? 12/7 Belle, AMPS 234, vomited, +2 144, +4 137, +6 125, +8 154, +10 216, PMPS 209, +2 86, curve today

Status
Not open for further replies.
Belle vomited, and pooped outside of box @ around 1130am

not sure if it's becos of too much Miralax ??
 
Last edited:
tested Belle again +4 @ 245pm, BG 137 (15 mins delay becos had to put up a fight with him for 15 mins)
 
Belle please don't fight the bean she is doing this for your own good.

What was the consistency of the poop? When vomit and poop come together it's often a sign of constipation. You can have diarrhoea with constipation or a blockage too so it's not just hard poop you need to look out for.
 
he was outside, i put him in the garage, and 15 mins later i checked on him and realized there are vomit and poop on the floor.

his stool looks normal dark brown, but a bit soft, a bit sticky to the floor (yuck, i had to pick them up, and clean up the floor)

he had constipation for the last few days, and i gave him Miralax since yesterday.

so, what do i need to look out for?
 
most of us keep it at 1/8th for several days....the way Miralax works is by pulling water out of the intestinal tract and into the stool which makes it looser and easier to pass

Increasing to 1/4 may have been a little too much for him

Is he eating OK now? No more vomiting?
 
o i c..
he's been eating ok right afterward, gave him food at around 3pm (no miralax)

should i continue 1/8 teaspoon with his dinner meal?
 
I think you'd be OK to go up to 2.5 BUT you really need to get those PM tests in! You don't have to test all night....just get a test before you head to bed (or set an alarm clock to get a test in somewhere on that PM cycle) I know we've told you this before, but it really is for Belle's safety!

Without knowing what he's doing on the PM cycle, it's really hard to know what to advise you to do
 
Yes, i will test him +2 after PM dose tonite.
i won't increase his dosage at night dose yet. so we can see the PM +2 reading first.
i will also hold off on miralax, pls let me know what to look for (regarding his stools)

my own diabetic cat, Pepsi, passed partly due to severe hypo (vet advised to increase dosage at her night dose)

i wish i knew of this group earlier, might have been able to save Pepsi's life. my vet is just not very knowledgeable.
 
my vet is just not very knowledgeable.

We hear that a lot around here....the vast majority of us here have (or had) vets that really didn't understand how to treat feline diabetes best.

In their defense, it would be really hard to stay up to date on the latest treatments for every disease in every type of animal they see...if they tried, they'd never have time to actually see any patients!
 
tested Belle +2 @ 1230am, his BG 86
huge drop!!

dispite that he had another meal after his insulin shot @ 1030pm
 
I'd go ahead and give him a couple teaspoons of his regular low carb food and see if you can get him to level out and surf.

I have to get offline now because I have to be on the road tomorrow, so if you run into trouble, add the 911 to your subject line

You will need to get another test in no more than an hour to make sure he's not still dropping
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top