, to let him work off the shed. It's not ideal at all because his numbers will get wrecked. But even with 10.5U on board this morning, he still went up to 250. It seems that we're darned if we do and darned if we don't at this point.
Well, if it's any consolation I'm partying as well. Been trying to keep Uncle surfing, not going to low tonight. Still an hour or two before his typical nadir. we can keep each other company if need be!
 
Up to 64 for the time being. But that's the carbs talking. They'll begin to wane, and at the most inopportune time too.

Hey @Barbara & Uncle, this PJ party is open to everyone! Thanks for hanging out :)
 
Up to 64 for the time being. But that's the carbs talking. They'll begin to wane, and at the most inopportune time too.

Hey @Barbara & Uncle, this PJ party is open to everyone! Thanks for hanging out :)
Looks like you're a couple of hours ahead of me. Is the sun coming up yet? I just kept myself busy adding my two cents to the "Think Tank" where there is a discussion regarding vaccines. I'm never sure when these all nighters happen if it's better to try to sleep a little in between tests or just stay up!
 
Can they ever @carfurby!

Jenks is still hanging out in the 60s. Not sure how much to read into the 3 point dip, if it's just meter variance or a sign of a last-minute drop. Hoping for the former.

Still considering strategies for the day. Might do a day full of half doses. Still not sure yet.
 
It's feast or famine with this cat. 200 or swimming with the sharks. Is there really no way to mellow him out?
FWIW, Doodles is the 300's or 30 cat, I have a hard time getting/ keeping him up along with hypo symptoms. He's had hypo symptoms here and there in the past but not every time. I've started taking reductions when he hit's the 60's & 70's to avoid the 30's and also holding the dose a bit longer(8-10 cycles) even if it means a few days of higher numbers. Since doing this I've a voided BCS's/ skipped shots and he's leveled out seeing much more blue and acceptable green. Granted, we're now taking a palliative approach since his condition is guarded at best.

I wonder if trying to take just a .25 reduction for Jenks at a little higher reduction point (60?) might help even though it's not protocol. Just a thought.
 
@Doodles & Karen - Very interesting approach. Thank you for the recommendation. I never considered raising the threshold for taking a reduction.
If you do raise the threshold a bit, try taking a smaller reduction and of course going up and down a few times might be needed but that happens anyway. I started doing this 11/1 after 2 back to back days of him being too low. You can see a difference on his SS where Doodles never had this much blue. (of course this past weekend messed it all up but that was because of his heart) The nice thing is we haven't BCS'd or skipped which is huge for us.

I believe at one time Wendy started doing that with Neko because the depot got ahead of her a few times when Neko's IAA was breaking.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top